SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2004, 08:16 AM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
Question Going to add USB2 tuner to multi tuner setup.

I currently have two PVR 250s and one PVR 350 in one system and I am planning on adding a PVR USB2 to the same system since I have no PCI slots left. Have there been any issues with this type of setup that anyone knows of before I run out and buy the new tuner?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2004, 02:20 PM
Tarant Tarant is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Hi,

I added a USB2 PVR to my box to go along with the existing PVR 250. I have had no problems at all with the new USB2 PVR working alongside the PVR 250. Performance of the USB2 PVR is identical to the PVR 250.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2004, 03:24 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Tarant, do you have a type 15 or type 16 250 card? I suspect you have a type 16. ToxMox currently has all type 15 cards. I think there is a possibility of a conflict problem but have no direct knowledge of the PVR USB2.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2004, 03:31 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
This question seems to be getting asked a lot lately. The USB2 works just fine w/my 250 (15 version) & the only question remains the 350. I suspect there would be no conflict between the 350 & the USB either, but no one with that combo has reported their experiences. However, SHS was quoted in this post as saying they work together.

- Andy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2004, 08:12 PM
Tarant Tarant is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 18
carlgar,

I`m not sure what version my 250 is. Is there an easy way to tell without looking at the card? If it`s any help, the 250 is only about 3 or 4 months old.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2004, 08:50 PM
Jimbo Jimbo is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 20
Isn't the pvr-350 based on the older type 15 chipset? I recall hearing that somewhere. I may be mistaken.

I ordered a pvr-usb2 to test with my pvr-350. It should arrive in about a week. I'll post my results.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2004, 09:19 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally posted by Tarant
carlgar,

I`m not sure what version my 250 is. Is there an easy way to tell without looking at the card?
heh... I asked the same question a couple days ago. Here's a link to carlgar's response in that thread.

Come to think of it, 2 posts up from my previous reference to the SHS quote seems to indicate this version difference in the device list also.

- Andy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2004, 12:48 AM
justme justme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greater Baltimore/Washington Metropolitan area
Posts: 1,481
Quote:
Isn't the pvr-350 based on the older type 15 chipset?
Yes, all 350s are type 15s. The type 16 is basically a 15 without the hardware decoder circuitry. The type 16s run cooler.
__________________
"Between you and me, my name's irrelevant."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2004, 07:22 AM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
Just thought I'd give an update. Got the USB2 the other day and added it to the system with the two 250s and one 350 and so far everything seems to be running great with the exception of a slight stutter on playback once in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:41 PM
Jimbo Jimbo is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 20
Just added the usb2 to a system with a pvr350. No conflicts what-so-ever. Installation was smooth. Thank you Carlgar for helping me figure out how to assign merit to the primary pvr. It's working better than I had ever imagined.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.