SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:29 PM
follower follower is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 96
New beta this week???

I guess I should ask since it is so late on a Friday. Dan, are we getting another beta this weekend?

- follower
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:29 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
I was wondering how long it would take for someone to ask this.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:36 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
I was told that the answer is &#9792 ;m ŧ փ δw.

- Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2004, 07:48 PM
kny3twalker kny3twalker is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,074
sorry do not speak egyptian
when is that, in the english?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2004, 10:32 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Uh... Egyptian?? Were you referring to my post? I used one of the special fonts on the Reply page, since my cut & paste of the answer I got contained that font specification. Do you have all those fonts installed?



OK, OK... Sorry, I was just kidding & thought everyone would know I was joking. I just couldn't resist...

- Andy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2004, 08:56 AM
kny3twalker kny3twalker is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,074
I knew, LOL
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2004, 09:04 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally posted by kny3twalker
I knew, LOL
<sigh> I had debated whether to even answer in that last post or not, since you could have just been continuing the joke... but then I figured that I ought to say something in case someone out there really thought I had some inside knowledge that got lost in translation...

- Andy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2004, 02:04 PM
ErsatzTom's Avatar
ErsatzTom ErsatzTom is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 712
Send a message via AIM to ErsatzTom
Or you do have inside info that you wish you hadn't spilled and now you are trying to cover your tracks!

t
__________________
Thomas Micheline
duff@sage-community.org
http://www.sage-community.org/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2004, 07:36 AM
Niles Niles is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 27
I think this is a good question, but I think the ultimate q is when will the final release of Sage TV 2.0 will come and will it support HDTV tuners (e.g. MyHD 120)? At least a rough E.T.A.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2004, 07:40 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
From the last release which included all functionality that will be done prior to release I don't see HDTV in there. Are there any decent cards out there yet that do both HDTV and standard def MPEG2 hardware decoding?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-28-2004, 09:43 AM
Deadbolt's Avatar
Deadbolt Deadbolt is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 687
And that can to all the required junk so that I could just plug it into cable and watch HDTV HBO, NBC, etc from HDTV over digital cable? Can you just give the cable company your "mac" address like you do your cable modem to the isp?

Over they air is ok, but not convincing enough to buy.

Deadbolt
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-28-2004, 09:45 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
The Sasem OnAir USB HDTV is the only one capable of both HDTV and Hardware SDTV encoding. Although the AccessDTV and FusionHDTV III would both be attractive cards to support. I don't think it's necessary to wait for cards that do both, especially since the OnAir USB is about the cost of ADTV and 250.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-28-2004, 09:46 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
How would I connect these cards to my cable box? Do they support component in? Or are they only for over the air HDTV?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-28-2004, 09:56 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Most are only for OTA, but the ADTV has been reported to pick up a very few HD channels on cable (64-QAM), and the Fusion III is also reported to work with some HD Cable (256-QAM), although neither of these work well enough to buy based on QAM support, that's kind of an added bonus if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-28-2004, 11:12 AM
Brett Brett is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally posted by mlbdude
From the last release which included all functionality that will be done prior to release I don't see HDTV in there.
Am I to understand that Sage2 is now feature-locked until Final Release? I thought they were going to implement some of your ideas that you created with Studio in the final release, like the movie thumbnail view?

-Brett
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-28-2004, 11:16 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
I think they are trying to keep the release as simple and strict as possible for now and that probably won't involve any of my stuff. I am basing my speculations on the release notes though so I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-28-2004, 11:26 AM
Brett Brett is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 184
dang, and your movie selection thing is so cool looking .

-Brett
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-28-2004, 01:00 PM
Cayars Cayars is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,029
Mlbdude, could release a "skin" that includes some of his mods. It's just a matter of when Jef & Dan give the go ahead to do so.

Carlo
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-28-2004, 05:53 PM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
If your going to to want HDTV content non-HDTV the only means will be firewire.

Check the HDTV recorders section of the avsforum on this.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-28-2004, 09:08 PM
fasteddielv fasteddielv is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vegas
Posts: 30
QAM-256 may become very important in the near future. My cable provider COX here in Las Vegas has remove encryption on the local network HDTV channels. So if you have a QAM-256 tuner you will be able to hook up your cable to the tuner and receive all the local HDTV channels as well as record them. Free of coarse! Yahoo!

Eddie
__________________
Insanity, "To do the same thing and expect a different outcome"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.