SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2018, 12:18 PM
perfessor101 perfessor101 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 243
SageTV only started 1 of 15 recordings in the first five minutes of broadcast start l

Hello,
SageTV only started 1 of 15 recordings in the first five minutes of broadcast start last night, most were starting five minutes to fifteen minutes after the show started broadcasting.

SageTV V9.1.9.778

Tuesday December 4th, 2018 was the night in question.

The Seeker seems to be continuously high on the cpu utilization ...

I opened an issue on the githubs a while ago about recordings starting after the show started (all my padding is one minute of more earlier)
https://github.com/google/sagetv/iss...pjax-container

I tried to leave a link to a shared Google Drive with all my log files zipped.
(there is about one week of log files, I manually delete them after they're seven days old)
https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...Iv?usp=sharing

I have the webpage saved listing recordings for that day the sagetv and client log files and a few others miscellaneous ones. (all directory changes for media files on my SageTV server)

These were all the shows with more than three minutes missing at the start
W:\BlackLightning-S02E08-TheBookofRebellionChapterOneExodus-32205399-0.ts
X:\FBI-S01E09-Compromised-32178527-0.ts
X:\FBI-S01E09-Compromised-32179002-0.ts
X:\NCISNewOrleans-S05E09-RiskAssessment-32179003-0.ts
X:\TheFlash-S05E08-WhatsPastIsPrologue-32205493-0.ts
X:\TheHeartofChristmas-32189403-0.ts
X:\TheRookie-S01E07-TheRideAlong-32178038-0.ts
Y:\BlackLightning-S02E08-TheBookofRebellionChapterOneExodus-32205494-0.ts
Y:\SaturdayNightLive-ASaturdayNightLiveChristmasSpecial-32178971-0.ts
Y:\SplittingUpTogether-S02E07-PaigeTurner-32178640-0.ts
Y:\TheConners-S01E07-HoldtheSalt-32178637-0.ts
Y:\TheGifted-S02E09-gaMechanger-32188256-0.ts
Y:\TheHeartofChristmas-32188688-0.ts
Z:\LethalWeapon-S03E09-BadSantas-32188257-0.ts
Z:\NCIS-S16E09-TailingAngie-32179001-0.ts

This one had enough padding to survive
Y:\TheDailyShowWithTrevorNoah-S04E29-AndersonPaak-32178041-0.ts

I'll check for windows updates and reboot for the moment ...

Thanks for your time,
Bobby
__________________
SageTV Server: Windows 7 64Bit, Phenom II X6 1090T, Asus M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3), ATI Radeon HD 4290, 2 x KHX1600C9D3/4GX, 4 x HD-PVR2 Gaming, , 4 x 320GB recording drives, 2 x USB-UIRT, SageTV Server Beta
SageTV Client & 2 x HD-300 Extender.
40.8TB unRaid 6.6.5 media server

Last edited by perfessor101; 12-05-2018 at 12:32 PM. Reason: added github issue
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2018, 06:59 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,256
I didn't look at the logs, but generally speaking if I miss the first few minutes of a show, it is because there was an issue with the tuner. I use a cable card tuner with OpenDCT and at least with that setup, Sage will continue to try to restart the stream when there is an issue recording from the tuner. Sometimes this means the first few minutes will be lost for some reason.

Long story short, I doubt it has anything to do with your padding settings. I'd start by trying to troubleshoot your tuners.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (32bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Charter cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2018, 08:48 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
I didn't look at the logs, but generally speaking if I miss the first few minutes of a show, it is because there was an issue with the tuner. I use a cable card tuner with OpenDCT and at least with that setup, Sage will continue to try to restart the stream when there is an issue recording from the tuner. Sometimes this means the first few minutes will be lost for some reason.

Long story short, I doubt it has anything to do with your padding settings. I'd start by trying to troubleshoot your tuners.
That what I was think to but I kind of surprise he not see this system message
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2018, 09:13 AM
perfessor101 perfessor101 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 243
I only get system messages for conflicts that delayed a recording ... or recordings that couldn't get a video stream.

Jeff looked at the logs and there's a 3d layer problem on my system ... it worked before with the default install but the current ATI installer is missing a few things or I missed a few things on the install which is giving SageTV problems. I may have to install from the original CD as some stuff from the downloaded installers just isn't there.

I need to disable the 3d layer and set "seeker/disable_video_directory_verifications=true" and it should smooth thing s out better.

SageTV as I have it setup is also confirming the existence of all media files which along with fastcopy seems to be too much for unRaid.

I started moving around files with fastcopy, but if there's more than one instance of fastcopy running unRaid will get into a smb "race condition". Fastcopy seems to grab a hold of the smb file connection and "locks it up" for faster copies.
if there's only one fastcopy running on the network and accessing unRaid it's ok.
If there's multiple it's taking all the bandwidth and unRaid will completely block all SMB access for a few minutes.

The tuners don't seem to be a problem very often ... when I watch the output of the HD-PVR's on a monitor when recordings start it seems like a good video feed.

Will try Jeff's fix two fixes today and see how things improve.

Bobby
__________________
SageTV Server: Windows 7 64Bit, Phenom II X6 1090T, Asus M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3), ATI Radeon HD 4290, 2 x KHX1600C9D3/4GX, 4 x HD-PVR2 Gaming, , 4 x 320GB recording drives, 2 x USB-UIRT, SageTV Server Beta
SageTV Client & 2 x HD-300 Extender.
40.8TB unRaid 6.6.5 media server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recordings skipping ahead several minutes per second nick_l SageTV Beta Test Software 2 02-28-2014 06:27 PM
Recording extra minutes before start of program notverysage SageTV Software 7 02-21-2011 08:39 AM
Losing 3 seconds of recordings every 1 to 2 minutes jalemany Hardware Support 4 09-25-2010 06:02 PM
recordings start delayed by ~5 minutes? Zarniwoop SageTV Software 25 07-16-2008 06:34 PM
SageTV service takes 10-20 minutes to start White94Cobra SageTV Software 0 11-06-2007 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.