SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2015, 09:53 AM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
What's people's experience of Silicondust ?

Hiya

Thinking of picking up the UK model HDhomerun but I've asked a couple of questions on their forums as well as their FB page and I've had no responses. This doesn't give me a warm fuzzy feeling that this is a good company to deal with

What are others experiences of them ?

Thanks
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2015, 01:29 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Odd, i'd they're usually pretty responsive, i'd try them on twitter (@HDHomeRun_US).
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2015, 03:55 PM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
Oddly, they responded after I posted here , must be an influential forum

Don't make me use twitter

Cheers
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2015, 05:40 PM
maninblack_30 maninblack_30 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewston View Post
Oddly, they responded after I posted here , must be an influential forum

Don't make me use twitter

Cheers
I've had a problem with a HDHR and SageTV in that it's not populating the EPG in sage from the EPG embedded in the OTA stream, as I'm in Australia there is no Sage guide data. The guide data in our DVB-t stream is fantastic, however without it Sage is pretty useless. Their response is that they don't support EIT!! every other tuner I have tried works! (I have now virtualized Sage, so I need a network tuner) I think since google bought SageTV they consider Sage as "Degraded" and don't seem interested in helping.

:-(

Fraser
__________________
Server:HP DL380 Dual Quad Xeon E5530 2.4Ghz per core, 64GB RAM, 2x Hauppauge HVR-2200 tuners (4 total) 146GB mirrored system drive running Server 2012 R2, 3TB storage HDD space (7x500Gb),
Clients:1 STX HD-100, 1 HD-200, 1 HD-300 for main TV room connected to Pioneer SC-LX72 with Tannoy MX4 mains, MX3 rears and MXm centre (or center!) and Yamaha YST-SW160 subwoofer, Bravia 55' LCD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2015, 07:38 AM
jafa jafa is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by maninblack_30 View Post
I've had a problem with a HDHR and SageTV in that it's not populating the EPG in sage from the EPG embedded in the OTA stream, as I'm in Australia there is no Sage guide data. The guide data in our DVB-t stream is fantastic, however without it Sage is pretty useless. Their response is that they don't support EIT!! every other tuner I have tried works! (I have now virtualized Sage, so I need a network tuner) I think since google bought SageTV they consider Sage as "Degraded" and don't seem interested in helping.
Hi Fraser,

The HDHomeRun doesn't make use of EIT data itself but doesn't prevent it from being used by other apps.

The HDHomeRun will pass through EIT data if SageTV requests the EIT PIDs (or requests all PIDs).

Nick
Silicondust
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2015, 05:50 PM
maninblack_30 maninblack_30 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafa View Post
Hi Fraser,

The HDHomeRun doesn't make use of EIT data itself but doesn't prevent it from being used by other apps.

The HDHomeRun will pass through EIT data if SageTV requests the EIT PIDs (or requests all PIDs).

Nick
Silicondust
Hi Nick,
Thanks for the reply!
In my case this is not happening. It is the new G4 unit.
I find myself in a bit of a quandary, the EPG works with NextPVR, but not with SageTV. I only get partial data on most channels, and no data on others. I have tried fresh installs on Win7 and server 2012. I have tried fresh installs of both OS's too, still doesn't work. all worked with a PCIe tuner (2 different types)
I have tried all the compatibility settings, still no go!
I'm sure it's a simple problem, I'm guessing it's with the compatibility settings, but I can't find any information on what that actually does. Any help would be most appreciated as I really don't want to go back to a physical SageTV server with PCIe cards!

