SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2005, 01:12 PM
AWS's Avatar
AWS AWS is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 475
New SageTV Client Build basic question

Ok, I've got the CPU (LGA775 3.4GHz). Correct me if I'm wrong, but I wouldn't need a PVR card in this system just the OS and SageTV client and the SageTV server handles all the PVR stuff. (?) So what I'd need is a good video card that does TV out, right? I'm thinking of going with an nV 6800 (std) or nV 6600 series.
__________________
386DX, 40MB HDD, 5-1/4" & 3-1/2" Floppies, 14.4K baud modem, DOS 6.2 and Windows 3.1 on a Samsung 55" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2005, 01:36 PM
mdmint's Avatar
mdmint mdmint is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA USofA
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWS
Ok, I've got the CPU (LGA775 3.4GHz). Correct me if I'm wrong, but I wouldn't need a PVR card in this system just the OS and SageTV client and the SageTV server handles all the PVR stuff. (?) So what I'd need is a good video card that does TV out, right? I'm thinking of going with an nV 6800 (std) or nV 6600 series.
Correct, Client doesn't need a PVR. I did design my main HTPC Client with one for a couple reasons. Kept it simple and I just use the PVR250s remote. You'll of course need some kind of remote solution for your HTPC. Second was so I'd always have a tuner free for "live" if the then 4xPVR250s in Server all busy recording. Server now 3x250 & 1x500MCE and the HPTCs PVR250 off the analog cable and dedicated to newly added digital cable box. Still use the PVR250 remote for all main Client stuff just fine.

Depending on your desired output type either NVidia series card likely a good choice. I have a 6600AGP using component out, happy with it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2005, 08:03 PM
Toddly Toddly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 93
I have a 6600 GT and it is a nice card and recordings look great on the LCD monitor.You will not need a PVR for viewing purposes. You don't need a PVR card installed to use a remote ,do you? You have a lot of CPU for just a Client if that is all you are going to use the PC for, but it would be nice to do the comskip processing on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.