SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #601  
Old 07-01-2015, 09:48 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,589
Why isn't UHD something that we won't start seeing in the forseeable future? Cameras from a GoPro or a Phantom 3 drone can output 4K video so why wouldn't you want to see that on a SageTV extender?

And I would think that UHD will start to become commonplace for movie files before too long - 4K BluRays are supposed to be released before the end of 2015.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #602  
Old 07-02-2015, 06:53 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why isn't UHD something that we won't start seeing in the forseeable future? Cameras from a GoPro or a Phantom 3 drone can output 4K video so why wouldn't you want to see that on a SageTV extender?
This reminds me of the debates we used to have here around 3D and SageTV's lack of support. No one seems to talk much about 3D any longer...

While I don't doubt 4k will be standard we are probably still a long ways away. To put it in perspective, HDTV broadcasts started in 1996 in the US - almost 20 years ago. New technologies that require expensive infrastructure and expensive hardware upgrades can sometimes move slower than we want.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #603  
Old 07-02-2015, 07:00 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
This reminds me of the debates we used to have here around 3D and SageTV's lack of support. No one seems to talk much about 3D any longer...

While I don't doubt 4k will be standard we are probably still a long ways away. To put it in perspective, HDTV broadcasts started in 1996 in the US - almost 20 years ago. New technologies that require expensive infrastructure and expensive hardware upgrades can sometimes move slower than we want.
I think the future of TV will be UHD. This is different from 3D tv being just a resolution/technology improvement.

I'm sure there are several reasons why the latest resurgence of 3D tv failed but I always thought it was as gimmicky as 3D movies/TV has always been. No new TV's are 3D so the focus to support it is also gone.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #604  
Old 07-02-2015, 07:21 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
While I don't doubt 4k will be standard we are probably still a long ways away. To put it in perspective, HDTV broadcasts started in 1996 in the US - almost 20 years ago. New technologies that require expensive infrastructure and expensive hardware upgrades can sometimes move slower than we want.
These transitions do take a while but the folks using SageTV are on the bleeding edge so are quite likely to adopt new technologies much faster than the general public. I got my first HDTV in early 2002 and I have nine TVs in my house, all of them HD. I don't have any 4K TVs yet but I imagine that every TV I buy in the future will be 4K. And once the content starts to appear, which is happening much sooner in movies and self-generated content than in TV, it will accelerate the shift.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #605  
Old 07-02-2015, 07:51 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I still think 3D quadraphonic laserdiscs will catch on. I'm keeping my hopes up.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #606  
Old 07-02-2015, 09:57 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
This reminds me of the debates we used to have here around 3D and SageTV's lack of support. No one seems to talk much about 3D any longer...
If you mean on these forums, why would someone do that? SageTV has been frozen for 4 years now. Anyone who wanted 3D ditched Sage entirely or supplemented their SageTV setup with another program. I use Kodi for 3D and, because of that, I now use Kodi for all my movie watching. Thankfully, I can switch between the two programs quite easily with my Logitech remote. So, Sage usage has gone down significantly in my house over the past 4 years.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #607  
Old 07-02-2015, 11:05 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why isn't UHD something that we won't start seeing in the forseeable future? Cameras from a GoPro or a Phantom 3 drone can output 4K video so why wouldn't you want to see that on a SageTV extender?

And I would think that UHD will start to become commonplace for movie files before too long - 4K BluRays are supposed to be released before the end of 2015.
You're right, I'm injecting too much of my own personal bias into it. I've abandoned Sage for anything but TV. I use my HD300 for TV, and I use a Chromebox/OpenELEC for all my ripped media (movies/TV/videos). So in my setup, 4K will likely never come to Sage as I don't see it coming to OTA or Cable any time soon, and by the time it does I'll (hopefully) be free of cable altogether.

But yeah, I can see it being a bigger deal for folks who use Sage for everything. Though that said, Sage should handle 4K just fine on PCs provided the right decoders are available.
Reply With Quote
  #608  
Old 07-02-2015, 12:07 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
I still think 3D quadraphonic laserdiscs will catch on. I'm keeping my hopes up.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #609  
Old 07-02-2015, 12:11 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,589
Quadrophonic sound did catch on except they added a centre channel and a subwoofer and renamed it surround sound.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #610  
Old 07-02-2015, 08:00 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why isn't UHD something that we won't start seeing in the forseeable future? Cameras from a GoPro or a Phantom 3 drone can output 4K video so why wouldn't you want to see that on a SageTV extender?

