SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2015, 12:40 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Colossus cards

Have the Colossus cards shuttering problem been resolved in v9 yet that a nightly boot wouldn't be needed anymore?

Just wondering

I had to clean reinstall my SageTV because for some reason lots of stuffs started to get broken or cease to function. Now it been running a week and no reboot yet however I suspect the recordings are going to shutter soon enough forcing me to reboot the server.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2015, 12:28 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,319
No changes have been made in V9 regarding the Colossus.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2015, 10:32 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
I've found that the key to Colossus stability is to never let it see a dead HDMI input. If it tries to record from no input it will destabilize your server and require a reboot to fix it. So make sure your STB is powered up, tuned to the right channel, and producing stable audio and video before recording starts.

The simplest way to do this is via the mmc/encoders/NNNNNNNN/delay_to_wait_after_tuning parameter in Sage.properties. Increasing this to 10000 milliseconds made my Colossus much more reliable, to the point where I basically never miss a recording (unless I've manually switched the input to my laptop and forgotten to switch back).
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:48 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
I've found that the key to Colossus stability is to never let it see a dead HDMI input. If it tries to record from no input it will destabilize your server and require a reboot to fix it. So make sure your STB is powered up, tuned to the right channel, and producing stable audio and video before recording starts.

The simplest way to do this is via the mmc/encoders/NNNNNNNN/delay_to_wait_after_tuning parameter in Sage.properties. Increasing this to 10000 milliseconds made my Colossus much more reliable, to the point where I basically never miss a recording (unless I've manually switched the input to my laptop and forgotten to switch back).

Hrmmmm I had the wait_after set at 8000 last night when I switched over to HDMI to test and it still freezing so I switched back to component cables.

The colossus adapter for the component cable is showing wear and not staying plugged into the colossus card is reason why I am trying to get HDMI to work stable as soon as possible.

I suspect my freezing problem is the combination of CPU and motherboard (server type/info in my signature) that I choose to save cost when I build this server long time ago.

I am thinking about building a whole new server using Intel i5 and newest Colossus II cards just to see if it will be stable using HDMI. Also I am hoping to find a slimmer case where two cards would in inserted vertically using a PCI-e adapter of some sort. Last time I check several years ago, those cases were costly so if it still are then I will stick with the standard micro atx cases.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2015, 08:47 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I have my colossus set to 8000 milliseconds and that seems to work well. I never reboot but I'm on server 2012 r2. I think the OS has a bit to do with the way the colossus works. On windows 7 I had to do nightly reboots. I dont reboot my server for months at a time with server 2012.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2015, 07:43 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I have my colossus set to 8000 milliseconds and that seems to work well. I never reboot but I'm on server 2012 r2. I think the OS has a bit to do with the way the colossus works. On windows 7 I had to do nightly reboots. I dont reboot my server for months at a time with server 2012.
Hrmmm interesting

I wondered why it seem to perform fine on Windows server but not Windows 7

I always wanted to try it on Linux but no Linux driver for colossus cards as far I know

Maybe I should look into installing Windows server and see if that help in my case I wondered how much a full version is going for these day

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2015, 07:14 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I have my colossus set to 8000 milliseconds and that seems to work well. I never reboot but I'm on server 2012 r2. I think the OS has a bit to do with the way the colossus works. On windows 7 I had to do nightly reboots. I dont reboot my server for months at a time with server 2012.
Were you on the same hardware (Motherboard, CPU etc) when you switch over Windows 7 to Windows 2012 R2?

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to IR control two Colossus cards - suggestions? fbures Hardware Support 5 04-20-2013 01:02 AM
HD PVR or Colossus? twollman Hardware Support 20 03-23-2011 01:29 PM
Colossus not getting EPG Crunch SageTV EPG Service 2 03-10-2011 12:45 PM
Does SageTV support DVB-S2 cards with CAM cards ? thanks TripleH Hardware Support 1 06-23-2006 08:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.