SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2012, 12:40 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,646
Problem with same show recording each week

I have a particular show as a favorite that airs once a week. Every week I have recorded this show (for about 4 weeks now), at about the 23 minute mark (of a 30 minute show), it stops recording on one HDHomerun tuner, and begins again about 12 seconds later on the second tuner. The HDHomerun (original) is hooked directly to cable TV coax.

I have never had this happen before, and it's only with this one show. I'm baffled. I record other shows on this same station, and never have this issue.

Any ideas or potential solutions, or even how I would go about troubleshooting?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:41 PM
jlmdxtv jlmdxtv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 182
Personally, I'd change the tuner merit in the Properties file to switch the order of which tuner on the HDHomeRun is used as the primary and see what happens. There are other threads in the forum on how to do this.

Perhaps one of the tuners or HDHR power supply is flaking out.

john
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:26 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,646
Let's say that I wanted to replace the old original dual-tuner HDHR with a HDHR Prime 3 tuner. Two quick questions;

1) Can the HDHR Prime tuner be used WITHOUT the cablecard as an ATSC tuner, as I had been using the original HDHR?

2) I do have a cable card with tuning adapter sitting here unused from a prior attempt with Ceton Infinitv4 (PCIe), if option from question 1) doesn't work, can I use the CC + TA in the HDHR Prime with SageTV to capture my local stations, which have no encryption or copy flags? Will this require modification of the standard SageTV ATSC tuner setup as I know it from the original HDHR?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2012, 11:19 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Let's say that I wanted to replace the old original dual-tuner HDHR with a HDHR Prime 3 tuner. Two quick questions;

1) Can the HDHR Prime tuner be used WITHOUT the cablecard as an ATSC tuner, as I had been using the original HDHR?
No. Prime is primarily cablecard or can be used as ClearQAM without the card. It does NOT support ATSC.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-29-2012, 06:18 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,646
This issue repeats itself on Tuesdays, at 7:21, every single week. This week I had three shows recording, two on the HDHR, one on the HD-PVR + STB, and both shows on the HDHR failed, while the HD-PVR + STB succeeded.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-29-2012, 10:52 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Sounds to me like there's some recurring event that's taking down your LAN momentarily on a weekly cycle. Things I'd look at would include:

* Windows scheduled tasks
* Automatic software updates of various kinds
* DHCP lease expiration
* Router rebooting itself for some reason
* UPS automatic self-test (if you use a UPS)

If you can't figure it out by next week, make a point of watching your server/router at 7:21 on Tuesday to see if there's any visible glitch in your LAN activity lights or if anything unexpected pops up in Task Manager at that time. If it's that predictable you should be able to catch it in the act.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much do you watch per week? malbec The SageTV Community 10 11-01-2006 06:16 PM
End of show problem with V4.13 Motofreak75 SageTV Software 0 01-05-2006 07:32 PM
New beta this week??? follower SageTV Beta Test Software 19 03-28-2004 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.