SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:17 PM
Berg Berg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Architecture - Dual Server or Server/Client ?

I have a couple of questions about the architecture of my Sage setup that I am hoping you guys can help me with.

I am getting ready to setup a dedicated SageTv server and move the recording/commercial detecting/etc. from the main machine I am currently using as a server and client. That machine currently also provide the server for two MVP clients. I will continue to use the original box as my main client.

The questions are -

Should I setup my current box as a client, maybe eventually adding one or two "recorder" license for network recording/encoding, or should I set up two servers now, but only using my current box as a secondary server with one or two capture card providing content to the real server ?

What are the advantages/disadvantages of both approaches ? (and obviously licensing cost is one of them)

How would that affect the MVPs ? Is Sage smart enough to only have one "MVP boot server" in that setup ?

Anything other guidance would be appreciated !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:37 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berg
Should I setup my current box as a client, maybe eventually adding one or two "recorder" license for network recording/encoding, or should I set up two servers now, but only using my current box as a secondary server with one or two capture card providing content to the real server ?
I don't have any experience with network encoders, but I do know Sage Recorder is an older product that I believe is no longer under development and doesn't have support for the newer capture cards. The current way to run network encoders is with another full copy of Sage.

As for how you should set it up I'll leave that to someone who knows what they're talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2006, 05:40 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
There are no provisions in Sage for servers to "cooperate".

-edit

I see Andy filled in the details I was too lazy to

Last edited by stanger89; 08-17-2006 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2006, 05:58 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berg
Should I setup my current box as a client, maybe eventually adding one or two "recorder" license for network recording/encoding, or should I set up two servers now, but only using my current box as a secondary server with one or two capture card providing content to the real server ?
You can use 2 installations of SageTV to have one act as the server + use any encoders in that PC, then the other installation could act as a client + network encoder if there are any tuners in the secondary PC. But, unless you really need tuners in both PCs, you are probably better off having all tuners in the server + an installation of SageTVClient on the other PC.

Quote:
How would that affect the MVPs ? Is Sage smart enough to only have one "MVP boot server" in that setup ?
Only one installation of SageTV would act as the server, so there is only a single server for the MVP to connect to. The network encoder setup will not be a server.

You could have 2 separate non-cooperating installations of SageTV (server), but I don't really see a reason to do that unless you want 2 separate systems that don't share recording duties & details.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.