SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-28-2020, 11:01 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I just got this one from Amazon am able to control TV Shield/FireTV Soundbar etc ... Even switches inputs on TV. Even number keys work ... learning curve.

https://www.amazon.com/SofaBaton-U1-...0-a2ffae3a273c
This is the remote I have been using since the summer. Highly recommend it.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-28-2020, 11:30 PM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 398
I just bought 2 of these and have been using them for one week. They work well! https://amzn.to/3nVdWLq
__________________
Sage Server: SageTV v9.2.1(64)
Hardware Dell T20 Mini Tower, 4th Gen Pentium, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro 64 bit, 3 x 4TB WD Green, 128GB SSD boot drive. Capture: 1 Quad HDHR, 2 Dual HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 2 @ STP-HD200's, 1 @ HD300, 1 @ Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 @ Mibox. TV's: 70", 55" & 40" Sony's - Playon/PlayLater, Blue Iris.

Motorhome Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8 Intel NUC6CAYH, HD200, Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 Dual HDHR 4TB Passport storage, Winegard BatWing RV antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-29-2020, 12:17 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergq View Post
This is the remote I have been using since the summer. Highly recommend it.
Yep love it hit 1 button and I can Switch Between FireTV Shield Roku. Number channels input works.

https://www.amazon.com/SofaBaton-U1-...0-a2ffae3a273c
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-29-2020, 12:21 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbill View Post
I just bought 2 of these and have been using them for one week. They work well! https://amzn.to/3nVdWLq
That is ok if you are only using the Shield the SofaBaton controls up to 15 devices.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-29-2020, 12:54 PM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
That is ok if you are only using the Shield the SofaBaton controls up to 15 devices.
I just read online that I can program this remote to do other things. I just need to find the document that explains it. All I saw was you can program what different press types (long press, short press and maybe quick press ) can do. Nothing about that capability came in the small instruction book with the package. -Bill
__________________
Sage Server: SageTV v9.2.1(64)
Hardware Dell T20 Mini Tower, 4th Gen Pentium, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro 64 bit, 3 x 4TB WD Green, 128GB SSD boot drive. Capture: 1 Quad HDHR, 2 Dual HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 2 @ STP-HD200's, 1 @ HD300, 1 @ Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 @ Mibox. TV's: 70", 55" & 40" Sony's - Playon/PlayLater, Blue Iris.

Motorhome Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8 Intel NUC6CAYH, HD200, Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 Dual HDHR 4TB Passport storage, Winegard BatWing RV antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-29-2020, 01:19 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbill View Post
I just read online that I can program this remote to do other things. I just need to find the document that explains it. All I saw was you can program what different press types (long press, short press and maybe quick press ) can do. Nothing about that capability came in the small instruction book with the package. -Bill
I have that Remote on my ShieldTV tube and what it does it can control a soundbar or TV volume and turn on of your TV. That is about it. It is a great Shield remote.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 12-29-2020 at 01:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-29-2020, 03:43 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I have that Remote on my ShieldTV tube and what it does it can control a soundbar or TV volume and turn on of your TV. That is about it. It is a great Shield remote.
I am using a Harmony Hub now. Maybe I will have to switch.

Wait a minute, is that the one that comes with the new Shield TV tube? Then I have one somewhere. Now I just need to figure out how to switch it between Shield boxes.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K

Last edited by NetworkGuy; 12-29-2020 at 03:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-30-2020, 11:45 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I am using a Harmony Hub now. Maybe I will have to switch.

Wait a minute, is that the one that comes with the new Shield TV tube? Then I have one somewhere. Now I just need to figure out how to switch it between Shield boxes.
If you have a Harmony Hub, then you have a better solution that anything else that has been talked about so far. Well, at least if you have the Hub that came with an actual remote and not just the hub itself. If you only have the hub and use your phone to control things, then I would suggest that you get a physical remote from Harmony that is compatible with the Hub.

The Hub can use IR, RF, Bluetooth and network connections to control devices. It's the only "consumer" quality device that handles all the connection types. It may take a some effort to get everything set up like you want it, but that effort will be less than the other solutions mentioned. It will also give you more flexibility in how you control things too. (Basically you will have more choices).
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 01-07-2021 at 09:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-01-2021, 12:32 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
If you have a Harmony Hub, then you have a better solution that anything else that has been talked about so far. Well, at least if you have the Hub that came with an actual remote and not just the hub itself. If you only have the hub and use your phone to control things, then I would suggest that you get a physical remote from Harmony that is compatible with the Hub.

The Hub can use IR and RF and network connections to control devices. It's the only "residential" quality device that handles all the connection types. It may take a some effort to get everything set up like you want it, but that effort will be less than the other solutions mentioned. It will also give you more flexibility in how you control things too. (Basically you will have more choices).
I will second this. I have a Harmony Hub with the remote and I couldn't be happier. The WAF is very high. I use it to control the shield, HD300, TV, AV receiver, and more. Set up of the remote is fairly easy and using it is even easier.
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-01-2021, 05:55 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,006
I agree regarding the Harmony although I haven't used it with the Shield, only with regular extenders. The only better solution is a full automation system like Control4 but that is a whole other ball game.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-07-2021, 09:53 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,314
The Harmony works great with the Shield. It works exactly like to OEM remote (bluetooth transmission), but with more buttons. You just have to go into the Harmony remote setup section and add the Harmony remote.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 01-07-2021 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shield RF upgrade to different remote due to volume control sensitivity. bigbill SageTV Clients Development 6 11-12-2019 10:54 PM
Shield 139.99 on Amazon .... nyplayer The SageTV Community 3 11-11-2018 03:49 PM
Shield Miniclient performance ptaylor SageTV Clients Development 10 05-31-2018 12:58 PM
Shield Remote gilded07 SageTV Media Extender 3 01-24-2018 02:05 PM
Nvidia Shield Now can record. nyplayer General Discussion 41 07-07-2016 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.