SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2010, 03:20 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Why so expensive for overseas shipping?

I was going to order a HD300 at the attractive price of $149 but it's not until I reached the checkout that I discovered that the price for shipping to me here in France by Parcel Post (which is the only option) is $57!!! You mean I don't even get it sent by FedEx, DHL or some rapid & reliable service when you charge more than 1/3 the cost of the HD300? Sorry but that is crazy. I think that I will just look for a HD200 on eBay as the prices have doubtless just dropped a lot.

Last edited by MCE-Refugee; 09-02-2010 at 04:01 AM. Reason: Clarification as to which country (France)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 03:34 AM
teq's Avatar
teq teq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCE-Refugee View Post
I was going to order a HD300 at the attractive price of $149 but it's not until I reached the checkout that I discovered that the price for shipping by Parcel Post (which is the only option) is $57!!! You mean I don't even get it sent by FedEx, DHL or some rapid & reliable service when you charge more than 1/3 the cost of the HD300? Sorry but that is crazy. I think that I will just look for a HD200 on eBay as the prices have doubtless just dropped a lot.
I don't know where you live, but as I am living in Japan I quite often use the service of ExpatExpress.com to send me some new hardware from the U.S. (thanks to the strong Yen). Shipping costs of course depend on where you live (and how heavy/bulky your shipment is), but for me it's usually between $40-$50. It really only makes sense if your order multiple items, for example a few things from Amazon, the new HD300 from SageTV, etc.

In case you're interested, here's the link to their website:
http://www.expatexpress.com/Expat/

I have always been very satisfied with their service quality/speed of delivery.

Hope this helps,
teq
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2010, 04:30 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Thanks. I updated my original post to add the information that it's shipping to France (& presumably the rest of Europe) that costs $57. It's impossible to discover the shipping cost except by progressing right through the checkout & entering all your details. I just checked on the USPS website & even a large USPS supplied box that can ship up to 20lbs weight doesn't cost $57 & that is for Priority Mail. I don't know what size the HD300 box is but a USPS Supplied Small Box: 8 5/8" x 5 3/8" x 1 5/8" with a Maximum weight 4 pounds costs just $13.45 to send to Europe.

How much does it cost to ship the HD300 to addresses in the US?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2010, 04:53 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Its not just the cost of shipping....its also the import duty once it arrives that makes it even worse. For my HD300 I ended up paying another $46 for duty so the total was $250 or there abouts which makes it quite expensive, but its worth it....... I guess

Cheers

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:01 AM
SDeGonge's Avatar
SDeGonge SDeGonge is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 253
Wink Option

If you know someone in the states, have them buy it then they can ship it to you at a reasonable price.
__________________
SageTV User Since 2009
Server Hardware: AMD FX6100, 6 Cores, 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, TA970XE MB, 3TB HD, HVR-2250, HD-PVR, nVidia 9600GT 512MB
Server Software: SageTV 9, Windows 10 64bit, EventGhost
Client Hardware: HD200 x2, INT-422-3 & WR7 Remote
Service Provider: Cablevision (QAM to 2250, SamsungBox to HDPVR)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:52 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Its not just the cost of shipping....its also the import duty once it arrives that makes it even worse. For my HD300 I ended up paying another $46 for duty so the total was $250 or there abouts which makes it quite expensive, but its worth it....... I guess

Cheers

Ben
Paying VAT (Sales Tax) is OK but often the carrier charges a flat rate fee e.g. 20 for collecting the VAT from you whether it's 10 or 100.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:53 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDeGonge View Post
If you know someone in the states, have them buy it then they can ship it to you at a reasonable price.
I don't know anyone in the States perhaps someone could volunteer & so avoid SageTV gouging me for excessive shipping costs?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:24 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,542
Shipping and Duty combined is one of the reasons I didn't get the HD300... yet. It will cost me approx $230 by the time I add shipping, duties, and dollar conversion
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:47 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Its not just the cost of shipping....its also the import duty once it arrives that makes it even worse. For my HD300 I ended up paying another $46 for duty so the total was $250 or there abouts which makes it quite expensive, but its worth it....... I guess

Cheers

Ben
The shipping cost is really putting me off to, 1/3 price of the unit! It seems so small, why the high charge?

How much did you end up paying if you don't mind me asking, the breakdown seems to be $150+$50 = 130, then VAT on this 22.75 and a parcel force charge 13.50 for collecting VAT = total 166 ($255) ?

Also, does the PSU brick supplied plug straight into our UK sockets?
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:14 AM
pvrpenguin pvrpenguin is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 121
Anyone in Canada purchased one yet that can report on the final cost to receive one (unit price, shipping, duties, etc)?
__________________
Windows 7 64bit (2.5 GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 TB storage), HVR 2250, HD300, HD200
Plugins: Gemstone
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:17 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
The shipping cost is really putting me off to, 1/3 price of the unit! It seems so small, why the high charge?

How much did you end up paying if you don't mind me asking, the breakdown seems to be $150+$50 = 130, then VAT on this 22.75 and a parcel force charge 13.50 for collecting VAT = total 166 ($255) ?

