SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2801  
Old 11-23-2020, 11:34 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
@ENE:
I find that my WMC provided channels are throwing an error in OpenDCT
This morning I remembered that I had a test instance of Sage and OpenDCT on a Windows VM. I got that working, and for now, it provides streaming of WMC to my production SageTV instance on Unraid. The OpenDCT version on the VM is 0.5.29

I then examined the two properties files comparing Windows to Unraid's version for the WMC tuner. I made sure that the WMC tuner configuration was the same for both Windows and Unraid.
I am still getting the following messages from the 0.5.31 version on Unraid:
12:23:13.129 [SageTVRequestHandler-76:GenIP2] ERROR SageTVRequestHandler - SageTV sent: 'BUFFER GenIP2 HDMI|1203977263|1840|16777216|/var/media/tv/GenIP2ontruncheonhome9000HDMI-0.mpgbuf|Great-H.264', Replied: 'ERROR Device Start Failed'
12:23:13.129 [SageTVRequestHandler-76:GenIP2] ERROR SageTVRequestHandler - Unexpected exception while starting buffered network encoder to filename '/var/media/tv/GenIP2ontruncheonhome9000HDMI-0.mpgbuf' => java.lang.NullPointerException
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.startEncodingSync(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:346)
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.startEncoding(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:305)
at opendct.sagetv.SageTVRequestHandler.run(SageTVRequestHandler.java:301)
at opendct.util.ThreadPool$1.run(ThreadPool.java:39)
at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Executors.java:511)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1142)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:617)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

So for now, I'll keep the Windows version running for WMC, until I can get it working on Unraid again.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #2802  
Old 11-24-2020, 09:55 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,637
OpenDCT 0.5.32-Stable


  • Fixed full pointer exception when producer doesn't exist for HTTP.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2803  
Old 11-24-2020, 09:59 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
This morning I remembered that I had a test instance of Sage and OpenDCT on a Windows VM. I got that working, and for now, it provides streaming of WMC to my production SageTV instance on Unraid. The OpenDCT version on the VM is 0.5.29

I then examined the two properties files comparing Windows to Unraid's version for the WMC tuner. I made sure that the WMC tuner configuration was the same for both Windows and Unraid.
I am still getting the following messages from the 0.5.31 version on Unraid:
12:23:13.129 [SageTVRequestHandler-76:GenIP2] ERROR SageTVRequestHandler - SageTV sent: 'BUFFER GenIP2 HDMI|1203977263|1840|16777216|/var/media/tv/GenIP2ontruncheonhome9000HDMI-0.mpgbuf|Great-H.264', Replied: 'ERROR Device Start Failed'
12:23:13.129 [SageTVRequestHandler-76:GenIP2] ERROR SageTVRequestHandler - Unexpected exception while starting buffered network encoder to filename '/var/media/tv/GenIP2ontruncheonhome9000HDMI-0.mpgbuf' => java.lang.NullPointerException
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.startEncodingSync(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:346)
at opendct.capture.GenericHttpCaptureDevice.startEncoding(GenericHttpCaptureDevice.java:305)
at opendct.sagetv.SageTVRequestHandler.run(SageTVRequestHandler.java:301)
at opendct.util.ThreadPool$1.run(ThreadPool.java:39)
at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Executors.java:511)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1142)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:617)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

So for now, I'll keep the Windows version running for WMC, until I can get it working on Unraid again.
I created a problem for you with the latest update. I believe all you will need to do is restart the OpenDCT docker container and it will update to this version with the fix in it.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2804  
Old 11-24-2020, 08:17 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I created a problem for you with the latest update. I believe all you will need to do is restart the OpenDCT docker container and it will update to this version with the fix in it.
Many thanks. I appreciate it. I will give it a try and get back to you if there are problems.

Edit.
It worked. In the Unraid log I saw the new version download and unpack. After the restart, I tested a channel and it appeared. Thanks again.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA

Last edited by egeller; 11-24-2020 at 08:48 PM. Reason: Reported update.
Reply With Quote
  #2805  
Old 11-26-2020, 06:27 PM
gordyp's Avatar
gordyp gordyp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 57
Is Service Able to Honor Previous Install's Account

I was wondering if it is possible when updating the OpenDCT software from a previous version, to have the installer check/use the same account as the previous install, rather than defaulting to the SYSTEM account as it currently does. Since it had been awhile since the last update, I had forgotten that I had changed to a local account for the Sage and OpenDCT services, so after installing 0.5.31 last week nothing worked until I realized the issue...

