SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2701  
Old 12-18-2019, 12:17 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 335
@sic0048 are you using the dynamic or raw consumer?
Reply With Quote
  #2702  
Old 12-18-2019, 03:13 PM
dapharsyde dapharsyde is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by emveepee View Post
@dapharsyde although possibly not related to your problem, I see an issue in your logs perhaps with my understanding of the protocal. OpenDCT is trying to create a file to tell us about the DRM issue instead of streaming it over the Media port.

I was passing a filename 'stdout' as reference for myself thinking it was never used, maybe this has to be a valid filename on the server.

Back to my post, I will try to simplify the question. Are any SageTV users using the Ceton device and can it take 20 or 30 seconds on some channels (other than Music Choice)?

Martin
Yea I did notice that too, but I think it is unrelated to the tuning problem. I also have to apologize, the slow tuning behavior I was seeing before is probably a red herring.

The bigger issue I'm having is that tuning to the same channel sometimes reports it as Copy Free, but at other times it is Copy Never. Unfortunately I don't know enough about how the DRM works, but this seems like strange unexpected behavior that could be worked around.

I am happy to provide additional log files if necessary, if somebody could help with this.
Reply With Quote
  #2703  
Old 12-26-2019, 09:42 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by dapharsyde View Post
Yea I did notice that too, but I think it is unrelated to the tuning problem. I also have to apologize, the slow tuning behavior I was seeing before is probably a red herring.

The bigger issue I'm having is that tuning to the same channel sometimes reports it as Copy Free, but at other times it is Copy Never. Unfortunately I don't know enough about how the DRM works, but this seems like strange unexpected behavior that could be worked around.

I am happy to provide additional log files if necessary, if somebody could help with this.
If you're using the older 4 tuner Ceton model, the issue you're running into is related to analog copy protection flags. They are often discovered a few seconds into streaming and do not always exist; that's why everything seems fine until it isn't. Ceton never put out a firmware that removed that no longer required enforcement for the 4 tuner model. The 6 tuner model on the latest firmware will ignore this flag. If you want to disable the copy protection notifications, you can change error_videos_enabled=true to error_videos_enabled=false in opendct.properties (be sure to stop the service before changing this).
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2704  
Old 02-17-2020, 02:38 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 234
Can someone take a look into these logs to help me determine where to start looking for the cause.

I can no longer get through a recording without it stopping and starting again, causing sage to create multiple video files.

The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)
Attached Files
File Type: zip opendct.2020-02-17-2.log.zip (224.8 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2705  
Old 02-17-2020, 07:20 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)
I use UniFi gear and I have UPnP disabled and I don't have any issues.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #2706  
Old 02-21-2020, 07:52 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
Can someone take a look into these logs to help me determine where to start looking for the cause.

I can no longer get through a recording without it stopping and starting again, causing sage to create multiple video files.

The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)
UPnP on the router isn't going to matter since we don't attempt to automatically open ports to the internet. The SageTV logs might help too since it looks like SageTV is telling OpenDCT to stop and start again. Prior to being told to stop, OpenDCT doesn't appear to be seeing any issues. Maybe disk issues?
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2707  
Old 02-21-2020, 09:13 AM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
I can no longer get through a recording without it stopping and starting again, causing sage to create multiple video files.

The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)
Is a Ubiquity Ultimate Dream Machine Pro (UDM-Pro) part of your network? There have been some reports that the UDM-Pro intermittently stops passing network traffic. Easiest way to troubleshoot this might be to temporarily restore your old network configuration to see if the problems disappear.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #2708  
Old 02-21-2020, 07:59 PM
hufnagel hufnagel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Union Cty, NJ
Posts: 165
unRAID SageTV/OpenDCT newborn here.
tried searching; my google-fu is failing me.

Got both dockers installed, and i'm trying to set up my tuners.
HDHR3-CC (3 channel cable card.)
I've noticed, the lineup dct_hdhomerun.properties file doesn't have a populated channel listing in it, like on my current windows setup.

how do I kick off the console-only script such that the docker updates the lineup file properly? I tried opening a docker console and I get the following:

Running OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV...
OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV is already running.

stopping the service kills the docker, so that doesn't work.
__________________
Setup #7.6 Hyper-V (again!)
Hardware: Comcast Basic Digital Cable, (1) HDHR3-CC 20170815 firmware, 36GB "system" drive, 2TB laptop drives, a buttload of archive drives, HP DL380G6 2x X5660 processors (4 cores to VM), 4GB ram
Software: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, SageTV v9.1.2.662, Java v1.8.0_131, STV 2017052101, HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #2709  
Old 02-22-2020, 05:13 AM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
UPnP on the router isn't going to matter since we don't attempt to automatically open ports to the internet. The SageTV logs might help too since it looks like SageTV is telling OpenDCT to stop and start again. Prior to being told to stop, OpenDCT doesn't appear to be seeing any issues. Maybe disk issues?
I believe that was Exactly the problem. Once again THANK YOU. I would have never found the problem (via the logs) without your direction. The recording SSD was having issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Is a Ubiquity Ultimate Dream Machine Pro (UDM-Pro) part of your network? There have been some reports that the UDM-Pro intermittently stops passing network traffic. Easiest way to troubleshoot this might be to temporarily restore your old network configuration to see if the problems disappear.
I have the NON Pro model.
Reply With Quote
  #2710  
Old 02-24-2020, 07:43 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by hufnagel View Post
unRAID SageTV/OpenDCT newborn here.
tried searching; my google-fu is failing me.

Got both dockers installed, and i'm trying to set up my tuners.
HDHR3-CC (3 channel cable card.)
I've noticed, the lineup dct_hdhomerun.properties file doesn't have a populated channel listing in it, like on my current windows setup.

how do I kick off the console-only script such that the docker updates the lineup file properly? I tried opening a docker console and I get the following:

Running OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV...
OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV is already running.

stopping the service kills the docker, so that doesn't work.
It sounds like you have never run the channel scan on the HDHomerun device itself. Note that this is not required nor is that file being populated required to use the tuner.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner & SageTV nyle Hardware Support 4 02-17-2009 10:12 PM
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner rajczi Hardware Support 4 01-14-2008 08:24 PM
ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner dadams Hardware Support 4 01-09-2007 10:55 AM
Digital Cable - one guide - need HD on one tuner reg tv on other Kimper SageTV Beta Test Software 14 11-27-2006 08:15 PM
Multi-tuner Digital Cable mlbdude SageTV Software 0 06-26-2003 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.