SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2010, 05:16 PM
bradvido's Avatar
bradvido bradvido is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 68
New to Sage, Commercial Skip help.

I've been running BeyondTV for years, but am looking to switch over since BTV isn't playing very well with my Windows 7 boxes.

Anyway, I would like to get Commercial Skip working in SageTV 7. From what i've read it should be as easy as installing the plugin(s).

Here's what plugins I have installed:

Commercial Detector 0.86 by tmiranda
Commercial Detector UI 1.31 by tmiranda
Comskip Playback 2.0.5.1 by JReKiwi, razrsharpe
sagex-api 7.0.21.0 by stuckless

I record all my shows over the air as high-def MPEG-2 files.
Comskip does run and created .edl files, however, in SageTV there is no indication of the commerical skipping being available. The UI is exactly the same, and I can't figure out how to skip commericals.

In setup-->detailed setup-->ComSkip Playback Options, i have Auto skip commercials set to yes.

I have restarted Sage since installing the plugins.
What else do i have to do to?

UPDATE: The UI on my my SageTV server shows comskip info , but not on any of my client installations. I did install the Commercial Detector UI plugin on the clients... Any ideas?

Last edited by bradvido; 11-14-2010 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:08 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
For this to work on a client you will need to use UNC paths for the recording directories.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:09 PM
bradvido's Avatar
bradvido bradvido is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 68
Thank you. I will try that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:12 PM
bradvido's Avatar
bradvido bradvido is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradvido View Post
Thank you. I will try that.
Ok, just tried changing the directory, but when i click network source it comes up with "Invalid: smb:////"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:56 PM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 566
Browsing for the network share that way in SageTV may not work if you run SageTV as a service or if you don't have sharing security configured correctly. Try to do the configuration with a keyboard and enter the UNC pathname of your network shared recording directory manually with a keyboard and see if that works.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 2.83GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u241, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2010, 10:31 AM
bradvido's Avatar
bradvido bradvido is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 68
It is running as a service and I have (and need) password protected sharing for my folders.

I just tried entering it manually with the keyboard as

Code:
\\myserver\share\SageRecordings
But Sage said the folders does not exist. I told it to create the folder and it errored out.

The folder does indeed exist. I'm guessing this is a permissions issue?
Would changing the service to run under a user account that has permission fix it or create other issues? UPDATE-Just tried this. no help.

Last edited by bradvido; 11-15-2010 at 10:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2010, 11:51 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 956
yes it sounds like a permission error. For example, my shares on are on WHS, and user "Jeff" has write permission to the directory. So i run the service as :

.\Jeff
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2010, 01:58 PM
rfeyer rfeyer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 45
bradvito or others,

has this ever been figured out? I have been working on getting comskip to work with Client for days now - no luck. This is what I have done so far (having read multiple threads on the topic):
-renamed the original recording directory name on the server
-changed the recording path to UNC (to the new directory)
-Of course had installed Comskip and Comskip player prior to all this on the client

Any other thoughts?

Rainer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:13 PM
bradvido's Avatar
bradvido bradvido is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 68
I couldnt get it to work until I created mapped drives on each of my clients that mimic the server's drives.

So If i record to E:\Recordings and F:\Recordings on my server.
I create shares on my server named "E Drive" (points to E:\) and "F Drive" (points to F:\).
Then I created mapped drives on my clients named E and F that point to the respective shares on the server.

That's the only way i got it to work. I never was able to even add a UNC path to Sage
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:42 PM
SteveD's Avatar
SteveD SteveD is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 228
I use showanalyzer on the server and unc mapping in sage server. The clients have commercial playback plugin installed to read the edl files. When you get the invalid error "Invalid: smb:////" . Use the \\server -ip address\sharename within sage to to create the UNC paths. The server is not resolving its own name.
__________________
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-10-2010, 04:46 PM
rfeyer rfeyer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 45
Thanks Bradvito and SteveD,

I will try the Drive mapping as a last resort, but would love to get the UNC working.

SteveD,
a couple of questions to clarify my ignorance:
1- Showanalyzer is another add-on program to remove commericals? Is it easier to use?
2- Need to further understand the UNC and make sure I have it correct:

Network is feyernetwork
My server is computer Rainer
my Drive and directory on server is K:\TV\

hence, the UNC:
\\feyernetwork\Rainer\K\TV\

is this correct?

Also, again to mention, the UNC path works fine on my server, and the K:\TV is shared to everyone

Rainer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2010, 05:16 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
K:\TV is the mapped drive. You want to share the TV folder. Right click on folder go to Properties. Go to the Sharing tab and chose Advanced Sharing. Check the box to share the folder. By default it will take the folder name. In this case TV. Go to the permissions button and assign the permissions. By default it gives it to the Everyone group. Give it full control if you want the user to be able to delete the files. Now the UNC path would be \\feyernetwork\TV.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-2010, 05:35 PM
rfeyer rfeyer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 45
So, in your example, I would have to Map the drive? Is it possible to do it without mapping?

Also, I forgot to mention:
I am running SageServer as USER ( .\rf )

The Server is another enigma to me which Fuzzy tried to explain to me once, but I may not have gotten it

Rainer
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-11-2010, 12:06 AM
SteveD's Avatar
SteveD SteveD is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 228
you do not have to map anything on the client . Just share ,the drive or the folder out on the servers as described by gplasky. Then within sage software use the unc path to point to the recording directories.

ShowanalyZer is just another commercial skipping program, I think its easy to use. Its not free like comskip.
__________________
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-11-2010, 11:57 AM
rfeyer rfeyer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 45
I honestly did that. Shared the server drive where the recordings are located with 'Everyone' and UNCed the path (again, the UNC works with the server and with Placeshifter, but not with any of my clients).

Is there something I am missing with the SageServer maybe?

Rainer
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:22 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
What unc are you using? The one you posted earlier is definitely wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-11-2010, 04:23 PM
rfeyer rfeyer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 45
here it is

\\feyernetwork\Rainer\K\TV\
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-11-2010, 04:56 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
If your server is named Rainer and the share you just created is named TV, the unc would be \\Rainer\tv
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-12-2010, 09:38 AM
rfeyer rfeyer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 45
Toricred,

thank you!!!

That made the difference,

Rainer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
comskip


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial Skip Greg2dot0 SageTV v7 Customizations 3 05-28-2010 06:17 AM
commercial skip ripplingj SageTV Customizations 2 06-04-2009 02:31 PM
Commercial Skip joe123 SageTV Customizations 15 01-18-2007 01:53 PM
How to Get Commercial Skip in V 4.1.8(9) broderp SageTV Customizations 2 03-08-2006 02:38 PM
Commercial Skip or IR Input Active when Sage TV does not have Focus proudrooster SageTV Software 3 08-03-2004 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.