SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2009, 11:24 AM
gcrow gcrow is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Posts: 17
Can HD Theater wake server

Since SageTV can wake up my Vista Home Premium server PC to record, I'd like to configure it to sleep when not in use in order to save power.

Is there a way to configure the HD Theater to wake up the PC for playback? I can configure the PC to wake on LAN, but don't know what to do at the media extender end.

Oops! Sorry, wrong forum.

-George

Last edited by gcrow; 07-04-2009 at 11:28 AM. Reason: Posted to wrong forum
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2009, 01:43 PM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
If your server can be directed to wake on directed traffic then you may get it to work. Otherwise no, the extenders do not support WOL. It's really the missing piece of the SageTV server/extender setup. You'll find similar threads in the forum for both the HD-100 and 200.

I eventually just had to leave my server up all the time and let the HDDs spin down to save power.
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200 will not wake up server m1abrams SageTV Media Extender 52 04-29-2010 01:03 PM
HD200...Wake Up Server... joelinkup SageTV Media Extender 8 01-01-2009 10:25 PM
Can the HD100 Wake the server? DFranch SageTV Media Extender 21 08-01-2008 10:00 AM
Having extenders wake up the server, is this possible? electron SageTV Media Extender 7 03-06-2008 11:37 AM
Can the HD extender wake the server from sleep? DFranch SageTV Media Extender 4 11-29-2007 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.