Thanks!
__________________
SageTV Server:
i5-3470, 24GB, Radeon R7-240 2GB, 12TB, Win10 Pro 20H2, HDHR PRIME for Xfinity with OpenDCT 0.5.32; HDHR Connect Duo for OTA, Java: 64-bit 1.8.0_271, SageTV x64 9.2.2.903
SageTV Client:
i5-6600K, 16GB, GeForce GT730 2GB, Win10 Pro 20H2, Java: 64-bit 1.8.0_271, SageTV x64 9.2.2.903
Reply With Quote
  #2806  
Old 11-27-2020, 09:12 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordyp View Post
I was wondering if it is possible when updating the OpenDCT software from a previous version, to have the installer check/use the same account as the previous install, rather than defaulting to the SYSTEM account as it currently does. Since it had been awhile since the last update, I had forgotten that I had changed to a local account for the Sage and OpenDCT services, so after installing 0.5.31 last week nothing worked until I realized the issue...

Thanks!
I wasn't aware that the installer was resetting the account for the service. The installer is built using the WiX Toolset. It uses the InstallService element to add the service to Windows. The only way around this that I can see is to use a CustomAction instead which in this case feels like the wrong tool for the job. Maybe some kind of juggling with parameters can make it possible with the current implementation, but I'll need to think about it.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2807  
Old 11-27-2020, 10:08 PM
gordyp's Avatar
gordyp gordyp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I wasn't aware that the installer was resetting the account for the service. The installer is built using the WiX Toolset. It uses the InstallService element to add the service to Windows. The only way around this that I can see is to use a CustomAction instead which in this case feels like the wrong tool for the job. Maybe some kind of juggling with parameters can make it possible with the current implementation, but I'll need to think about it.
Maybe a short-term (easier) fix would be to just add a caveat to the installation notes to the effect that if the user is using something other than the SYSTEM account for the Sage service, that the OpenDCT service has to be set to use the same account - I assume most users just use the default SYSTEM account and it is not an issue.

Thanks!
__________________
SageTV Server:
i5-3470, 24GB, Radeon R7-240 2GB, 12TB, Win10 Pro 20H2, HDHR PRIME for Xfinity with OpenDCT 0.5.32; HDHR Connect Duo for OTA, Java: 64-bit 1.8.0_271, SageTV x64 9.2.2.903
SageTV Client:
i5-6600K, 16GB, GeForce GT730 2GB, Win10 Pro 20H2, Java: 64-bit 1.8.0_271, SageTV x64 9.2.2.903
Reply With Quote
  #2808  
Old Yesterday, 08:09 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordyp View Post
Maybe a short-term (easier) fix would be to just add a caveat to the installation notes to the effect that if the user is using something other than the SYSTEM account for the Sage service, that the OpenDCT service has to be set to use the same account - I assume most users just use the default SYSTEM account and it is not an issue.

Thanks!
That's actually not true unless you tell it to write the files directly. By default OpenDCT uses the network encoder upload feature which makes OpenDCT stream directly to SageTV. SageTV is then able to do anything with that stream that it has permission to do. Directly writing to files was originally the default, but more often than not, streaming directly to the SageTV service is the most trouble-free configuration.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2809  
Old Yesterday, 09:10 PM
gordyp's Avatar
gordyp gordyp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
That's actually not true unless you tell it to write the files directly. By default OpenDCT uses the network encoder upload feature which makes OpenDCT stream directly to SageTV. SageTV is then able to do anything with that stream that it has permission to do. Directly writing to files was originally the default, but more often than not, streaming directly to the SageTV service is the most trouble-free configuration.
Unfortunately enabling those parameters disables subtitling (I knew those params looked familiar!), as @nyplayer advised me last July when I was trying to figure out an issue with subtitles not working (https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66413). Now I just need to figure out what plugins aren't playing nice and lock up Sage when I try to use the Program Guide to tune live TV...
__________________
SageTV Server:
i5-3470, 24GB, Radeon R7-240 2GB, 12TB, Win10 Pro 20H2, HDHR PRIME for Xfinity with OpenDCT 0.5.32; HDHR Connect Duo for OTA, Java: 64-bit 1.8.0_271, SageTV x64 9.2.2.903
SageTV Client:
i5-6600K, 16GB, GeForce GT730 2GB, Win10 Pro 20H2, Java: 64-bit 1.8.0_271, SageTV x64 9.2.2.903
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner & SageTV nyle Hardware Support 4 02-17-2009 10:12 PM
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner rajczi Hardware Support 4 01-14-2008 08:24 PM
ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner dadams Hardware Support 4 01-09-2007 10:55 AM
Digital Cable - one guide - need HD on one tuner reg tv on other Kimper SageTV Beta Test Software 14 11-27-2006 08:15 PM
Multi-tuner Digital Cable mlbdude SageTV Software 0 06-26-2003 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.