SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #521  
Old 01-02-2021, 07:19 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I'm using version 1.7.0 of the MiniClient on a FireTV Stick 4K, and I have the "Use Native Resolution" option checked in the settings. However, when I check channels that should be 720p (Fox, ESPN, ABC, etc.) they are all showing up as 1080p when I press the info button on the TV remote. Am I missing a setting somewhere? I would prefer if the MiniClient display the native resolution of the channel being viewed, rather than sending it as 1080p all of the time. Any suggestions?
If you are referring to the option the miniclient, then this is nothing to do with the video output. Use native resolution here tell the UI to match the resolution provided by the device. ie, normally SageTV's resolution for the UI is 720p but you can tell sagev to use the native resolution. SageTV will then send back artifacts that will be scaled to native resolution. In all fairness, this setting should be removed fromt he miniclient since in reality it doesn't do much to improve the overall UI quality. This difference is this...

In native resolution mode, mini client creates a UI buffer the same as the native UI. It tells sagetv what the resolution is, and when sagetv sends the UI parts across the wire, the information to scale them is included in the bitmaps.

In a non native mode pretty much the same thing happens except that the UI buffer is 720p and then it is finally scaled to the native resolution in one shot, just before it renders the UI. Given that both of these are scaling the artifacts, the latter is more memory efficient, since, it will create small UI buffers and only scale the large buffer at the end.
Reply With Quote
  #522  
Old 01-02-2021, 12:22 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
If you are referring to the option the miniclient, then this is nothing to do with the video output. Use native resolution here tell the UI to match the resolution provided by the device. ie, normally SageTV's resolution for the UI is 720p but you can tell sagev to use the native resolution. SageTV will then send back artifacts that will be scaled to native resolution. In all fairness, this setting should be removed fromt he miniclient since in reality it doesn't do much to improve the overall UI quality. This difference is this...

In native resolution mode, mini client creates a UI buffer the same as the native UI. It tells sagetv what the resolution is, and when sagetv sends the UI parts across the wire, the information to scale them is included in the bitmaps.

In a non native mode pretty much the same thing happens except that the UI buffer is 720p and then it is finally scaled to the native resolution in one shot, just before it renders the UI. Given that both of these are scaling the artifacts, the latter is more memory efficient, since, it will create small UI buffers and only scale the large buffer at the end.
There is a setup parameter with a similar name in the HDx00 extenders (I think it is enable native resolution switching). That parameter determines whether the extender re-scales video before outputting to match a fixed output resolution or passed the video through untouched and lets the TV deal with it. In this case whenever there is a resolution change, the screen May blank for a moment while the TV detects the content and adjusts itself. The reason you might want to do this if you think the scaler in your tv is better than the scaler in the extender (or if you are using an external scaler).

I’m not sure if this feature would make sense in a phone or tablet, since there is probably only one scaler, but it could make sense with AndroidTV device that doesn’t have a built in display (such as a Shield). But the hardware (and operating system and display drivers) would have to support this.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 13 10-27-2020 01:49 PM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.