Also, does the PSU brick supplied plug straight into our UK sockets?
Unit cost @ 97 + Shipping @ 32 + VAT @ 17 + Handling @ 14 = 160 or $246

Why you have to pay ParcelForce a handling fee I don't know as they've already been payed by USPS (I assume) and they dont do anything as you have to go pick it up anyway. The overall price isn't too bad really..... well I'm not unhappy about it.

No the PSU doesn't plug into our sockets but I just swapped it over for the HD200 and reused the shaver socket I had.

Cheers

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders

Last edited by jaminben; 09-02-2010 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:28 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Ok thanks for that
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:15 AM
emotionnotion emotionnotion is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 238
I just paid $72 for shipping to the UK for 2 HD300's and 2 IR Extenders which is daylight robbery; but what choice do we have in the UK?

Expecting VAT and Parcel force handling which will push it to at least $430 all in.
__________________
Server: Tranquil T7 Intel Atom D330, 2GB RAM, Windows Home Server, Sage TV 7.1.9 (Last version ever ), 2 HDHomeruns tuning 4 OTA channels, Sony 32EX490 Bravia LCD

Clients: 3 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 PS3
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:20 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by emotionnotion View Post
I just paid $72 for shipping to the UK for 2 HD300's and 2 IR Extenders which is daylight robbery; but what choice do we have in the UK?
I guess, we ask Sage why they are charging so much and if there is a cheaper way for such a small unit?
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:20 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by emotionnotion View Post
I just paid $72 for shipping to the UK for 2 HD300's and 2 IR Extenders which is daylight robbery; but what choice do we have in the UK?

Expecting VAT and Parcel force handling which will push it to at least $430 all in.
Too me thats still cheaper than 2 x PC clients and you wont have 1/20 the hassles in setting them up.

Cheers

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:06 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Unit cost @ 97 + Shipping @ 32 + VAT @ 17 + Handling @ 14 = 160 or $246

Why you have to pay ParcelForce a handling fee I don't know as they've already been payed by USPS (I assume) and they dont do anything as you have to go pick it up anyway. The overall price isn't too bad really..... well I'm not unhappy about it.

No the PSU doesn't plug into our sockets but I just swapped it over for the HD200 and reused the shaver socket I had.

Cheers

Ben
Hang on. The HD300 was only announced yesterday. Did you get next day delivery? If so maybe the shipping charge isn't so exorbitant after all. The 14 handling charge is outrageous though. I know that it is possible for the company sending the goods to handle paying customs for you so that there are no nasty extra handling charges from Parcel Force or delays at customs. I don't know how it is done but B&H Photo offer it http://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/Hel...es.jsp#Customs
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:08 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCE-Refugee View Post
Hang on. The HD300 was only announced yesterday. Did you get next day delivery? If so maybe the shipping charge isn't so exorbitant after all. The 14 handling charge is outrageous though. I know that it is possible for the company sending the goods to handle paying customs for you so that there are no nasty extra handling charges from Parcel Force or delays at customs. I don't know how it is done but B&H Photo offer it http://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/Hel...es.jsp#Customs
Ben was part of the Beta that is why he has his.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:08 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
No the PSU doesn't plug into our sockets but I just swapped it over for the HD200 and reused the shaver socket I had.
Rats! Didn't they learn from the HD200? How difficult would it be to use an off the shelf PSU that has a regular figure-of-eight power cord rather than it be moulded with a US plus?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:14 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
The PSU does 240V so all you really need is a socket converter. When I was in DE in July that was 5

B

PS - the actual box is 24mm x 25mm x 8mm
PPS - I am willing to help anyone ship out of country PM me to talk
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:26 AM
Yalbik Yalbik is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCE-Refugee View Post
I was going to order a HD300 at the attractive price of $149 but it's not until I reached the checkout that I discovered that the price for shipping to me here in France by Parcel Post (which is the only option) is $57!!! You mean I don't even get it sent by FedEx, DHL or some rapid & reliable service when you charge more than 1/3 the cost of the HD300? Sorry but that is crazy. I think that I will just look for a HD200 on eBay as the prices have doubtless just dropped a lot.
No kidding...even shipping to Canada is $44 (plus any brokerage / taxes).

Anyone Canadians know:
1) If Sage will ship any other mechanism if you call? Shipping can take 6 weeks for all I care, as long as the cost is reasonable (say $20 or less)

2) What the final price is, including brokerage. If they ship USPS, it should be a flat $7 brokerage fee at most, but I hate having the nasty extra fee surprise that UPS often charges
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little too expensive. JuddMan SageTV Australia/New Zealand 32 07-22-2009 05:35 AM
Channel setup overseas (PAL) drpepper SageTV Beta Test Software 11 02-07-2008 02:47 PM
Update for overseas EPG....Enlighten a newbie MikeJ SageTV EPG Service 8 07-20-2005 02:55 AM
EPG service for military families overseas? drin SageTV EPG Service 0 07-02-2005 01:14 AM
Replicate recorded shows overseas mnovich SageTV Software 3 02-23-2004 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.