Ta,

Fraser
__________________
Server:HP DL380 Dual Quad Xeon E5530 2.4Ghz per core, 64GB RAM, 2x Hauppauge HVR-2200 tuners (4 total) 146GB mirrored system drive running Server 2012 R2, 3TB storage HDD space (7x500Gb),
Clients:1 STX HD-100, 1 HD-200, 1 HD-300 for main TV room connected to Pioneer SC-LX72 with Tannoy MX4 mains, MX3 rears and MXm centre (or center!) and Yamaha YST-SW160 subwoofer, Bravia 55' LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2015, 07:48 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
If it works in NextPVR it would seem to be a SageTV problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2015, 04:12 PM
maninblack_30 maninblack_30 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
If it works in NextPVR it would seem to be a SageTV problem.
Hi Stanger89, As I've described it, it "looks" like it, however the HDHR drivers have a "compatibility" setting where you set the DVR software you are using, and it communicates with different software in a different way, and my Sage installs work fine with pci tuners, so my money's on the way the drivers are communicating with Sage specifically.
__________________
Server:HP DL380 Dual Quad Xeon E5530 2.4Ghz per core, 64GB RAM, 2x Hauppauge HVR-2200 tuners (4 total) 146GB mirrored system drive running Server 2012 R2, 3TB storage HDD space (7x500Gb),
Clients:1 STX HD-100, 1 HD-200, 1 HD-300 for main TV room connected to Pioneer SC-LX72 with Tannoy MX4 mains, MX3 rears and MXm centre (or center!) and Yamaha YST-SW160 subwoofer, Bravia 55' LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2015, 04:56 PM
maninblack_30 maninblack_30 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 234
Is there by chance anyone here who is a wiz with DVB-t that I could send some stream captures to who might be able to shed some light on this?
Or any other troubleshooting tips?


Cheers,

Fraser
__________________
Server:HP DL380 Dual Quad Xeon E5530 2.4Ghz per core, 64GB RAM, 2x Hauppauge HVR-2200 tuners (4 total) 146GB mirrored system drive running Server 2012 R2, 3TB storage HDD space (7x500Gb),
Clients:1 STX HD-100, 1 HD-200, 1 HD-300 for main TV room connected to Pioneer SC-LX72 with Tannoy MX4 mains, MX3 rears and MXm centre (or center!) and Yamaha YST-SW160 subwoofer, Bravia 55' LCD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2015, 03:04 PM
dcanova dcanova is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 11
Smile Love It! -- And my EPG works too.

I have been using Siliconedust dual OTA digital tuner with SageTV for years. For me at least, the two compliment each other well. Cannot think of any negatives. I don't think you can go wrong going with Siliconedust products.

Regarding another user's negative experience regarding EPG issues, I TO HAD THAT SAME ISSUE TOO. And I also use Model: HDHR from Siliconedust too. I am happy top announce that I resolved the problem. I have determined that the problem had NOTHING to do with Siliconedust, but with the SageTV Media Center software. Somewhere along the way since Google bought-out SageTV, some of the original configurations became invalid, or changed. I was also frustrated. However, I recently installed SageTV Media Center on a different PC (clean install), but REVISED the configuration procedure per other user's suggestions, and THAT RESOLVED -- ALL -- OF THE PROBLEMS. I got my EPG back, and the Weather too.

HINT: One suggestion I incorporated was to choose a different zip code when configuring the VIDEO SOURCES (on the SageTV Software). I used a different zip code from a neighboring town a few miles away, instead of my own zip code. Later, as an experiment, I tried using my local zip code again, --- but to no avail, as the EPG stopped working. Then I switched it back again, and the EPG worked. Hopefully this additional insight might help those out there who have given up on their EPG. -- THERE MAY BE HOPE for you after all, because I had frankly given up on ever finding a solution. Apparently, THE EPG IS STILL ALIVE, after all.

Last edited by dcanova; 06-21-2015 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silicondust leaving me in the dust? heffneil Hardware Support 17 04-04-2011 01:34 PM
silicondust mpgbuf files ericscottf SageTV Software 1 02-26-2011 11:20 PM
silicondust HDR locking up with Sage7 LaoChe Hardware Support 11 02-14-2011 05:31 AM
A SiliconDust Heads up on the HDHR gplasky Hardware Support 1 02-13-2009 11:58 AM
SiliconDust site down? hemicuda The SageTV Community 2 07-17-2008 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.