SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2015, 08:32 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Live Channels - Android TV

I've been following along closely since the recent AWESOME announcements, and I haven't seen mention of this yet. I am hoping that with Narflex involvement I can make this a reality.

I have moved entirely to Android TV devices including 1 soon to be 2 NVidia Shield TVs and 2 Nexus Players. The Live Channels are awesome. What I am hoping for is that this can be leveraged as a front end for a SageTV backend.

Now I haven't taking a look at what APIs or functionality is available in L or M builds for that matter with respect to Live Channels, but I am hoping that integration with a PVR is in fact possible. I also realize that only certain devices so far, such as the Nvidia Shield tv can play mpeg2 directly and without some sort of a transcoding service this may make this idea a bit more difficult. For OTA however.. this seems like a perfect match to me.

Is there any interest from the community in seeing this progress?

IF So and its not just me, then I will start digging in and seeing what is possible.



~Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2015, 10:34 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Is there any interest from the community in seeing this progress?
Most certainly.

Android TV is a great platform and one of its unique features is the ability for 3rd party apps to implement a TV Input Service that feeds the system's native EPG (i.e. 'Live Channels').

I think that a first version of a SageTV client for Android TV should provide that base functionality. That is, be a TV Input Service that tunes Live TV by talking to a SageTV backend. Perhaps the next feature would be exploring using an Overlay for program options (e.g. closed captioning, record, etc). That'd be a good start.

For those who aren't familiar, here's what the native Android TV EPG looks like using the HDHomeRun as a source. However, using things as-is isn't ideal since Sage won't know that the tuner is in use which can lead to failed recordings.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2015, 03:01 AM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
I've got an ADT-1 and NP. Waiting for Nvidia TV to release in the UK. So I'd be interested in this. Although, TBH, if it's live TV only, I can get that from my HDHR. Never the less, I'm happy to test it

I played around with this a few months ago :

https://github.com/googlesamples/and...-sample-inputs

and the *theory* is that you present a URL to the live stream to TIF and it appears as a channel. I couldn't get it working though (This was trying to stream from DVB Link software)

*edit*

Here's the thread where I tried to figure out the stream URL from Sage http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61994
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,

Last edited by brewston; 08-25-2015 at 03:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2015, 06:02 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,520
I've spent my share of time looking through the Android TV stuff as well. I even created a simple proof of concept App to test some of the features, but I never played with the TIF stuff.

To be honest, I'm not even sure how valuable something like the TIF stuff is. When I moved to SageTV, I haven't watched a live TV stream in years. The only time I've actually gone to the guide in the traditional sense, is when my in-laws visit and I'm trying to find a sports channel to put on

I can see the TIF being valuable if you are actually allowing channels to be scheduled and recorded (ie, a PVR), but for live tv, most of us are trying to get away from Live TV and TV on demand (something that we've all enjoyed for many years) is really taking over, especially with things like Netflix, etc.

If you are looking to provide sagetv as an input, then I think you'll need write a plugin for that. Basically you'll want to register a URL handler that serves up an xml file of all the channels, with a customer url like, '/livetv/channel/video.ts', and then register another URL handler that handles the /livetv/ service and then uses the channel to start a manual recording for the channel, and then starts to stream back the recorded file contents.

I just find AndroidTV so lacking on the video playback front, that I recently boxed up my AndroidTV units and replaced them with Roku 3 boxes. That hurts, given how much of an Android fan I am
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:20 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
The Roku (still) doesn't do MPEG2 at all, so how is that your go-to device?

I might be getting a Shield TV in the near future so I might also be interested in this integration. Although I am probably more interested in "porting" the extender code/miniclient to be an Android TV app which Jeff recently said should be possible and might not be too difficult.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:42 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
The Roku (still) doesn't do MPEG2 at all, so how is that your go-to device?

I might be getting a Shield TV in the near future so I might also be interested in this integration. Although I am probably more interested in "porting" the extender code/miniclient to be an Android TV app which Jeff recently said should be possible and might not be too difficult.
Firsly, I don't have any mpeg2 content. My recorders are HDPVR which produce .ts files (h264 I think).

