SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 09-16-2020, 02:10 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
reviving a thread from spring. Has anyone heard anymore about this SMR drive rubbish? Is it as bad a problem as some of those reports say for things like a heavy read-write SageTV server box?
Basically, don't buy WD Red drives between 2-8TB without knowing what you are buying. Some models are SMR and other are not, and it's not easy to tell the difference.

SMR drives are OK for storage, but write rates can very wildly, I personally would never use them for active (read & write) storage, only backups of backups, because they do trimming and cleanup in the background. I really wouldn't even recommend them for storage when the data rate matters (SD and DVD videos would be OK, but I wouldn't trust them for BR data rates.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 09-16-2020, 02:12 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Hitachi wins!!!
True, but they have been owned by WD for about 8 years. I wonder if there is a difference between HGST branded drives and WD? And I thought they were getting rid of the Hitachi brand:

https://www.techrepublic.com/article...arket-shuffle/
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 09-16-2020, 04:02 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,190
Personally, I'm sticking with either HGST (RAID) or Toshiba (desktop/external) going forward.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 09-17-2020, 12:00 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Personally, I'm sticking with either HGST (RAID) or Toshiba (desktop/external) going forward.
Iím currently running HGST in two of my three drive slots, but I heard WD bought them out, so maybe that leaves Toshiba, depending on this SMR stuff.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 09-18-2020, 10:17 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Iím currently running HGST in two of my three drive slots, but I heard WD bought them out, so maybe that leaves Toshiba, depending on this SMR stuff.
HGST is RIP it was rebrand under WD and only server drive line is still aorund
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 09-18-2020, 02:11 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
HGST is RIP it was rebrand under WD and only server drive line is still aorund
ĎBrandí doesnít concern me as much as this SMR stuff. WD, Toshiba or HGST are fine, if they arenít restricted by that.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 09-19-2020, 09:02 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 196
I discovered I own an smr drive. It explains the extremely slow write rate. I'm migrating to 2.5" drives and can't find anything that isn't, save for the Toshiba l200, which I can't find anywere.

Manufacturers are starting to come clean on the recording method of each class/size of their drives, Toshiba included.

Last edited by xjim1; 09-19-2020 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 09-19-2020, 09:19 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
I discovered I own an smr drive. It explains the extremely slow write rate. I'm migrating to 2.5" drives and can't find anything that isn't, save for the Toshiba l200, which I can't find anywere.

Manufacturers are starting to come clean on the recording method of each class/size of their drives, Toshiba included.
Yup you are going run in to that with small 2.5" drive as the platter max out at 500GB per disc anything over then will be SMR

Last edited by SHS; 09-20-2020 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 09-19-2020, 09:24 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
I'm migrating to 2.5" drives and can't find anything that isn't, save for the Toshiba l200, which I can't find anywere.
Be careful about using *laptop* drives for storing Sage videos/recordings. In their attempt to save battery life, most laptop drives are very aggressive about parking the heads and spinning down. This usually results in annoying delays and spinning circles in Sage playback. Hard to estimate the impact on recording.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 09-19-2020, 10:01 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Yup you are going run in to that with small 2.5" drive as the platter max out at 500GB per disc anything over then with be SMR
Heck, even the 1tb I have is smr, according to Seagate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Be careful about using *laptop* drives for storing Sage videos/recordings. In their attempt to save battery life, most laptop drives are very aggressive about parking the heads and spinning down. This usually results in annoying delays and spinning circles in Sage playback. Hard to estimate the impact on recording.
'Sage' advice, for sure. I'm using 3.5 drives for recording dir's, but 2.5 for the library. A lot easier to make them portable by popping them into an enclosure when I travel. Thanx for the reminder, though. I checked the timeout on my Sage drives and they were set to 20 minutes. Up'd that to 60.

