SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:11 AM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
VGA -> RGB SCART cable; flickery image

I've bought one of those VGA to RGB SCART custom cables for ATI graphics cards. After several heartaches I've managed to get PowerStrip to display a usable image on my TV using it; I'm in the UK and used the settings found here:
http://www.idiots.org.uk/vga_rgb_scart/index.html
and left tiling on on my Radeon 9250 PCI.

However, the image is very flickery. It's bearable on stationary screens like menus, but the moment it starts showing TV it's pretty terrible; goes very ugly where there is movement on the screen. Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to what is causing this, and how I might fix it. I'm using the Intervideo decoder in Sage to display video.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2005, 01:32 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Sounds like interlacing artifacts...

Theoretically, a VGA->Scart with perfect scanline matching between the source video and the TV display would give the most solid image, in practice this is difficult to achieve for various reasons...

There are lots of posts on the forums regarding deinterlacing, and a thread which discusses problems with VGA Scart cables...

Edit: deinterlacing artifacts -> interlacing artifacts
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki

Last edited by nielm; 08-23-2005 at 03:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2005, 02:16 AM
yoyoman yoyoman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
There is lots of talk on this subject here, http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=136811 including a lot of cool powerstrip timings. I am using the cable and have great tv quality just a little shakey on small text i.e desktop or internet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2005, 04:10 AM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Thanks very much; I'm pretty sure it must be a powerstrip timing issue. I think I need to find a precise definition of what 4:3 UK TVs are expecting! There seems to be more than one version of PAL, and then there's the question of where teletext resides... nightmare.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2005, 04:21 AM
yoyoman yoyoman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
I am using widescreen timings so I cant give you mine but try this for basic 4:3 timings and play from there

PowerStrip timing parameters:
720x576=720,42,72,134,576,3,28,18,15125,41

Generic timing details for 720x576:
HFP=42 HSW=72 HBP=134 kHz=16 VFP=3 VSW=28 VBP=18 Hz=25

Linux modeline parameters:
"720x576" 15.125 720 762 834 968 576 579 607 625 interlace +hsync +vsync
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2005, 03:25 AM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Those are the ones from http://ryoandr.free.fr/english.html, aren't they? I started off with them, but got a bizarre image - the mouse pointer was OK, the screen was static but a total mess. Sounded like the tiling issue, but turning tiling off made things worse; my 9250 really doesn't like it as with Tiling off even my VNC image was corrupted!

Only going to the 720x540 reaolution suggested on http://www.idiots.org.uk/vga_rgb_scart/index.html has given a usable screen so far. I'll carry on playing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2005, 01:57 AM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Got it to work in 4:3 by messing about with the timings. Since I'm using a Huappuage to capture an analogue signal, everything I capture is captured in 4:3; however, the actual source is often designed for 16:9. When I was using the Radeon's S-Video out I was able to deal with this by manually setting the aspect ratio to 16:9 in Sage - then it evidently does something clever to compress the image to 16:9 dimensions so it looks right on the screen. Well, now when it does that I get the interlacing weirdness again. Curiously the interlacing weirdness seems to be worse when the recording quality is higher, and it's particularly bad in sports.

I'm not clear as to whether this is a sign that the Powerstrip timings are still less than perfect, or whether it's an inevitable consequence of playing an MPEG-2 file at a different aspect ratio to the one it was recorded at, or whether it's something to do with the codec I'm using; it doesn't seem to happen when using the Sage decoder, but that doesn't use hardware decoding and on my ancient machine girder can't get any CPU time whilst its decoding, which is frustrating!

I suppose I'd expect it still to be a powerstrip timing issue; after all, in terms of what's getting to the screen, the computer must just be outputting the specified resolution, and if the screen can't put that together properly that's the fault of the resolution, right?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.