SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-26-2020, 05:50 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Have those of you with these issues tried the setting in this post? https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=15

ui/load_images_with_awt_toolkit=false
Anyone try this?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-27-2020, 05:55 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Anyone try this?
I'll give this a try and see if it decreases the spinning circles.
For the HD300, would it just be Sage.properties or would it also be the HD300 properties in the client folder? What about SageClient.properties?

Sage.properties & SageClient.properties has it true.
The client\<macaddress>.properties does not have the line at all

Guess I'll add to the client\<macaddress>.properties and make both Sage.properties & SageClient.properties as false
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-27-2020, 06:14 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
No. I also ran CrystalDiskInfo on my hard-drives and they are fine.

https://crystalmark.info/en/software/crystaldiskinfo/
My SSD shows as 100% Good
My HDD shows as Good.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-27-2020, 06:49 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 723
Interesting Update.

I have a Netgear MR60 / MS60 WiFi 6 Mesh system. I was working with their Tier 2 support yesterday on a possible firmware bug with port forwarding. Support had me reset my router to factory defaults and then reconfigured it. While I was doing this, I powered off the satellite and forgot to turn it back on. (It did seem to clear the port forwarding problem.)

Here is the interesting part. Last night there were no spinning circles. I am going to power up the satellite today and see what happens.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-27-2020, 07:02 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,239
With ui/load_images_with_awt_toolkit=false

Log attached

Fri 3/27 8:43:56.814 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] EventThread-0023a500012e Hang Detected - hang time = 5266 UILocker=Thread[EventRouter-0023a500012e,5,main]

Then shows the thread dump info

Hope that helps in someone able to point me in the right direction
Attached Files
File Type: zip sagetv_0 - 20200327.zip (738.7 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-27-2020, 08:08 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Does your system lockup to the point of needing a Task Manager Kill Process of SageTV at that point? That’s what my spinning circles lead to.
I use clients to access my SageTV system, so my experience is coming from this use only.

When the spinning circle appears, it certainly freezes the clients (HD-300s or Shields) and they do not respond to any type of input, remote button presses, etc. However, if I wait long enough, the system will recover and allow me to move on. Usually this wait time can be measured in minutes however.

Many times I will get tired of waiting and power cycle the HD-300. When it comes back and reconnects, I do have normal use of the system. Many times doing this is actually quicker than waiting for the spinning circle.

Again, I am 100% convinced MY problem is related to corrupt files (likely due to a hard drive issues). I say this because the system will work fine unless I navigate to where those suspected corrupt shows are. It is a repeatable event. So anytime I navigate to a suspected corrupted show, I get a spinning circle. If I stay away from the suspected corrupted shows the system works fine.

I realize this isn't the only reason people see the spinning circle and it may not be your issue.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 03-27-2020 at 08:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-27-2020, 11:24 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
I use clients to access my SageTV system, so my experience is coming from this use only.

When the spinning circle appears, it certainly freezes the clients (HD-300s or Shields) and they do not respond to any type of input, remote button presses, etc. However, if I wait long enough, the system will recover and allow me to move on. Usually this wait time can be measured in minutes however.

Many times I will get tired of waiting and power cycle the HD-300. When it comes back and reconnects, I do have normal use of the system. Many times doing this is actually quicker than waiting for the spinning circle.

Again, I am 100% convinced MY problem is related to corrupt files (likely due to a hard drive issues). I say this because the system will work fine unless I navigate to where those suspected corrupt shows are. It is a repeatable event. So anytime I navigate to a suspected corrupted show, I get a spinning circle. If I stay away from the suspected corrupted shows the system works fine.

I realize this isn't the only reason people see the spinning circle and it may not be your issue.
Install CrystalDiskInfo
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-27-2020, 11:25 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
I'll give this a try and see if it decreases the spinning circles.
For the HD300, would it just be Sage.properties or would it also be the HD300 properties in the client folder? What about SageClient.properties?

Sage.properties & SageClient.properties has it true.
The client\<macaddress>.properties does not have the line at all

Guess I'll add to the client\<macaddress>.properties and make both Sage.properties & SageClient.properties as false
Sage.properties is for the server in application mode and for all miniclients (like the HD300). Rendering for those is done on the server. Sageclient.proeprties is for a client on a PC (including the server if using service mode).