Secondly, I've given up on the pipe dream that AndroidTV (or Roku) can do anything more than just simple streaming. As such, Roku/AndroidTV units were basically Plex and Netflix front ends.

My main reason for ditching my AndroidTV units were networking issues. I'd lose WiFi and would not be able to reconnect. rebooting would do nothing. If I left it off overnight, and try it the next day, it would start using WiFi again... for a couple days. My Rokus never had this issue, so I ditched the AndroidTVs for Rokus.

I do agree that getting the miniclient running on Android would not be hard, but, getting video playback working on an Android device will be extremely difficult, do do it reliably, as the HD300 can do.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2015, 08:00 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Firsly, I don't have any mpeg2 content. My recorders are HDPVR which produce .ts files (h264 I think).

Secondly, I've given up on the pipe dream that AndroidTV (or Roku) can do anything more than just simple streaming. As such, Roku/AndroidTV units were basically Plex and Netflix front ends.

My main reason for ditching my AndroidTV units were networking issues. I'd lose WiFi and would not be able to reconnect. rebooting would do nothing. If I left it off overnight, and try it the next day, it would start using WiFi again... for a couple days. My Rokus never had this issue, so I ditched the AndroidTVs for Rokus.

I do agree that getting the miniclient running on Android would not be hard, but, getting video playback working on an Android device will be extremely difficult, do do it reliably, as the HD300 can do.
The GPU's just have lesser capabilities compared to desktop GPU's. For example, the Raspberry Pi is limited to H.264 high@4.0 at 1080p. The same limitation that the HD100 has. This precludes playback of full Blu-ray quality video on those devices. As far as the Pi is concerned I don't know what the MPEG2 playback limitations are.

MPEG2 playback is largely limited by licensing. With the Pi the end user can pay a small fee for the license. But since most web content is now H.264 it doesn't make sense for device manufacturers to spend the extra money for a license that almost none of their users will be taking advantage of.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2015, 08:08 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Secondly, I've given up on the pipe dream that AndroidTV (or Roku) can do anything more than just simple streaming. As such, Roku/AndroidTV units were basically Plex and Netflix front ends.
I've been hoping that the ShieldTV would become a new extender.

With the ShieldTV now having mpeg2 support, and always having good H.264 support (I think), what's the limiting factor that makes them unsuitable for anything beyond simple streaming?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2015, 08:31 AM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
I think the viability of this depends on what your expectations are. If you want a truly complete HD300 replacement with all of the requisite media playback capabilities (HD bitstreaming, refresh rate switching) and UI plugins, etc. - then I think that's a ways off. Some of those capabilities would only be available on specific devices and only after rumored upcoming updates. The Shield TV 2.0 upgrade in particular.

But there's a lot that can be accomplished today if you limit the scope, take the "app view" of things, and leverage Sage for live TV and DVR scheduling/recording purposes. Allow Kodi/Plex to handle local media playback - including SageTV recordings until someone decides to take on a native recordings browser/player on Android TV.

As far as Android TV networking issues or MPEG2 questions: the simple answer is to anoint the Sheild TV as the targeted hardware. It's leagues ahead of the other boxes and should have no problems dealing with the requirements around broadcast TV.

