SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2012, 03:07 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
NAS Hardware Recommendation

Hi,

I am currently using WHS Server to backup all household PCs (including the SageTV server). WHS has been giving me a lot of problems, so I am considering a NAS hardware device.

The NAS will be used for the following:
  • General File Storage
  • Backups of Household PCs
  • Photo Storage
  • Music Storage
  • DVD / Videos
  • Archived SageTV programs

Sage will NOT be writing to the NAS device. I am more concerned with redundancy of the data stored on the NAS device.

I would appreciate some suggestions. I am looking to make this as maintenance free as possible.


Thanks,
John
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2012, 06:01 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Hi,

I am currently using WHS Server to backup all household PCs (including the SageTV server). WHS has been giving me a lot of problems, so I am considering a NAS hardware device.



The NAS will be used for the following:
  • General File Storage
  • Backups of Household PCs
  • Photo Storage
  • Music Storage
  • DVD / Videos
  • Archived SageTV programs
Sage will NOT be writing to the NAS device. I am more concerned with redundancy of the data stored on the NAS device.

I would appreciate some suggestions. I am looking to make this as maintenance free as possible.


Thanks,
John
Get the HP Proliant MicroServer instead, I've got two N36L models and they are fantastic, if you are lucky you can still get them with the 100 cash back scheme, never looked back.

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2012, 09:03 PM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Hi,

I am currently using WHS Server to backup all household PCs (including the SageTV server). WHS has been giving me a lot of problems, so I am considering a NAS hardware device.

The NAS will be used for the following:
  • General File Storage
  • Backups of Household PCs
  • Photo Storage
  • Music Storage
  • DVD / Videos
  • Archived SageTV programs

Sage will NOT be writing to the NAS device. I am more concerned with redundancy of the data stored on the NAS device.

I would appreciate some suggestions. I am looking to make this as maintenance free as possible.


Thanks,
John
In 2010, I bought an inexpensive CM case with PSU included on sale for <$30 and a dual core atom 4xSATA board/processor for ~$70 and added 4x1TB hdds. I found a deal on a laptop hdd with bracket for <$50 for boot drive. I didn't add an ODD but instead, installed Ubuntu via USB thumb drive. I configured it for RAID5 and it works like a charm.

It is headless and connected via ethernet to my network and sits in the corner of one of my kids' bedrooms. I have shares of music, pics, and videos on it mapped into SageTV. It was incredibly cheap to build; uses very little power; and has had no problems since day one.
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2012, 01:56 AM
newyankee's Avatar
newyankee newyankee is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 45
I use two QNAP NAS boxes, and happy with function and performance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2012, 09:27 AM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
Synology!

They have a variety of models to accommodate your budget and storage needs.

I've had mine for about a year and it's been rock solid. Synology releases updates to their OS relatively frequently. Plus they have a sweet plug-in system / App Store (all are free) for things they officially support and third party developers.

For example, they have a photo sharing app, an iTunes server (it will do home sharing, but won't serve an Apple TV). You can also hook up security cameras, create your own private Dropbox, Time Machine, network backups, music server, and even a basic DVR.

Check it out: http://www.synology.com/dsm/index.php?lang=us

Ask me any questions you have.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2012, 02:57 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by tchapin View Post
Synology!
They are one of the units that I have been looking at. And I do have a few questions:

I intend to backup all PC's onto this unit. I want to be able to restore files, drives or an entire PC. What backup software is included? Can I boot the backup software from a USB stick? Or what do you use?

What type of protection does the Synology Hybrid RAID provide? Can I lose a drive without losing data?

On the 4 bay units, are the drives hot swappable?

When you replace a drive, how long does it take to rebuild the array?

I noticed that a lot of the Western Digital Drives are not fully supported. Any idea why?

I appreciate any help.

Thanks,
John
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)

Last edited by NetworkGuy; 11-11-2012 at 03:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2012, 07:06 PM
SteveD's Avatar
SteveD SteveD is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 228
You could try unraid. There is a free version that allows 3 harddrives. All you need is an old PC capable of booting usb stick to boot the unraid os. 3 hard drives, the largest being a parity drive. See for details http://lime-technology.com/

I have the licensed version with 6 drives and a cache drive. With a combination of 2 T and 1T to get 7T of protected storage. I use acronis trueimage to create backups of my systems.

