SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2019, 09:53 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 843
What combination produces 5.1 sound in miniclient?

My setup is Sagetv/Docker/OpenDCT/HDHomerun Quatro and 4 Shield TVs using IJK player. Works fine except that I am too stubborn yet to give up on 5.1 sound. The Shields will not play any video with EXO player, which I'm guessing is because they are all MPEG2 right now. I was under the impression that the Quatro could transcode to h.264 to produce .ts files but am now thinking I need an EXTEND to try that. BTW this is for OTA, no cablecard for me due to flsag.

Before I bother with it, am I correct that Sagetv/Docker/OpenDCT/HDHomerun Quatro + EXO player could potentially allow for 5.1 (as well as cause 100 other problems I don't currently have)?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2019, 10:02 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by btrcp2000 View Post
My setup is Sagetv/Docker/OpenDCT/HDHomerun Quatro and 4 Shield TVs using IJK player. Works fine except that I am too stubborn yet to give up on 5.1 sound. The Shields will not play any video with EXO player, which I'm guessing is because they are all MPEG2 right now. I was under the impression that the Quatro could transcode to h.264 to produce .ts files but am now thinking I need an EXTEND to try that. BTW this is for OTA, no cablecard for me due to flsag.

Before I bother with it, am I correct that Sagetv/Docker/OpenDCT/HDHomerun Quatro + EXO player could potentially allow for 5.1 (as well as cause 100 other problems I don't currently have)?
I should work. I don't have my OTA Quatro stream going through OpenDCT. Like you the streams don't play well with ExoPlayer, (I've spent too much on my A/V setup to give up surround sound). So for now I use Plex for playback of those on the SHIELD. (The SHIELD has better luck with streams out of the Prime through OpenDCT, which look to be mostly H.264 now.)

In the past I used the "post-recording transcoding" option in SageTV to get things to work nicely with ExoPlayer and Placeshifter. OpenDCT allows for on-the-fly transcoding if your CPU can handle it. I know there was a thread around here about the EXTEND and I don't think they were able to get it to work with SageTV and the built-in transcoding turned on.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2019, 05:09 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 293
I have an HDHR-Extend and it works for me with SageTV with transcoding set to "heavy", although when I first bought it it did not work with SageTV and I don't know why it didn't work then nor why it does work now. Like both of you, I have been trying to get the miniclient+exoplayer+MPEG2+5.1 working reliably - some of the things I have tried get it close to working, but it seems like I always end up going back to using the HD300. I have 3 tuners - HDTC-2US, Hauppauge QuadHD and Ceton PCIe6. With the QuadHD, livetv is mostly unwatchable. Running QuadHD recordings through the SageTV transcoder using the "justfix" profile mentioned in the forum makes them viewable. There is no live re-muxing available for the QuadHD as it is not supported by OpenDCT. With the HDTC-2US+heavy transcoding+OpenDCT+ffmpeg (remux only) consumer, live tv works. Also, with the Ceton tuner+OpenDCT+ffmpeg (remux only) consumer, live tv works. But for all 3 of the cases where it "works", it doesn't seem to be 100% there because sometimes minor issues like a/v being slightly out of sync appear. So, I end up going back to using an HD-300.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370(headless via RD)/OpenDCT/CetonPCIe6/HDHR-Quatro/HD300(x6) on Frontier FIOS
WMC: Win7/i3-3220(headless)/CetonPCIe6/Xbox360(x4) AndroidTV: Nvidia Shield(x3)/HDTC-2US Retired:Hauppauge QuadHD/HDHR Prime/CetonPCIe4/AvermediaDuet/HDHR/HD-PVR/USB-UIRT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2019, 08:55 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 843
Okay, so I now have HDTC-2US+heavy transcoding+OpenDCT all setup and working as long as I'm using IJK. It produces .ts files, but no video or sound on EXO.

I've never understood ffmpeg. where do I adjust these settings for "ffmpeg (remux only)"? On the shield do I check both "Use Exoplayer" and "Exo: disable audio passthrough"? Anything else?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2019, 04:26 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 843
i found this post as a guide for ffmpeg, but I not sure how to tell whether its doing anything, and still no luck getting any output from EXO.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...3&postcount=21
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2019, 06:36 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 843
Hopeful bump. Can anyone share settings for this that provide 5.1? Or are you telling me that no one has this combo working?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2019, 12:56 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 988
I poked around a little and found this:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63359

I created the JustFix conversion profile Fuzzy posted there and the deinterlace flag Telecore mentioned, then ran it against some of the files (MPEG2/1080i) that ExoPlayer would not play. After conversion they played fine in 5.1.

If this could be done in real-time by OpenDCT I wonder if it would be a solution.

PS. You want "disable audio passthrough" unchecked on your SHIELD.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2019, 07:15 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 293
I just did some quick testing to verify this for myself - in my case it appears using "justfix" consistently makes recordings watchable in 5.1 (exoplayer) with a-v synced. I tried different networks with 1080i and 720p material.

Using the OpenDCT/ffmpeg consumer/no transcode profile for the HDTC-2US and Ceton PCIe6 recordings (not "justfixed") appears to NEVER have a-v synced, but is otherwise OK.

So, there appears to be a solution for watching recordings after they complete, but I am not aware of anything for live tv that gets a-v synced (except for ijkplayer with 2.0 sound).

If anyone knows how to configure OpenDCT to do what "justfix" does, please let us know.

There is another thread somewhere that discusses updating ffmpeg in the SageTV software itself - I am wondering if it would be possible for SageTV to have a real-time "cleaner"/re-muxer for all incoming video. That would eventually be another way of cleaning up all recordings, including the non OpenDCT types (Hauppauge QuadHD).
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370(headless via RD)/OpenDCT/CetonPCIe6/HDHR-Quatro/HD300(x6) on Frontier FIOS
WMC: Win7/i3-3220(headless)/CetonPCIe6/Xbox360(x4) AndroidTV: Nvidia Shield(x3)/HDTC-2US Retired:Hauppauge QuadHD/HDHR Prime/CetonPCIe4/AvermediaDuet/HDHR/HD-PVR/USB-UIRT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2019, 07:01 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telecore View Post
There is another thread somewhere that discusses updating ffmpeg in the SageTV software itself - I am wondering if it would be possible for SageTV to have a real-time "cleaner"/re-muxer for all incoming video. That would eventually be another way of cleaning up all recordings, including the non OpenDCT types (Hauppauge QuadHD).
Probably not what you're looking for, but the built in remuxer that SageTV uses is available via it's media server (which network encoders have the option of using).
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2019, 09:06 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Probably not what you're looking for, but the built in remuxer that SageTV uses is available via it's media server (which network encoders have the option of using).
That doesn't fix things at least last I tried. Is there a way to apply the "JustFix" settings in real-time via OpenDCT?
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-27-2019, 06:04 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
That doesn't fix things at least last I tried. Is there a way to apply the "JustFix" settings in real-time via OpenDCT?
If I'm looking at what Fuzzy posted correctly, no. This is because it converts to an mkv container. If you're looking to have a ts container, OpenDCT already does that by default.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
update to v.9 produces frozen video tvmaster2 SageTV Software 23 02-15-2017 11:34 AM
HD300 with new HDTV produces jerky video LHuisingh SageTV Media Extender 3 12-11-2012 09:46 PM
DVD-ROM playback method produces excellent results benjatelcom SageTV Media Extender 0 01-02-2011 12:51 AM
Sort by title produces unexpected ordering Grant.Edwards SageTV Software 2 05-15-2010 08:18 PM
what combination of codecs are you using? bastian74 SageTV Software 0 04-13-2009 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.