SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2016, 06:00 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,241
Hauppauge: Multiple tuners on single device not usable

I just bought a WinTV DualHD tuner and as discussed in the hardware thread, only 1 of the 2 tuners is shown/available in Sage. Other programs can see both tuners. Is there anyone willing and able to fix this in Sage? Thanks.
__________________
-Craig

Last edited by cncb; 10-03-2016 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2016, 12:21 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,241
Anyone? Or is this too difficult and not worth the effort?
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2016, 07:54 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
really not much info to go on there.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2016, 08:32 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
This is likely similar to the issues with the quad tuner that only exposes 2 tuners in SageTV. The issue in that case lies with the way SageTV accesses BDA devices. Not surprisingly we are doing some things "the old way." If your issue with the same, the code behind this piece looks like it need to be re-written and unfortunately, it looks like we don't have anyone currently to take this task.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2016, 12:14 PM
RedR's Avatar
RedR RedR is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
This is likely similar to the issues with the quad tuner that only exposes 2 tuners in SageTV. The issue in that case lies with the way SageTV accesses BDA devices. Not surprisingly we are doing some things "the old way." If your issue with the same, the code behind this piece looks like it need to be re-written and unfortunately, it looks like we don't have anyone currently to take this task.
Is this a problem in Linux as well?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2016, 12:22 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
As far as I know we don't have any interesting problems with V4L devices in Linux and I don't think we have anyone actively working on that either. As far as SageTV is concerned:

BDA = Windows
V4L = Linux
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2016, 06:56 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
As far as I know we don't have any interesting problems with V4L devices in Linux and I don't think we have anyone actively working on that either. As far as SageTV is concerned:

BDA = Windows
V4L = Linux
But then again both WinTV DualHD / QuadHD are not support under Linux
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2016, 01:34 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
But then again both WinTV DualHD / QuadHD are not support under Linux
Time to stop buying Hauppauge digital tuners. I mean, when was the last time they released a tuner with decent stable driver support? Compared the the HDHomeRun's ease of use, they are a joke.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2016, 08:21 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,241
Well, I guess I will go back to using my original (white) HDHomerun tuners. I just thought a direct USB connection to my PC would be better and figured the reception would be improved given the age of the HDHomerun tuners.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-11-2016, 08:35 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I think the original HDHomeRun tuners are better than the current crop regarding signal quality.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-11-2016, 12:56 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Time to stop buying Hauppauge digital tuners. I mean, when was the last time they released a tuner with decent stable driver support? Compared the the HDHomeRun's ease of use, they are a joke.
Both them have very decent stable windows driver but SageTV need major Tuner & Capture overhaul when come to windows.
I know we all unhappy about the Linux driver for newer HD-PVR 2 model which I'm guesting are really the from HDPVRCapture Linux/Mac driver which are non standard.
We all know the only other option are TBS Technologies device you should beware US Tuner market is drying up.
The thing about HDHomeRun is it in diff class of tuner as it a standalone device.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-11-2016, 01:10 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Both them have very decent stable windows driver but SageTV need major Tuner & Capture overhaul when come to windows.
I know we all unhappy about the Linux driver for newer HD-PVR 2 model which I'm guesting are really the from HDPVRCapture Linux/Mac driver which are non standard.
We all know the only other option are TBS Technologies device you should beware US Tuner market is drying up.
The thing about HDHomeRun is it in diff class of tuner as it a standalone device.
Sorry, but I see no reason why Hauppauge should have changed the way a digital tuner card interacts with windows at this stage of its evolution. BDA has been around for a very long time, and I'm certain they could have written their drivers to continue to interact with it the same as older generations. It's not like they actually do more than previous models did. They still tune a stream, and write it.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-11-2016, 03:39 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Sorry, but I see no reason why Hauppauge should have changed the way a digital tuner card interacts with windows at this stage of its evolution. BDA has been around for a very long time, and I'm certain they could have written their drivers to continue to interact with it the same as older generations. It's not like they actually do more than previous models did. They still tune a stream, and write it.
I don't think they can due to the way the hardware is build do keep in mind which it is not a single core per tuner device it a single chip support dual tuners unlike TBS Technologies device which has 4 single core device just like the BlackGold TV tuners
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-13-2016, 06:39 PM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
But then again both WinTV DualHD / QuadHD are not support under Linux
? When I did some poking around online it seems there are Linux kernals out there that supposedly support it now. Didn't investigate it further though.

Many companies are in the (bad) habit of leaving driver development/support on the Linux side to the Linux community itself, so you will never find it on the official site. SageTV isn't the only community that has an interest in those tuners, so it's likely it works for some Linux users.

https://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.p...(ATSC_ClearQAM)

Quote:
Drivers
All 4 tuners working with current Linux Media tree. Included in Linux Kernel version 4.9.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-14-2016, 06:34 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monedeath View Post
? When I did some poking around online it seems there are Linux kernals out there that supposedly support it now. Didn't investigate it further though.