Has a very active community to add capabilities.
__________________
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2012, 10:11 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Depends on how crazy you want to get with your storage how big a system you buy. Some of the AMD 990FX based boards have an insane number of SATA ports built in. I, personally, will likely be going with a Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5, with an ample 8 internal SATA3, and 2 eSATA3, and 5 PCIe x16 slots (2x16, 1x8, 2x4, 1x1), for the next server upgrade (need to move to something with better virtualization capability than the 785 based board I've got now). To go more extreme, the UD7 version ups the PCIe slots to 2x16, 2x8, 2x4. Compare one of these excellent northbridge based boards, with a lower end AM3 cpu, and it would be a VERY good server to handle a lot more than just NAS duties...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2012, 09:36 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Depends on how crazy you want to get with your storage how big a system you buy. Some of the AMD 990FX based boards have an insane number of SATA ports built in. I, personally, will likely be going with a Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5, with an ample 8 internal SATA3, and 2 eSATA3, and 5 PCIe x16 slots (2x16, 1x8, 2x4, 1x1), for the next server upgrade (need to move to something with better virtualization capability than the 785 based board I've got now). To go more extreme, the UD7 version ups the PCIe slots to 2x16, 2x8, 2x4. Compare one of these excellent northbridge based boards, with a lower end AM3 cpu, and it would be a VERY good server to handle a lot more than just NAS duties...
I have thought about that, but I already have a system that serves as my SageTV, Music, Photo, file, etc server. I am just looking for the most reliable storage solution for backup. (Including this server.)
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2012, 10:29 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I've got extra hardware so I'll be going the unRAID route for storing all of my video files. For music, files, and maybe backups I'll be using a Synology. A friend has one and loves it. You can do quite a bit with them and they are comparable to unRAID as far as what apps are available. The sonology would be running in mirrored mode so I don't have to worry about losing anything.

Since I want something bigger than dual disc for video storage, unRAID is the best choice for me for the simple fact that a comparable NAS would cost much much more.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-12-2012, 06:07 PM
George M George M is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 115
I just set up a synology 412+. I am having a difficult time getting it to work with Sage. I can accomplish it using iSCSI, but not with shared folders. I really want to use Shared Folders, but cannot get sage to see the folders or anything in the workgroup. My network system consists of all Win7 x64 computers with the synology.

Reason I don't want to use iSCSI is that no computer can use the "drives" except one. With shared folders I can connect from any of the computers to add files etc.
__________________
Thanks
GM
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-13-2012, 08:56 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by George M View Post
I just set up a synology 412+. I am having a difficult time getting it to work with Sage. I can accomplish it using iSCSI, but not with shared folders. I really want to use Shared Folders, but cannot get sage to see the folders or anything in the workgroup. My network system consists of all Win7 x64 computers with the synology.

Reason I don't want to use iSCSI is that no computer can use the "drives" except one. With shared folders I can connect from any of the computers to add files etc.
Are you using the network path name? \\synology\recordings

Can the computer that Sage is running on access the shared folders?

What type of error message are you getting?
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-13-2012, 09:04 AM
George M George M is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Are you using the network path name? \\synology\recordings

Can the computer that Sage is running on access the shared folders?

What type of error message are you getting?
Yes, all the computers on the network can see and access files on the shared folders.

Yes, using the network path name when I try to specify the location.

The error is that "No such directory exists, Do I want to create one?"

Here is what I don't understand. I have another sage setup in my other home. On that one I can browse to the Network, and then to the computers on the Network, and then to the folders on the computers on the Network. With this setup I can never get beyond the workgroup. Always get the error without ever seeing the computers.

Again, all computers are running Win7 either 32 or 64.
__________________
Thanks
GM
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2012, 01:02 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
So I think I have settled on the Synology DS413 NAS. I am going to have to add a software backup solution, since theirs does not allow a restore to bare metal. Right now it is between Acronis True Image and StorageCraft ShadowProtect.

Any last thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks,
John
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-18-2012, 01:25 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
...Acronis True Image...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-18-2012, 09:27 PM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-18-2012, 09:29 PM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
They are one of the units that I have been looking at. And I do have a few questions:

I intend to backup all PC's onto this unit. I want to be able to restore files, drives or an entire PC. What backup software is included? Can I boot the backup software from a USB stick? Or what do you use?


[twc] I use acronis

What type of protection does the Synology Hybrid RAID provide? Can I lose a drive without losing data?

[twc] Yes. Depending on the device you get, you can even set it up with 2 drive redundancy.

On the 4 bay units, are the drives hot swappable?

[twc] yes

When you replace a drive, how long does it take to rebuild the array?

[twc] that will depend on the size of the drives. I luckily haven't had to find out!

I noticed that a lot of the Western Digital Drives are not fully supported. Any idea why?

[twc] nope. Sorry.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks,
John[/QUOTE]
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-19-2012, 12:46 AM
newyankee's Avatar
newyankee newyankee is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 45
For what it is worth, don't forget the built in drive image backup in win 7. Will easily image to another drive, and make an optional boot DVD. The restore process works quite well, and I use it to clone OS drives all the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware Recommendation and Issues bhelmick Hardware Support 13 04-30-2010 05:46 AM
Hardware Recommendation Request Pumpkinhead Hardware Support 9 10-27-2009 11:07 AM
Amp Recommendation malbec Hardware Support 1 07-23-2008 12:09 AM
WHS Recommendation gblinckmann Hardware Support 2 11-22-2007 03:34 PM
Client hardware: hardware decoder? specs? natesneat2000 General Discussion 9 10-26-2004 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.