SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2007, 08:37 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
How often do thumbnails regenerate?

It seems that several times a day the thumbnails disappear and then regenerate as I navigate through the menus of my recorded shows or the videos in the media center. How often should then regenerate?

If Sagetv has already generated them once shouldn't that thumbnail be used until the file is deleted instead of regenerating it over and over.

Quite often the menus are hanging for like 15-20 seconds while they are regenerating. This seems to have gotten worse in the 6.2.8 RC.

Any ideas? Seems like there are several posts about memory usage, transcoder and hangs for this RC.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:29 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Are the thumbs actually getting deleted & regenerated? It sounds more likely that they were dumped from memory & are being reloaded when needed again. There would be a short delay before they are displayed when they need to be reloaded.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:33 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
I think you are right, they seem to be recaching but they seem to take a long time to do so.

Could this have to do with the number of shows I have recorded? I have about 450 recorded shows (80% SDTV and 20% HDTV) spread over two 500GB drives that are about half full each.

Thanks, Jeremy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else have problems generating thumbnails? raulinigo SageTV Beta Test Software 5 10-24-2006 12:50 AM
Can we get a thumbnail regenerate setting? bhyman1 SageTV Beta Test Software 15 10-13-2006 06:39 PM
Create Video Thumbnails? phantomfsoc SageTV Customizations 9 03-10-2006 06:26 PM
experimental thumbnails not working? CadErik SageTV Beta Test Software 9 03-09-2006 07:27 PM
Why can't sage generate my thumbnails? Dustin Mustangs SageTV Software 10 02-05-2006 12:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.