SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2010, 12:01 AM
valerio valerio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
NVidia Tweaks For Smooth Playback

After the upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium final version, I noticed that if many times the GUI highlight transitions were not as smooth as before and the playback was kind of jerky as well.

After searching the Web for some clue, I came across some game users experiencing the same issues with some NVidia video cards (I have a GE Force 9800GT). The solution is to apply some tweaks in the NVIdia control panel:

3D Settings
Max Pre-Rendered Frames = 0
Mulit-Display/Mix GPU Acceleration = Sigle Display Performance Mode
Texture Filtering Quality = High Performance
Antialiasing Mode = Off

This did it for me.

Valerio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2010, 09:05 AM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 256
There are a few more settings you can tweak with depending on how fast your graphics card is:
Anisotropic filtering = off
vertical sync (vsync) = force-on (gets rid of tearing, a must if you ask me)

Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2010, 09:41 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,801
This has always been an area that never gets discussed. Do driver settings matter and can they be tweaked for HTPC applications. Other than IVTC and deinterlacing options, I've never messed with the driver other than setting "Let 3D Application Decide".

P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2010, 01:50 PM
valerio valerio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
Thank Thomas Wischgol I checked the other settings and I had Anisotropic filtering already off and now I set vertical sync to force-on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2010, 08:33 AM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
This has always been an area that never gets discussed. Do driver settings matter and can they be tweaked for HTPC applications. Other than IVTC and deinterlacing options, I've never messed with the driver other than setting "Let 3D Application Decide".

P
Tweaking these settings becomes important if you use a slower graphics card. Back when I was using my server to also watch TV, which only had an Nvidia 7600 GS, I had to disable anisotropic filtering and antialiasing to get smooth playback. If your graphics card is plenty fast it may not matter that much. However, I noticed that when I changed to a Vista-based SageClient that I definitely had to change v-sync to force-on because otherwise I would get tearing issues.

Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:21 PM
GollyJer's Avatar
GollyJer GollyJer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by valerio View Post
After the upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium final version, I noticed that if many times the GUI highlight transitions were not as smooth as before...
This is interesting. What do you mean by GUI highlight transitions? Do you mean navigating from screen to screen and item to item within the UI? I don't have any problem with playback jerkiness and don't really think the UI it's bad. But, it could always be better. Have you guys read about any ATI settings that might speed up those transitions?

Thanks.
__________________
Currently using SageTV Media Center Server on Windows 7, SageTV Client as an HTPC on Windows 7, and an HD Theater HD200. The server controls 3 Motorola DCH-3200 cable boxes and 3 Hauppauge HD-PVRs (all Rev F1) with HD audio and changes channels via firewire WITH NO LOCKUPS. It's awesome.
4 Steps to Perfect Stutter Free Playback for SageTV
Quick Guide: How to Bitstream Audio in Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2011, 05:33 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
Just gave these a try. I am amazed that i get freezing with a 1gb 9600gt and a 2.6ghz dual core, but so is life. Hopefully these will help.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2011, 06:51 PM
GollyJer's Avatar
GollyJer GollyJer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by jptheripper View Post
Just gave these a try. I am amazed that i get freezing with a 1gb 9600gt and a 2.6ghz dual core, but so is life. Hopefully these will help.
There's no way you should have stuttering. I used an 8600GT for two years without issue. There's a configuration that will work. You just have to find it.
__________________
Currently using SageTV Media Center Server on Windows 7, SageTV Client as an HTPC on Windows 7, and an HD Theater HD200. The server controls 3 Motorola DCH-3200 cable boxes and 3 Hauppauge HD-PVRs (all Rev F1) with HD audio and changes channels via firewire WITH NO LOCKUPS. It's awesome.
4 Steps to Perfect Stutter Free Playback for SageTV
Quick Guide: How to Bitstream Audio in Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2011, 08:10 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
I know its a config issue, i just cant find it. Very frustrating. Almost buy an hd300 frustrating.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2019, 04:34 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by valerio View Post
After the upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium final version, I noticed that if many times the GUI highlight transitions were not as smooth as before and the playback was kind of jerky as well.

After searching the Web for some clue, I came across some game users experiencing the same issues with some NVidia video cards (I have a GE Force 9800GT). The solution is to apply some tweaks in the NVIdia control panel:

3D Settings
Max Pre-Rendered Frames = 0
Mulit-Display/Mix GPU Acceleration = Sigle Display Performance Mode
Texture Filtering Quality = High Performance
Antialiasing Mode = Off

This did it for me.

Valerio
I can't find a way to set max pre-rendered frames to 0. Now it's 1,2,3,4 or let the software decide. :P
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV-quadHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-18-2019, 08:12 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I can't find a way to set max pre-rendered frames to 0. Now it's 1,2,3,4 or let the software decide. :P
Wow... You are aware that you're responding to a thread which occurred before SageTV was bought by Google, back when this place was hopping... right? It's likely many in this thread ditched SageTV like 5+ years ago...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-20-2019, 03:02 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Wow... You are aware that you're responding to a thread which occurred before SageTV was bought by Google, back when this place was hopping... right? It's likely many in this thread ditched SageTV like 5+ years ago...
True. I posted about this issue in Windows 64 bit Installer news. I was a little surprised nobody rebuffed me for that. It is still the last post in there! I was able to get the 64-bit version working passably by changing back to my old HIS 6570 Silent card and using VMR9 and Full Screen Exclusive mode. That 6570 isn't half as good as the EVGA GT 1030SC, but the driver isn't giving me as much grief. I'm also missing EVR in the 64-bit version.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV-quadHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The never-ending quest for smooth playback pgman SageTV Software 17 01-02-2010 08:01 AM
Silky Smooth h.264 Playback??? eopian Hardware Support 5 01-21-2009 05:05 PM
Not so smooth HD playback craigap SageTV Software 11 01-27-2008 03:27 PM
Smooth HD playback? Muchacho SageTV Software 10 10-24-2007 07:20 AM
Video playback quality tweaks tsitalon1 SageTV Software 6 11-14-2006 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.