SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2015, 06:16 PM
radtker radtker is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1
New Sage Users

Is it possible/feasible for a new user to get started with SageTV (with EPG)? What do you have to do?

From the forum, I have gleaned that you can download v7 from (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56137) but that you need a license to run the software a (possibly a separate) license to use the EPG. Where does one purchase these licenses?

I also gleaned that you can build v9 yourself (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62336) and that it may be a non-trivial thing to do. However, even if you get that working, you still need to purchase a license to use the EPG. Where do you buy that?

Thanks for the help. I'm looking forward to trying this out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2015, 09:26 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Once the open source versions are successfully compiled and running, particularly the Windows exe, you won't need a license to run SageTV.

The old already-existing server licenses can be used to continue to receive EPG data the way v7 & earlier versions did. Licenses can sometimes be bought in the Marketplace subforum, but the fact that they can be used to receive EPG data probably makes them more valuable now.

New users w/o an existing SageTV license will need to get EPG data in another way. There is a Schedules Direct plugin which will be available for that later on. The current version of that plugin won't work with the open source version of SageTV, but I have been working on fixing it and got it working today. I'm sure it will be a few days yet before the new Schedules Direct EPG plugin will be available.

So, the next thing needed for new users would be a Windows exe that doesn't require a license...

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2015, 09:48 PM
cubdukat cubdukat is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Question About SageTV Extenders

Would the product key that comes with the Extender be what I would use to activate a copy of SageTV 7?

I recently upgraded to Windows 10 and I have been using NextPVR to record TV from my InfiniTV 4 USB, but it's only reminding me why I abandoned it before, back when it was GBPVR. It's far too fiddly for my liking.

I downloaded a demo of SageTV 7, but I have not been able to really test it because EPG data is limited to paid customers. I was really hoping to test it out with Schedules Direct, but there's no way to do that.

Therefore, the only conceivable way I can think of to get it working would be to buy an Extender and use the product key from that to activate.

Or I could wait until the Open Source version hits, but I need something now. NextPVR is almost worthless.

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2015, 09:52 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubdukat View Post
Would the product key that comes with the Extender be what I would use to activate a copy of SageTV 7?
No, that was just a license to connect the HD100 extender (or a placeshifter client). the server license is what is used for the EPG data.

Quote:
I downloaded a demo of SageTV 7, but I have not been able to really test it because EPG data is limited to paid customers. I was really hoping to test it out with Schedules Direct, but there's no way to do that.
See my post above. The SD EPG plugin should be updated soon.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2015, 08:33 AM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by radtker View Post
Is it possible/feasible for a new user to get started with SageTV (with EPG)? What do you have to do?

From the forum, I have gleaned that you can download v7 from (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56137) but that you need a license to run the software a (possibly a separate) license to use the EPG. Where does one purchase these licenses?
Since no installers exist yet for the open source version (v9) you have to do a bit of a workaround if you don't have an old license or one obtained second-hand.

It's possible to install v7 and then replace Sage.jar with one built from source as described here. You will still be nagged for a license key but can, from what I understand, "escape past it" and still use the software. However, for EPG data, you'll need to wait for the updated Schedules Direct plugin that Andy (Opus4) mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2015, 10:19 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jm9843 View Post
It's possible to install v7 and then replace Sage.jar with one built from source as described here. You will still be nagged for a license key but can, from what I understand, "escape past it" and still use the software. However, for EPG data, you'll need to wait for the updated Schedules Direct plugin that Andy (Opus4) mentioned.
I think though, and I don't think anyone's had enough time to try yet, that once the trial period expires, the launcher won't launch Sage anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2015, 11:40 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Not sure. I don't know if the license and/or trial timer check was entirely within the exe, or if it passed calls to sage.jar. It's in neither of the available sources, so it's hard to say.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2015, 12:06 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I think though, and I don't think anyone's had enough time to try yet, that once the trial period expires, the launcher won't launch Sage anymore.
Yes, that's what I would expect that you can't use the EXE from the V7 installer after the trial period expires w/out a key.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2015, 12:57 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubdukat View Post
I downloaded a demo of SageTV 7, but I have not been able to really test it because EPG data is limited to paid customers. I was really hoping to test it out with Schedules Direct, but there's no way to do that.
You can use xmltv for the EPG like us non-US customer's have been for a very long time.
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2015, 01:39 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubdukat View Post
I downloaded a demo of SageTV 7, but I have not been able to really test it because EPG data is limited to paid customers. I was really hoping to test it out with Schedules Direct, but there's no way to do that.
Scheules Direct did offer a 30 day trial period when I first used them. Don't they still?? Not sure about their json implementation having a trial period. json is what is now used with the SD plugin. Anyone know?

EDIT: rkulagow (who works for Schedules Direct) would know. You mght PM him.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 08-27-2015 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-27-2015, 02:06 PM
rkulagow's Avatar
rkulagow rkulagow is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 152
There's still a 7-day free trial for users in the U.S. and Canada (for which there's XML and JSON feeds). There's an extended trial for areas that we service using the JSON feed, with the understanding that those may have more issues with the lineup because international is newer for us, so it takes longer to get things resolved.

