SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2009, 10:48 AM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
What is the current status of the Media MVP and sagetv?

Thinking of putting a TV out in the garage and been looking at some of the media mvp's on ebay. I remember someone had setup an extender through the sagetv server.

I see sage is selling extender licenses now, if I purchase a MVP will I have to purhcase a MVP license? My server is basically headless and I never view files through it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2009, 11:48 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
The MVP works great. I still use one in a guest bedroom. If you buy the hardware through eBay you will still need to buy a license for it through Sage.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2009, 03:20 PM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
The MVP works great. I still use one in a guest bedroom. If you buy the hardware through eBay you will still need to buy a license for it through Sage.
so the server license that I own but don't use can't be used as an extender?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2009, 03:55 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Correct.

If you are a "the glass is half full" guy: You paid for a server license and got a free "local" client license that you may or may not ever use.

If you are a "the glass is half empty" guy: You paid for a server license and a user interface license and you can only use the user interface on the same machine as the server.

You pick
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2009, 03:59 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
remember that the same license that applies for the MVP also applies for placeshifter, HD100, and HD200.

if you already have one of the above, you can use the MVP for free (as long as you don't use two at once)
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2009, 04:57 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
Actually the HD200 doesn't need any form of license if you're using SageTV version 6.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2009, 08:20 PM
Oats Oats is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 213
If your server happens to be running WHS then it comes with an extender/placeshifter license.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2009, 08:23 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
The HD-200 is far superior to the MVP, both in video and audio quality. The HD-200 can be used for SD and HD TVs. The MVP will require more CPU processing power when you watch programs that are not recorded in mpeg2 format. The reason is the computer has to transcode the video file into mpeg2 on the fly. If the CPU is too weak, you will experience video stuttering. The HD-200 plays various video formats without transcoding. The HD-200 is also more reliable. The HD-200 is a bit more expensive than a used MVP and a MVP license, but it is worth the extra cost.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200-Blu Ray Menus-Current Status Linkin_Logs SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 13 12-01-2009 01:02 PM
Will my current media center PC work for Sage TV? crarbo1 Hardware Support 3 08-18-2008 12:44 PM
Media MVP support for SageTV v4 dhalsim007 Hardware Support 5 11-04-2005 07:55 PM
Current status of DVB Support in Sage AndersNolberger Hardware Support 10 02-05-2005 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.