SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2007, 04:35 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
Duplicate SD/HD recordings

I recently added an HDHomeRun to my SageTV setup. It works properly, but Sage is doing something strange.

I have certain favorites limited to only record on the HD stations. The problem is that if that favorite is simulcast in HD and SD (Tonight Show, Motorweek, etc), Sage records both at the same time.

Any ideas?
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2007, 06:14 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Do you have Intelligent Recordings enabled? I'm seeing quite a bit of that as well, not for all shows, though. I have always attributed this to a lack of smart in the IR engine...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2007, 01:26 AM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
I believe this problem only occurs if the favorite has a non-unique show Id like SH329370000. This is usually news type shows. Sage cannot tell that they are the same show. I got around the issue by limiting those show to only the channel I want to record on.
Intelligent recordings will also cause duplicate recordings but it should not be a problem because it only records when a tuner is available.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:34 AM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Not sure I understand why you think that duplicate recordings are not a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2007, 10:06 AM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
I don't consider them to be a problem (under normal conditions) because they only record when a tuner is available and they are the first to be deleted. Why do you think they are a problem?

Abnormal conditions: Currently I have encoutered 3 bad .ts files generated by the homerun. 2 of them were intelligent recordings and 1 was a favorite. These recordings present a major issue for Sage, it will cause Sage to hang, This is a major issue if using the server when you encounter the hang. I now only encounter this hang using the client or the extender, so I can just restart to get around the proglem.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2008, 08:01 AM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Recently, I added a HDHomerun unit for over the air HD broadcasts. I do not have a HD television yet and what the content with a MVP. I am getting duplicate recordings on some programs of the SD and HD content.

The problem is that some of the HD channels have black borders on the top/bottom and left/right, instead of only the top/bottom. This makes the resulting image pretty small on my television screen.

I removed a couple of the HDHomerun local channels from the PVR-350 tuner that do not have left/right and top/bottom cropping. Those two channels are only received by the HDHomerun, and no longer have duplicate recordings.

I would like to record those channels that are cropped on all four sides or on top/bottom with the PVR-350, unless there is a conflict. If there is a conflict, then use the HDHomerun tuner to record those channels.

Does anyone know if there is a solution yet to the SD and HD duplicate recordings problem?


Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Imdb Search Interface (7 Jul 2008 v6.10) nielm SageTV Customizations 431 01-28-2011 04:38 PM
Duplicate recordings error - have you see it too? stevech SageTV Software 0 11-14-2006 09:44 PM
Duplicate recordings issue Gaurav SageTV Software 3 09-09-2006 08:02 PM
Duplicate recordings because of EPG data teknubic SageTV EPG Service 2 04-17-2006 08:39 AM
Duplicate Recordings rsagetv99 SageTV EPG Service 3 02-24-2006 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.