Many companies are in the (bad) habit of leaving driver development/support on the Linux side to the Linux community itself, so you will never find it on the official site. SageTV isn't the only community that has an interest in those tuners, so it's likely it works for some Linux users.

https://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.p...(ATSC_ClearQAM)
When the quadHD first come I ask Hauppauge if they plan to release driver for ATSC/DVB model the and said yes, So it seem your right I know that Linux TV was working on it, but forget check them on it and now it seem it need Linux Kernel version 4.9 for ATSC and 4.8 for DVB, So that good news from this
At this time ubuntu is not supporting kernel 4.9 so it look like that going be a bit longer

Also it seem that the dualHD DVB is support but it seem that ATSC is not at time.
https://linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/H...e_WinTV-dualHD

Last edited by SHS; 10-14-2016 at 06:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-29-2016, 08:13 AM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 508
http://www.linuxtoday.com/infrastruc...027200506.html

Quote:
And now, we'd like to inform our Ubuntu Linux users about the fact that the Ubuntu Kernel Team is currently tracking early Release Candidate versions of the upcoming Linux 4.9 kernel for Ubuntu 17.04 (Zesty Zapus), but, for now, they are waiting for more mature RC builds to land before pushing the new kernel to the repositories.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-20-2016, 09:00 AM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 508
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/KernelTeam/N...ter/2016-11-15

Quote:
We have uploaded our first v4.9 based Zesty kernel to the archive:

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/4.9.0-1.2

It is currently based on v4.9-rc5. We will continue to rebase and upload as newer -rc's are released. For now, please test and let us know your results.
So there now is a (semi-)official Ubuntu build out in a (wider) release (for testing ATM) which has Kernel 4.9 built into it, and should support these cards.

Of course, this is Ubuntu 17 we're talking about, and it's not supposed to be in its official release until April of this coming year, so they're not even really "release candidates" right now, so someone installing it is going to be on the bleeding edge of things for a bit. And there probably should be some additional emphasis on the bleeding part.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-20-2016, 12:01 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
There only one way to find out I may take try it
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-20-2016, 08:05 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
Well as you see all tuner are there
I wasn't able to get Me-TV nor Kaffeine to work but w_scan was able scan the QAM channel
shspvr@shspvr-desktop:~$ lspci
09:00.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23887/8 PCIe Broadcast Audio and Video Decoder with 3D Comb (rev 04)
0a:00.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23887/8 PCIe Broadcast Audio and Video Decoder with 3D Comb (rev 04)
shspvr@shspvr-desktop:~$ dmesg | grep -i dvb
[ 13.548139] tveeprom 10-0050: TV standards NTSC(M) ATSC/DVB Digital (eeprom 0x88)
[ 13.548143] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 13.548144] cx23885[0]: cx23885 based dvb card
[ 13.733943] DVB: registering new adapter (cx23885[0])
[ 13.733945] cx23885 0000:09:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
[ 13.734076] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 13.734077] cx23885[0]: cx23885 based dvb card
[ 13.740633] DVB: registering new adapter (cx23885[0])
[ 13.740634] cx23885 0000:09:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 1 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
[ 14.084209] tveeprom 13-0050: TV standards NTSC(M) ATSC/DVB Digital (eeprom 0x88)
[ 14.084212] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 14.084213] cx23885[1]: cx23885 based dvb card
[ 14.090911] DVB: registering new adapter (cx23885[1])
[ 14.090913] cx23885 0000:0a:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 2 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
[ 14.091052] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 14.091053] cx23885[1]: cx23885 based dvb card
[ 14.097658] DVB: registering new adapter (cx23885[1])
[ 14.097659] cx23885 0000:0a:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 3 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
shspvr@shspvr-desktop:~$ dmesg | grep -i atsc
[ 13.207274] CORE cx23885[0]: subsystem: 0070:6a18, board: Hauppauge WinTV-QuadHD-ATSC [card=57,autodetected]
[ 13.548139] tveeprom 10-0050: TV standards NTSC(M) ATSC/DVB Digital (eeprom 0x88)
[ 13.740858] CORE cx23885[1]: subsystem: 0070:6b18, board: Hauppauge WinTV-QuadHD-ATSC [card=57,autodetected]
[ 14.084209] tveeprom 13-0050: TV standards NTSC(M) ATSC/DVB Digital (eeprom 0x88)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-21-2016, 07:01 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,464
Cool check this out
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot from 2016-11-21 16-51-39.jpg (193.7 KB, 757 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Freeview and Freesat tuners within single EPG emotionnotion SageTV United Kingdom 3 09-28-2011 05:25 PM
Multiple satellites, single tuner vikingisson Hardware Support 4 11-27-2009 10:56 PM
Dish - How to get single tuners? Polypro Hardware Support 14 02-16-2009 04:55 PM
Sagetv doesn't see my wintv ir device jdlaser Hardware Support 3 11-03-2007 09:32 PM
Multiple Tuners, Single Provider robertmcox SageTV Beta Test Software 0 05-13-2003 02:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.