SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2009, 09:24 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 683
Question WHS - Network Shares Access

I just installed a trial version of SaveTV on my WHS server.

I am using HDHomeRun Tuners and they work fine. I installed the SaveTV Client on my Windows 7 PC and am able to view, record, etc.

When I try to configure the Media Center Library, I keep getting a problem on "Invalid directory" when I try to browse the network. I have also tried to specifc the network path to the shared directory and get the message that the directory does not exist, do I want to create it.

I remote into the WHS Server and I can access the remote path. (All computers are in the same workgroup.)

Any idea why SaveTV can not access shares on other computers in the same network?

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2009, 09:27 AM
MitchSchaft MitchSchaft is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 717
Make sure WHS has a user on it that's the same username/password as what you use to log in to the client. If it doesn't have a password, create one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2009, 10:15 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchSchaft View Post
Make sure WHS has a user on it that's the same username/password as what you use to log in to the client. If it doesn't have a password, create one.
I created a WHS User with the same name/password as the computer that the Client is installed on. I stopped and restarted the SageTV service.

I still can not browse the network and get the Invalid Directory message.

John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2009, 10:50 AM
MitchSchaft MitchSchaft is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 717
How 'bout rebooting both boxes after creating the user and making sure it has access to your shares through properties/sharing&security?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2009, 10:57 AM
AtariJeff's Avatar
AtariJeff AtariJeff is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 276
The SageTV service on WHS needs to run with the same credentials as the user with access to the directories. I don't have the steps handy but this should do it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2009, 11:16 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtariJeff View Post
The SageTV service on WHS needs to run with the same credentials as the user with access to the directories. I don't have the steps handy but this should do it.
I did the following:
1. Remoted into the WHS
2. Stopped the SageTV Service
3. Changed the SageTV Service to logon as Administrator
4. Started the SageTV Service
5. Use the Placeshifter Client to attempt to add Network Share

I got the same "Invalid Directory" error.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2009, 12:00 PM
JetreL's Avatar
JetreL JetreL is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I did the following:
3. Changed the SageTV Service to logon as Administrator
I got the same "Invalid Directory" error.
Make sure it is an account with a password. (and the same password) *Very Important* for both boxes
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2009, 04:16 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetreL View Post
Make sure it is an account with a password. (and the same password) *Very Important* for both boxes
Here is what I did to make it work.

1. Remoted into WHS
2. Stopped SageTV service
3. Change SageTV service to use Administrator login
4. Started SageTV service

I am still not able to browse the Network, but I was able to specify the Network Path. And that worked.

John
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
invalid directory, network share, whs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200 freezes after all uPNP videos / can't access network shares himay SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 1 05-31-2009 09:28 PM
WHS Sage Server access to shares on another server rmac321 SageTV Software 23 03-11-2009 07:20 PM
Adding shares in WHS Ruger44 SageTV Software 4 08-07-2008 08:56 AM
6.3.8 - Can't see network shares vinny SageTV Beta Test Software 3 02-13-2008 05:53 AM
SageTV and Network Shares ptaylor SageTV Software 12 02-15-2007 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.