1tb's a nice size for me. I don't do anything fancy like NAS or RAID. I have several smaller drives (500gb or less), so that if I do happen to lose a drive, it's only a small portion of the library. And they seem to have a low failure rate. I just repurposed a 300gb drive from an old DTV DVR, circa 2007. It'll be a sad day when I retire my last ATA drive. All a proud part of my antique collection.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 09-20-2020, 08:14 AM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Be careful about using *laptop* drives for storing Sage videos/recordings. In their attempt to save battery life, most laptop drives are very aggressive about parking the heads and spinning down. This usually results in annoying delays and spinning circles in Sage playback. Hard to estimate the impact on recording.
I tried shucking 4-5TB Seagate 2.5 USB drives and using them for SageTV and in several destkop PCs. I used hdparm to adjust settings to keep them from excessive head parking. Almost all of the drives died within a couple of years and I have since gone back to only using 3.5 drives.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370(headless via RD)/OpenDCT/CetonPCIe6/HDHR-Quatro/HD300(x6) on Frontier FIOS
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8) WMC: Win7/i3-3220(headless)/CetonPCIe6/Xbox360(x4)
Retired: HD-300/Hauppauge QuadHD/HDHR Prime/CetonPCIe4/AvermediaDuet/HD-PVR/USB-UIRT
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09-20-2020, 09:10 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,811
What are TiVo using for drives, surely they arenít using SMR technology, since some TiVoís have up to six, simultaneous recording tuners...
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-20-2020, 09:18 AM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
'Sage' advice, for sure. I'm using 3.5 drives for recording dir's, but 2.5 for the library. A lot easier to make them portable by popping them into an enclosure when I travel. Thanx for the reminder, though. I checked the timeout on my Sage drives and they were set to 20 minutes. Up'd that to 60.
The power-saving behavior I mentioned takes place in the drive itself. Tweeking Windows' settings won't override the drive's inherent behavior.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-20-2020, 12:56 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
What are TiVo using for drives, surely they aren’t using SMR technology, since some TiVo’s have up to six, simultaneous recording tuners...
if it an 2.5" then is most likely it the tall 15mm drives that holds up to 5 platter up to 3TB or tad bit a more but I think your ref to Toshiba 2.5 3TB MQ03ABB300 or MQ03UBB300 which has 4 750GB platter 8 head but there really unknow drive but I thought TiVo was using standard 3.5" drive.

Your better off 2TB SSD or can afford it 4TB as they come way down in price

Last edited by SHS; 09-21-2020 at 01:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-20-2020, 10:09 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
The power-saving behavior I mentioned takes place in the drive itself. Tweeking Windows' settings won't override the drive's inherent behavior.
Right. I was referring to my 3.5 recording hd's. But I do consider any auto spin-down on 2.5's a plus for my use. My library drives sit idle most of the time anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
What are TiVo using for drives, surely they aren’t using SMR technology, since some TiVo’s have up to six, simultaneous recording tuners...
Found this on the Tivo forum, fwiw:
https://www.tivocommunity.com/commun...#post-12091700

Some specs on the WD Black series:
https://documents.westerndigital.com...ack-pc-hdd.pdf

Last edited by xjim1; 09-20-2020 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-20-2020, 10:28 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
Right. I was referring to my 3.5 recording hd's. But I do consider any auto spin-down on 2.5's a plus for my use. My library drives sit idle most of the time anyway.

Found this on the Tivo forum, fwiw:
https://www.tivocommunity.com/commun...#post-12091700

Some specs on the WD Black series:
https://documents.westerndigital.com...ack-pc-hdd.pdf
Good find - lots of SMR discussion and possible solutions
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 10-04-2020, 07:45 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,811
Found this article from April passed. WD seems to be releasing more info about SMR drives:

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/wd...smr-techNOLOGY
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7.1.5 & BD From Hard Drive Polypro SageTV Beta Test Software 4 03-27-2011 07:18 PM
2TB Hard Drive wrems Hardware Support 35 06-02-2010 11:57 AM
New Hard Drive viperdiablo Hardware Support 1 02-15-2010 11:33 PM
Hard drive gone bad flavius Hardware Support 3 03-26-2007 10:29 AM
Recording drive question (calling all hard drive experts!) Kirby Hardware Support 4 07-17-2006 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.