SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:03 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvymetal View Post
With stuckless docker it allows for the bash script sagetv-user-script.sh in the server directory. It executes before the start of of the SageTV server.
Would that work for you?
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:03 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
When you do get the time to look into this, you may also want to check into adding commands to run when stopping the docker container as well. Not sure if that is even possible or not...
Sure
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:17 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvymetal View Post
With stuckless docker it allows for the bash script sagetv-user-script.sh in the server directory. It executes before the start of of the SageTV server.
Is this gone in the new docker builds? It would be great to have it back as I like to run a process to restart all of my extenders when the docker restarts. The docker has to shut down and restart if you use the CA Backup plugin to back up your dockers.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:24 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is this gone in the new docker builds? It would be great to have it back as I like to run a process to restart all of my extenders when the docker restarts. The docker has to shut down and restart if you use the CA Backup plugin to back up your dockers.
It's still in the SageTV docker startup. The poster was asking for equivalent functionality in the OpenDCT docker.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:50 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
It's still in the SageTV docker startup. The poster was asking for equivalent functionality in the OpenDCT docker.
Thanks Keith, just to be clarify, is this still in the sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 docker that has both SageTV and OpenDCT? I don't see that file, but that may be because I have not created it for that docker. I have the file on my old server with the old Java8 stuckless docker.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:54 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Thanks Keith, just to be clarify, is this still in the sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 docker that has both SageTV and OpenDCT? I don't see that file, but that may be because I have not created it for that docker. I have the file on my old server with the old Java8 stuckless docker.
Yes, I am using that exact docker, and the startup script is working. I think you need to create the file containing the script, and flag it as executable.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 01-28-2022, 10:29 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Perfect, thanks.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 01-29-2022, 06:28 AM
rsteele rsteele is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Backing up wiz.bin and properties

I'm in the process of migrating from running SageTV in a Windows VM running on Proxmox to running in a Docker container on my Synology. (The days of me running a home lab for fun are long in the past.)

I had a scheduled task on Windows to back up the wiz.bin and properties every hour.

I'm curious how others do something similar? Do you configure the Docker container with a cron job? Or do you run something external, like for me as a Synology Scheduled Task?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 01-29-2022, 06:54 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsteele View Post
I'm in the process of migrating from running SageTV in a Windows VM running on Proxmox to running in a Docker container on my Synology. (The days of me running a home lab for fun are long in the past.)

I had a scheduled task on Windows to back up the wiz.bin and properties every hour.

I'm curious how others do something similar? Do you configure the Docker container with a cron job? Or do you run something external, like for me as a Synology Scheduled Task?
I don't have a Synology, but I do have a QNAP NAS device, which has a fairly robust backup/sync solution built-in allowing for scheduled backups as often as every minute. I would think the Synology would have something similar.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 01-29-2022, 08:48 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Thanks Keith, just to be clarify, is this still in the sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 docker that has both SageTV and OpenDCT? I don't see that file, but that may be because I have not created it for that docker. I have the file on my old server with the old Java8 stuckless docker.
Don't forget, you need to setup that file to copy over the FireWire tuning commands, otherwise the next time there is an update to the docker the FireWire will break.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 01-29-2022, 09:21 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
Don't forget, you need to setup that file to copy over the FireWire tuning commands, otherwise the next time there is an update to the docker the FireWire will break.
Why is that? I didn't set up anything manually for FireWire tuning, I am using the unRAID FireWire plugin. What do you need to redo every time the docker is updated?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 01-29-2022, 09:24 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsteele View Post
I'm in the process of migrating from running SageTV in a Windows VM running on Proxmox to running in a Docker container on my Synology. (The days of me running a home lab for fun are long in the past.)

I had a scheduled task on Windows to back up the wiz.bin and properties every hour.

I'm curious how others do something similar? Do you configure the Docker container with a cron job? Or do you run something external, like for me as a Synology Scheduled Task?
Most of us using dockers are using unRAID. There is a backup plugin that can backup all of your dockers. I run that on a weekly basis. One issue is that when this runs it has to stop and then restart the dockers, which has pros and cons.

Why do you backup the wiz.bin and sage.properties so frequently?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 01-30-2022, 08:01 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why is that? I didn't set up anything manually for FireWire tuning, I am using the unRAID FireWire plugin. What do you need to redo every time the docker is updated?
When I first setup FireWire tuning, there was a file that needed to be replaced in the docker to have the correct commands for my Shaw STB units (Motorola dcx3200m).

If the docker gets rebuilt then the file gets overwritten. The script automatically copy's the file over from a safe location and replaces it on startup so it's always correct.

I implemented it as it was part of the instructions in a post on these forums. Maybe it isn't necessary with these newer dockers though?
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 01-30-2022, 09:08 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
I didn't have to do that with either the new docker or the old stuckless docker that I installed back in December. The FireWire just worked.

And I don't think I had to do that five years ago when I first installed the docker version of SageTV.

My boxes are Rogers Sci Atlanta/Cisco and they just magically worked without any config whatsoever.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-15-2022, 11:48 PM
GBGB GBGB is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4
Java Differences

Any chance someone can explain the advantages and disadvantages of the different Docker Java versions?

I think a number of plugins are not compatible with newer Java versions?
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 02-16-2022, 09:53 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBGB View Post
Any chance someone can explain the advantages and disadvantages of the different Docker Java versions?

I think a number of plugins are not compatible with newer Java versions?
Java 16 - the latest but given the age of many plugins there is a risk some will have issues. Known issue with the Web Application as it uses javascript which was removed as of Java 15

Java 11 - should support most plugins but I know SageAlert will fail

Java 8 - Only issue I am aware of is if you use the OLD Jetty plugin then there will be issues but these were resolved with the latest Jetty plugin. Likely the most compatible with older plugins.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02-18-2022, 04:07 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Looks like a new version of Comskip was just released, version 0.82.011. Would it be possible to update the docker container to use the new release? The version it is currently using is about four years old.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02-18-2022, 09:59 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Looks like a new version of Comskip was just released, version 0.82.011. Would it be possible to update the docker container to use the new release? The version it is currently using is about four years old.
I van make that happen... Do you know where I can get the new release

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02-18-2022, 10:02 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,565
I found it.

Thanls
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-01-2022, 12:20 PM
randyth randyth is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eugene, ,OR
Posts: 38
Comskip Refusing to Run

I found these new Docker images (thanks!) and have been trying them out in Container Station on my QNAP NAS. The only issue I appear to have is that I can't get Comskip to run. I installed the Commercial Detector UI plugin, which in turn installed the Commercial Detector and Comskip Playback plugins. But selecting a video and choosing "Run Comskip" does nothing.

I do not have these issues with the "old" stuckless/sagetv-build Docker image.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running multiple SageTV dockers on one server wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 4 12-26-2021 10:04 AM
New dockers for Java 9 and 10 wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 1 09-02-2019 05:29 AM
What other dockers are you using? wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 11 02-25-2018 02:08 PM
250gb SSD cache big enough for sage, dockers, VMs? Pool? btrcp2000 SageTV for unRAID/Docker 2 08-13-2017 11:57 AM
Can you run multiple SageTV Dockers on one unRAID server? wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 5 06-20-2017 10:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.