SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2022, 07:00 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 258
Recommendation for HD300 video output resolution

I have got a really nice Denon AVR-X2600H receiver and I would prefer that the Denon receiver does any type of resolution scaling.

Connections

HD300 - HDMI - Denon Receiver - HDMI - 1080p Plasma TV

When I was digging into the HD300 working on another issue I saw the Output Resolution in Advanced Setup - Multimedia, and I had it set to 1080p.

Which to me means that any signal coming into the HD300 (480i, 720p, 1080i) was going to be scaled to 1080p before it was output to my receiver.

I have no idea why I had it set to that. But I had to have done it, and it got me to thinking.

I have no idea what video scaling chip is in the HD300 from back when it was built but I am pretty sure that the hardware in the Denon is WAY better at handling video.

Since there does not seem to be any video passthru are there any suggestions on what to set the HD300 Output Resolution to?

When I select it the options are:

720x480i@59.94
720x480p@59.94
1280x720p@59.94
1920x1080p@23.976
1920x1080i@59.94 <-- Currently set it to this.
1920x1080p@59.94

Any HD signals will be 720p or 1080i.

The Denon Receiver is set to output at 1080p to the Plasma TV.
__________________
SageTV running on: Win10 21H2
SageTV 9.2.6.976 (64 bit)
Java 1.8.0 311 (64 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.32 (64 bit)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20220822 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
HDFX-4K Flex 20220822 (OTA) - 4 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2022, 08:56 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,382
It's been a while since I was in that HD-300 menu, but I believe you can check multiple output resolutions. So simply check them all and the extender will output the native resolution and allow your receiver to do any upscaling.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2022, 09:26 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,409
Can your receiver upscale to 2160p (aka 4K)? If so, have you tried that? Maybe that will look even better? Have the extender pass out the native resolution as mentioned in the previous thread, and then have the receiver scale up to 2160p.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2022, 09:31 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Can your receiver upscale to 2160p (aka 4K)? If so, have you tried that? Maybe that will look even better? Have the extender pass out the native resolution as mentioned in the previous thread, and then have the receiver scale up to 2160p.
Not sure if his plasma TV will handle a 2160p input.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2022, 10:49 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Not sure if his plasma TV will handle a 2160p input.
My bad! I missed the Plasma 1080p from the original post.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2022, 03:25 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Not sure if his plasma TV will handle a 2160p input.
heh not likely. My Samsung F8500 plasma from 2013 certainly won't.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300-How do I make output resolution stick? Ron SageTV Media Extender 3 01-17-2012 08:46 PM
How can I set output video resolution to auto rdefino SageTV Media Extender 1 01-16-2011 04:57 PM
HD300 Won't Save Output Resolution wmstonetn SageTV Media Extender 3 12-24-2010 09:08 AM
HD300 source output resolution default selection wildgoose SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 11 11-05-2010 02:09 PM
HD300 video resolution for playing movies notverysage SageTV Beta Test Software 11 10-07-2010 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.