SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:44 AM
by-tor by-tor is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1
General question on using a Tivo remote with Sage

Hello all,

I am a Tivo user that is looking to defect. Before I can do so, my wife has insisted that it do two things more "Tivo like". The first is the on screen guide. She and I both really like the tivo style with the current program information on top, list of channels on the left, and what's showing for the next few hours on the selected channel on the left. I think I can do this using malore's STV. I still need to look into it.

Also, we are both very attached to the Tivo "peanut" remote. Is it possible to train Sage to recognize the IR signal from a Tivo remote to do corresponding SAGE functions (pause, play, forward, etc.)?

Thanks.

Clarke
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:05 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by by-tor View Post
Also, we are both very attached to the Tivo "peanut" remote. Is it possible to train Sage to recognize the IR signal from a Tivo remote to do corresponding SAGE functions (pause, play, forward, etc.)?
With an IR receiver like the USB-UIRT (for a PC) or any of the extenders (AFAIK), yup, you can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:51 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by by-tor View Post
She and I both really like the tivo style with the current program information on top, list of channels on the left, and what's showing for the next few hours on the selected channel on the left. I think I can do this using malore's STV. I still need to look into it.
Interestingly, Tivo's channel guide used to look just like SageTV's... Tivo changed their guide and now it looks like Malore's....
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
general question about firewire recording. bennyhill Hardware Support 0 07-21-2008 05:31 PM
How do you program a Tivo 2 remote to run Sage with Hauppauge PVR150? tvmaster2 Hardware Support 5 08-03-2005 10:46 AM
General Xcard question for you vettejock99 Hardware Support 20 02-15-2005 12:03 PM
Tivo Remote, USBUIRT, and Sage USBUIRT support mikejaner Hardware Support 2 10-28-2004 07:19 AM
General Question Jean-Christophe General Discussion 1 10-27-2004 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.