SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:46 PM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 59
MVP-Model 1000

I have small 13" a older LCD tv. Thinking of buying a MVP 1000 for it. I can get one cheep but it is the older unit when it first came out with the older remote. Does anybody know if there is much differance from a newer one?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:52 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrofex View Post
I have small 13" a older LCD tv. Thinking of buying a MVP 1000 for it. I can get one cheep but it is the older unit when it first came out with the older remote. Does anybody know if there is much differance from a newer one?
As far as I know the older model was basically the same as the newer model except for the remote control - just older.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2009, 03:45 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,201
Correct. The newer model also added a spdif to the MVP but for your use it wouldn't matter. You could also pick up a newer remote with more buttons realitively cheap from the hauppague site if you want more buttons/better remote. $9.95 remote

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2009, 05:05 PM
TechJunkie TechJunkie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA, Southern California
Posts: 82
I use the very first version of the MVP. Purchased it when it first came out. SageTV breathed new life into it. I use SageMC with without any issues.
The Remote that comes with the HD-PVR works on the MVP with the SageTV interface running on it. So if you have a HD-PVR, no need to purchase the larger remote for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2009, 05:06 PM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 59
spdif

spdif?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2009, 07:55 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrofex View Post
spdif?
Sony/Philips Digital Interface

It can be either an optical or a cable jack out to connect to a receiver to receive 5.1 digital dolby surround sound.
So you would have this in addition to the analog RCA stereo jacks. The older models just had the analog jacks.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:52 AM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
There is a difference in the firmware that makes them harder to get connected. I personally will not use the older ones however they do seem to normally work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:07 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Wasn't there a version that had a coax output as well as composite video/audio?

It may have been branded as something other than a "Hauppauge MVP", but I'd think that under the hood, it was the same.

Matt
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2009, 12:20 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
Wasn't there a version that had a coax output as well as composite video/audio?

It may have been branded as something other than a "Hauppauge MVP", but I'd think that under the hood, it was the same.

Matt
The Coax output was made by Hauppauge for Helix. They work just fine (have one) other than the fact you have to give it a static IP address and set it in the properties (otherwise it constantly looks for the Helix software)

Edit: I should also mention that I still love my MediaMVP's. In fact I am using one right now in my office hooked to a Samsung 20" CRT.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1000, model, mvp


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MVP and Powerline Networking: Incompatible? mdnttoker SageTV Media Extender 24 11-07-2007 12:11 AM
Hauppauge MediaMVP 86001 Rev D3A vs. model 1000 COLO_PVR_GUY Hardware Support 1 08-23-2007 01:31 PM
MVP Model / Revision Questions Xiggy SageTV Media Extender 9 05-08-2007 05:03 AM
SageTV software with Hauppage MVP problems continued dbritton SageTV Media Extender 4 11-07-2006 06:59 AM
MVP Never Progresses past "Starting Application" MrApollinax SageTV Media Extender 49 01-03-2006 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.