SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2020, 07:49 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,647
ATSC 3.0 Tuners?

It is disappointing that there don't appear to have been any ATSC 3.0 tuners announced at CES this year.

However SiliconDust, makers of the HDHR, do appear to have a placeholder web page at: https://www.silicondust.com/about/in...ee-antenna_tv/

It would be nice to see some tuners become available so that we can start capturing OTA ATSC 3.0 in SageTV.

edit - I did find a tuner that has been around since June. But you don't appear able to order it:

https://www.geniatech.com/product/a683/
https://www.cnx-software.com/2019/06...-usb-tv-tuner/
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server

Last edited by wayner; 01-09-2020 at 07:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2020, 12:22 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
It is disappointing that there don't appear to have been any ATSC 3.0 tuners announced at CES this year.

However SiliconDust, makers of the HDHR, do appear to have a placeholder web page at: https://www.silicondust.com/about/in...ee-antenna_tv/

It would be nice to see some tuners become available so that we can start capturing OTA ATSC 3.0 in SageTV.

edit - I did find a tuner that has been around since June. But you don't appear able to order it:

https://www.geniatech.com/product/a683/
https://www.cnx-software.com/2019/06...-usb-tv-tuner/
There are ATSC 3.0 tuners but unless you got 1.5k in your back pocket there point in buy one and fact that Advanced Television Systems Committee just give the go ahead to start building tuner we should see USB and Set-top box in next 6 months.
Just keep eye out on CordCuttersNews and Antenna Man and there should at lease 60+ television station markets airing by the end of 2020.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTv Compatible ATSC / ClearQAM Tuners USB unclepoo Hardware Support 1 03-22-2016 06:01 PM
ATSC Channels Not Available On All Tuners, Just Some Sage v7 Savage1701 Hardware Support 4 01-21-2011 06:30 AM
Multiple ATSC Tuners... STV's channel selection criteria? transco SageTV EPG Service 3 06-30-2009 08:48 AM
Hard drive bandwidth - 2 HD Tuners & 4 Analog Tuners electronics4lif Hardware Support 17 05-06-2008 06:28 AM
Combo vs. Discrete Tuners (ATI 650 or seperate SD and HD tuners) dmiraclejr Hardware Support 5 10-09-2006 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.