SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2010, 09:59 AM
jlmdxtv jlmdxtv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 182
Jetty File I/O - lots of

Hello,

I've installed the webserver plugin (Sage Webserver version 2.28) last week (I'm using Sage Ver.7/22-23) and have been using it to remotely set my recording schedules and it works very well. I'm not sure what Jetty version it's using from here at work but I downloaded and installed it last week.

I have noticed that it's doing a lot of file i/o on my SageTV server even when it's not being remotely accessed. Since loading it I see my hard drive light blinking almost constantly so I've loaded FileMon and see it's the Jetty directories that are being accessed over and over by the SageTVServer.

I've set the Jetty logging to it's most minimal and turned off Sage Debug logging entirely.

What is all of this activity and why doesn't it seem to take a break?

See attached.

Thank you, john
Attached Images
File Type: gif Jetty.gif (182.0 KB, 173 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2010, 12:10 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 682
I noticed the same thing on my server. I think it is Jetty scanning to see if there is new websites to load. I think turning off auto deploy in Jetty's config files removed the disk IO. I am sorry, but I do not remember exactly what the setting was. It was a while ago when I changed the setting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2010, 05:59 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,192
Jetty is scanning the contexts directory for any application installs or updates. Whenever a change is detected (e.g. you update a web app in SageTV 7's Plugin Manager) the appropriate app is redeployed.

There's a setting in the jetty/etc/jetty.xml file that controls the interval. This can be changed to a longer interval. I don't recall offhand how to disable it.

Code:
<Set name="scanInterval">1</Set>
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2010, 08:05 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreichen View Post
There's a setting in the jetty/etc/jetty.xml file that controls the interval. This can be changed to a longer interval. I don't recall offhand how to disable it.
was curious so did a google search... the units are seconds... setting it to zero disables the scanning (and therefore breaks the hotdeploy features of jetty).
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:44 AM
jlmdxtv jlmdxtv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 182
Thanks all for your help. I've set it to "0" and the issue went away.
For anyone else reading: the webserver continues to work.

Best, john
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:51 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmdxtv View Post
Thanks all for your help. I've set it to "0" and the issue went away.
For anyone else reading: the webserver continues to work.

Best, john
Yes, it will likely still work, though any updates to the web server, or adding any other jetty based plugins, will not install until the jetty server (sagetv) is restarted. (that is, assuming jetty checks the contexts on startup)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2010, 09:15 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,192
Yes, it will still work. You can either restart SageTV or just Jetty. To restart Jetty, go to the Plugin Manager, select the Jetty Web Server plugin, select Configure Plugin, and finally select Restart Web Server.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: Jetty Starter 1.6 jreichen SageTV Customizations 122 09-07-2012 06:48 PM
Jetty and BMT Spectrum SageTV v7 Customizations 2 06-24-2010 08:38 PM
Jetty? Simple Question ThePaladinTech SageTV Customizations 18 04-22-2010 01:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.