Last edited by jm9843; 08-25-2015 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2015, 08:36 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
For example, the Raspberry Pi is limited to H.264 high@4.0 at 1080p. The same limitation that the HD100 has. This precludes playback of full Blu-ray quality video on those devices. As far as the Pi is concerned I don't know what the MPEG2 playback limitations are.
This is not accurate for the Pi. Even my Pi1 can handle H264, high@4.1. It can also even play full 3D/MVC in recent Kodi builds.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-25-2015, 08:54 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
This is not accurate for the Pi. Even my Pi1 can handle H264, high@4.1. It can also even play full 3D/MVC in recent Kodi builds.
Ok, the Raspberry Pi FAQ does say Blu-ray quality video up to 40Mbit/s. At least with RasPlex I have had trouble with most, if not all, Blu-ray titles in H.264, VC-1, and MPEG2. They just would not play without major start/stop issues. Could be that RasPlex had inefficiencies. However, they made changes that forces high bitrate video to be transcoded rather than natively decoded.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2015, 09:46 AM
Korny Korny is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Ok, the Raspberry Pi FAQ does say Blu-ray quality video up to 40Mbit/s. At least with RasPlex I have had trouble with most, if not all, Blu-ray titles in H.264, VC-1, and MPEG2. They just would not play without major start/stop issues. Could be that RasPlex had inefficiencies. However, they made changes that forces high bitrate video to be transcoded rather than natively decoded.
Could it be USB issue/network issue since the PI 1/2 share network and USB interfaces, also both Pi have the same video decoding hardware. Also for mpeg2 do you have the license for it?
__________________
Intel I7 4790k @ stock speeds, 32 GB of ram. 8TB of recording space.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-25-2015, 09:53 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korny View Post
Could it be USB issue/network issue since the PI 1/2 share network and USB interfaces, also both Pi have the same video decoding hardware. Also for mpeg2 do you have the license for it?
Yes, I bought the MPEG2 & VC-1 licenses for my Pi.

Not sure about it being a networking issue. At the time I was using wired ethernet rather than a USB WiFi adapter.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-25-2015, 01:36 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
If you want to make an Android TV extender, I'd suggest porting the placeshifter code to Android. Then throwing away the MPlayer side of it for playback and using the android media player framework instead. It shouldn't be too horrible to implement all that.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-25-2015, 01:48 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
If you want to make an Android TV extender, I'd suggest porting the placeshifter code to Android. Then throwing away the MPlayer side of it for playback and using the android media player framework instead. It shouldn't be too horrible to implement all that.
Yeah, I'm actually in the process of doing that... Of course the existing code is AWT based, so I can't really use any of it I'm currently studying the GFXCMD2 and The OpenGL implementation to see how much effort it might be. Doesn't look too bad, to be honest.

Quick question though... The android media framework sort of sucks. But, for the purposes of the placeshifter, does it transcode to h264 (or some other format) on the server and send that across, or does it send the raw file?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:05 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Yeah, I'm actually in the process of doing that... Of course the existing code is AWT based, so I can't really use any of it I'm currently studying the GFXCMD2 and The OpenGL implementation to see how much effort it might be. Doesn't look too bad, to be honest.

Quick question though... The android media framework sort of sucks. But, for the purposes of the placeshifter, does it transcode to h264 (or some other format) on the server and send that across, or does it send the raw file?
It converts to MPEG4 Part 2. H.264 is MPEG4 Part 10.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-29-2015, 06:32 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,030
I would love to see a Nexus Player SageTV app.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-29-2015, 08:57 PM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I would love to see a Nexus Player SageTV app.
+1 for SageTV app running on Android TV.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-30-2015, 11:42 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Quick question though... The android media framework sort of sucks. But, for the purposes of the placeshifter, does it transcode to h264 (or some other format) on the server and send that across, or does it send the raw file?
If you're on the same subnet, doesn't the server just stream the file to a Placeshifter client?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-30-2015, 04:35 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
If you're on the same subnet, doesn't the server just stream the file to a Placeshifter client?
I have no idea
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live TV Channels Always Start Paused sshapiro63 SageTV Software 1 12-04-2009 08:16 PM
Preview/Live TV fails on some channels VCRUser SageTV Software 4 09-10-2009 02:45 PM
HDHomerun - Live TV problem on some channels linkster99 Hardware Support 6 12-14-2006 03:24 PM
Missing Channels in Live TV Guide MSquid SageTV EPG Service 0 08-11-2004 12:40 PM
live tv studder when other tuner changes channels mcbain SageTV Software 3 03-31-2004 07:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.