SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2008, 08:42 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,551
What is the best Sci Atlanta box to use with Sage & HD-PVR?

I am currently setting up Sage with an HD-PVR. My cable provider is Rogers Cable in Toronto and they use SA boxes. In my house I currently have three variations of HD cable boxes - SA3250HD, SA4250HD and SA8300HD. Which one should is bet to use with Sage? I am thinking not the 8300 as it seems to shut itself off at night if left on - it is a PVR and is the one that I am least likely to use with Sage as I will continue to use the PVR features of this box, at least for the time being. I was going to use the 3250 for now - any drawback to that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2008, 03:10 PM
deaddawg deaddawg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
I have the same three boxes, here in Ottawa. The 3250 and 4250 work great with my two HD-PVR's and firewire channel changing. My 8300 is collecting dust...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:04 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by deaddawg View Post
I have the same three boxes, here in Ottawa. The 3250 and 4250 work great with my two HD-PVR's and firewire channel changing. My 8300 is collecting dust...
Why is that - the 8300 sucks compared to any modern PVR but it still has some utility? Do you ever have issues of losing recordings due to the box powering itself down? This seems to happen to me about once a month, I assume it is because Rogers is doing a software upgrade or something similar.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture Devices Gone After Reboot hchucky Hardware Support 6 11-14-2008 10:24 PM
HD PVR in Sage TV - Don't see the component source bops420 Hardware Support 9 08-01-2008 09:06 PM
Connecting HD PVR to computer johnwmreed Hardware Support 9 08-01-2008 08:40 AM
Dropped favorite recording -- with debug logs Surtr SageTV Software 4 02-19-2008 10:48 AM
Tuff decision , I want more HD than Sage offers. davefred99 General Discussion 58 12-10-2007 07:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.