XML: 12 days of data.
JSON: 20-30 days of data, season/episode information, dvd coverart and other graphics, support for delta downloads (only download schedules and programs that have changed instead of downloading everything every single time)

So, I don't think that this is an issue of a free trial so much as it is that the v9 code doesn't have a Schedules Direct JSON grabber yet, but Opus says that it's almost ready.

And if you're a new user to Sage you don't have a SageTV server key, so can't use the Sage EPG service.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2015, 02:32 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
So, new users using the SD EPG plugin w SageTV 7 can set up an SD trial account and get EPG data for long enough to try it out. The guide downloads data for about two weeks out.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 08-27-2015 at 02:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2015, 06:40 PM
rkulagow's Avatar
rkulagow rkulagow is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 152
Sorry, since I don't run Sage, I'm not going to get into the weeds with you on this.

Anyway, based on what Opus said upthread, the Schedules Direct grabber should be operational shortly with both the Schedules Direct JSON service and with v9.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2015, 07:40 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkulagow View Post
Sorry, since I don't run Sage, I'm not going to get into the weeds with you on this.
I just wanted to be sure that the OP understands that the current SD plugin does work with the SageTV 7 version, even though it isn't ready for V9.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-27-2015, 08:52 PM
gonzo90017 gonzo90017 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
The "Escape" trick only works while the trial is active. After the trial expires the "Escape" trick no longer works.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-29-2015, 11:14 AM
cubdukat cubdukat is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
No, that was just a license to connect the HD100 extender (or a placeshifter client). the server license is what is used for the EPG data.

See my post above. The SD EPG plugin should be updated soon.

Andy
Thanks for being so patient.

I am trying it out with the old Schedules Direct plugin. I tried upgrading it to the V9 beta, but I couldn't get program data, so I uninstalled it and reinstalled the 7.1.9 version.

It's definitely light years better than NextPVR. It's nice to be able to search your EPG by typing in the name of a show instead of the screwy method NextPVR seems to have glommed onto. Only makes me remember why I left it when it was GB-PVR in the first place...

Hopefully the open source version will be ready to go soon. This is definitely just what I need to get over losing Windows Media Center.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-08-2015, 08:31 AM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 468
Guide data question

Here in Australia (along with most of the rest of the world ) we use DVB-T as the broadcast standard to receive digital TV. DVB-T includes (can) guide data and SageTV manages to just glean the required guide data direct from the broadcast (limited to two weeks here). Is there an equivalent of this feature in ATSC?

Before DVB-T came along (and a period where the TV Networks refused to publish their guide data) I used the excellent Stephane's XMLTV importer to import guide data. From a quick google it seems that xmltv data should also be available in the US. I expect that this plugin/application will continue to work under version 9. Does anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-08-2015, 08:52 AM
mwnswiss mwnswiss is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 54
Send a message via Skype™ to mwnswiss
I still use the XMLTV importer, still on V7, but as soon as the 64bit is stable I will try to use it on V9 OpenSource, even on a linux server :-) Will let you know if I have success.
__________________
Standard Intel PC with 4GB RAM Ubuntu 16.04 64bit
JVM version=1.8.0_121-b13 / SageTV V9 latest
HDHR DUAL EU with 2 DVB-C and HDHR EXPAND 4DC with 4 DVB-C
XMLTV using WebGrabPlus in Switzerland
Clients: HD200, Placeshift on OSX (limited) and Windows, Sage Android Client on ShieldTV and Tablets
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-08-2015, 09:35 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickp View Post
Here in Australia (along with most of the rest of the world ) we use DVB-T as the broadcast standard to receive digital TV. DVB-T includes (can) guide data and SageTV manages to just glean the required guide data direct from the broadcast (limited to two weeks here). Is there an equivalent of this feature in ATSC?
ATSC has PSIP data, but it's generally terrible. It usually only goes out a couple days at best, and often only hours, and on top of that it's usually incorrect/incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-08-2015, 11:14 AM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
ATSC has PSIP data, but it's generally terrible. It usually only goes out a couple days at best, and often only hours, and on top of that it's usually incorrect/incomplete.
Damn. Like it used to be here before the Networks came to the party. I don't suspect that's an argument that anyone here wants to pick up with US broadcasters

NB: Here's some perhaps interesting info from the Government Department responsible for such things here. From this it appears that the initial request (vector of attack) to provide guide data was based on ratings protection (or something).

Does SageTV use the PSIP data in any way?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many Sage Users are there? OldPCGUY General Discussion 20 03-19-2012 04:28 AM
How many sage users are there? toony General Discussion 32 03-03-2009 09:17 PM
Any other mce to sage users out there? nebulink General Discussion 1 12-28-2007 07:35 PM
Denver Sage users spockware The SageTV Community 12 04-21-2005 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.