When I changed it in my sage.properties I noticed a distinct increase in performance and stopped getting all of the blank images I used to get when browsing photos on the HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-27-2020, 12:05 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
With ui/load_images_with_awt_toolkit=false

Log attached

Fri 3/27 8:43:56.814 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] EventThread-0023a500012e Hang Detected - hang time = 5266 UILocker=Thread[EventRouter-0023a500012e,5,main]

Then shows the thread dump info

Hope that helps in someone able to point me in the right direction
Those thread dumps are helpful. After each “Thread[“ the next set of line shown are the code where the thread is at with the top being the most recent. Most of them are at wait, run, socketlisten, etc. which is normal but one that stood out is:

Code:
Fri 3/27 8:43:56.826 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] Thread[Seeker,5,main]
Fri 3/27 8:43:56.826 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] 	java.io.WinNTFileSystem.getBooleanAttributes(Native Method)
It’s the “verify files” thread checking for file existence. It could be a coincidence that this activity happens often enough that it may always show up, or it could indicate a bad file or bad disk.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-27-2020, 02:24 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Install CrystalDiskInfo
Thanks. I do have a bunch of "relocated sector counts" on one of my drives I save my recordings to. It just confirms my suspicion that one of them was going bad. At least now I know which one.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-27-2020, 02:39 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Most of them are at wait, run, socketlisten, etc. which is normal but one that stood out is:

Code:
Fri 3/27 8:43:56.826 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] Thread[Seeker,5,main]
Fri 3/27 8:43:56.826 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] 	java.io.WinNTFileSystem.getBooleanAttributes(Native Method)
It’s the “verify files” thread checking for file existence. It could be a coincidence that this activity happens often enough that it may always show up, or it could indicate a bad file or bad disk.
How would I figure out which file it is checking for?
Is it the recording (mpg) file it is checking for? in which case it is having to reach out to the NAS, or is it a SageTV file which would then be on the PC's SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-27-2020, 03:24 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
How would I figure out which file it is checking for?
Is it the recording (mpg) file it is checking for? in which case it is having to reach out to the NAS, or is it a SageTV file which would then be on the PC's SSD.
Yeah. "verifyFiles" is a process that scans for recording files as part of the disk space check. You would see something like this in the log file when it starts:
Code:
Verifying existence of all TV media files in database
For the code types, verifyFiles is in Seeker.Java.

Again, this may not be the issue since file scanning tends to run a lot. It just means that something what wasn't idle during the hang. There are other things and I'm taking a closer look now that I'm not on a tablet.

Last edited by wnjj; 03-27-2020 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-27-2020, 03:38 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
With ui/load_images_with_awt_toolkit=false

Log attached

Fri 3/27 8:43:56.814 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] EventThread-0023a500012e Hang Detected - hang time = 5266 UILocker=Thread[EventRouter-0023a500012e,5,main]

Then shows the thread dump info

Hope that helps in someone able to point me in the right direction
Actually, right before a different hang I see this:
Code:
Fri 3/27 8:44:21.938 [EventRouter-0023a500012e@1459bddd] Seeker.finishWatch(UIManager:localhost@@0023a500012e-2ca8a20e)
Then during the dumped threads is this;
Code:
Fri 3/27 8:44:27.642 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] Thread[EventRouter-0023a500012e,5,main]
Fri 3/27 8:44:27.642 [AWTThreadWatcher-0023a500012e@60d5efd2] 	sage.Seeker.finishWatch(Seeker.java:4934)
Did you just complete watching a recording when it hung that time?

After further review, I think the only thing in common on the various hangs is the verifyfiles process.

Last edited by wnjj; 03-27-2020 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-03-2020, 01:49 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Interesting Update.

I have a Netgear MR60 / MS60 WiFi 6 Mesh system. I was working with their Tier 2 support yesterday on a possible firmware bug with port forwarding. Support had me reset my router to factory defaults and then reconfigured it. While I was doing this, I powered off the satellite and forgot to turn it back on. (It did seem to clear the port forwarding problem.)

Here is the interesting part. Last night there were no spinning circles. I am going to power up the satellite today and see what happens.

I powered up my satellite and there were no spinning circles. But I have a theory on what happened. I think I accidentally created a network loop on a LAN.

Take a look at the attached simple network diagram.

SageTV server used the 3-2-1 path to get to the Internet.

While setting up the router, I removed cable 2. But SageTV server still had internet connectivity. It found a new path using 3-4-5-6-1.

When I re-attached cable 2, it found a 2nd path. It created a loop for SageTV server that caused the spinning circles.
Attached Images
File Type: png Network Loop.png (49.9 KB, 23 views)
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting lots of spinning circles and crashes all of a sudden... tvmaster2 SageTV Software 9 03-16-2020 12:05 PM
Spinning Circles - how to dump thread stacks? graywolf SageTV Software 0 01-02-2017 04:12 PM
Circles - Stuttering on Sage Videos and DVDs mike1961 SageTV Software 4 12-24-2009 12:12 PM
Letterman on South Park flavius The SageTV Community 2 09-12-2009 01:02 PM
Spinning wait circles on Music only mguebert SageTV Software 5 10-27-2008 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.