And I would think that UHD will start to become commonplace for movie files before too long - 4K BluRays are supposed to be released before the end of 2015.
I believe he was implying that it won't be of a concern with the current extenders. Meaning support for h.265 on the HD300 is not necessary (and not possible anyway). I fully expect that we should be implementing a more capable transcoding engine, which would scale and transcode any media on the server down to whatever a given client can handle, so a 4k h.265 video can be played back at 1080 h.264 on current extenders. ffmpeg's maturity has made this type of activity immensely simple.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #611  
Old 07-03-2015, 08:29 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I believe he was implying that it won't be of a concern with the current extenders. Meaning support for h.265 on the HD300 is not necessary (and not possible anyway). I fully expect that we should be implementing a more capable transcoding engine, which would scale and transcode any media on the server down to whatever a given client can handle, so a 4k h.265 video can be played back at 1080 h.264 on current extenders. ffmpeg's maturity has made this type of activity immensely simple.
One of the biggest challenges that I see with this, is how to support skip/seek. If you are transcoding on the fly, and someone skips a commercial... what happens... today, I think you have to tear down the transcoding engine (ffmpeg), then seek to the part in the real file, and then re-start the transcoding engine.... and all of this introduces lag I do think that for recorded shows, and if you don't care about watching commercials, then the on-the-fly transcoding would fairly easy to do... provided you had the server hardware to keep up.
Reply With Quote
  #612  
Old 07-03-2015, 08:52 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
One of the biggest challenges that I see with this, is how to support skip/seek. If you are transcoding on the fly, and someone skips a commercial... what happens... today, I think you have to tear down the transcoding engine (ffmpeg), then seek to the part in the real file, and then re-start the transcoding engine.... and all of this introduces lag I do think that for recorded shows, and if you don't care about watching commercials, then the on-the-fly transcoding would fairly easy to do... provided you had the server hardware to keep up.
SageTV already does this with Placeshifter when you're using the comskip plugin.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #613  
Old 07-03-2015, 08:53 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,589
Skipping is the one thing that Sage excels at - none of the other solutions that I have tried handle skipping nearly as well as Sage. But that is less of an issue for ripped movies than recorded TV and it is less likely to have recorded TV in h.265 as I don't think there are any TV capture devices that output that type of file. TV content will likely continue to be MPEG-2 from OTA/cable and h.264 from an HD-PVR. Unless an HD-PVR3 comes out that encodes to h.265. But Hauppauge seems to be on life support so I don't know if that will happen.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #614  
Old 07-03-2015, 01:14 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
SageTV already does this with Placeshifter when you're using the comskip plugin.
Correct, what I'm not sure is if this (the ability to seek in the transcode) was one of the modifications that they made to ffmpeg or not.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #615  
Old 07-31-2015, 01:15 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
cant believe i am just hearing about this. So glad i never bailed.

Still have my same sagetv server, hd300, and 3x hd100s running

I contacted the mymovies plugin writer to make sure he is aware as well.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #616  
Old 08-02-2015, 12:15 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,169
I was kind of hoping that Jeff would take his time with this, and maybe even roll in native support for Prime/Ceton cablecard tuners. I suppose that's probably more of an undertaking than it would seem to person who doesn't do much programming.
Reply With Quote
  #617  
Old 08-02-2015, 01:49 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I was kind of hoping that Jeff would take his time with this, and maybe even roll in native support for Prime/Ceton cablecard tuners. I suppose that's probably more of an undertaking than it would seem to person who doesn't do much programming.
+1 That would solve a multitude of problems.... Including prime tuner sharing.
Reply With Quote
  #618  
Old 08-02-2015, 08:41 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
+1 That would solve a multitude of problems.... Including prime tuner sharing.
Prime tuner sharing could be fixed in the network encoder as well, if there was enough demand and volunteer strength for it. I honestly don't think there needs to be built in support, just more wizard like install and configuration of the network encoders. The network encoder system is actually probably better than native for future proofing anyway.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #619  
Old 08-03-2015, 05:48 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Also, IIRC the network encoder system is a lot more capable than we've seen. There are two "levels" of network encoder, there's the level that has thus far been made public, and then there's the internal level that Sage used when you setup an encoding server. I believe the encoding server method supports auto detection and scanning, basically everything native tuners support.

Again, IIRC.
Reply With Quote
  #620  
Old 08-03-2015, 05:56 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Also, IIRC the network encoder system is a lot more capable than we've seen. There are two "levels" of network encoder, there's the level that has thus far been made public, and then there's the internal level that Sage used when you setup an encoding server. I believe the encoding server method supports auto detection and scanning, basically everything native tuners support.

Again, IIRC.
Yes, that is mostly correct. Most of it can be gleamed from doing some packet sniffing, but we'll be able to build up some real documentation for it once the source is released (as well as make any changes might be required for it to go to a public stage). The API itself seems very lightweight. I'd love to be able to squeeze it directly into and HDHR's firmware, for instance.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
open source


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Setup "Video Source Capture" Problem Mandingo609 Hardware Support 6 01-04-2011 08:05 AM
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
Can I use "Send To..." to open a file with another player? horseflesh SageMC Custom Interface 0 12-23-2008 04:23 PM
Any plan adding a ""unsupported" Closed Caption on the HD-100 in future update? TechBill SageTV Media Extender 5 08-16-2008 08:58 AM
Open "Browse - Video Menu" First lambda379 SageTV Studio 2 09-02-2007 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.