SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2010, 12:27 PM
Suntan Suntan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 156
HD200 component out quality

Would appreciate any subjective opinions on the output quality of the HD200 when using component outputs as compared to HDMI output. 1080i60 720p60 and 1080p24 are the main output reses I use.

I’m on my last nerve with HDMI dropouts to the point of routing 30’ of component cables to the PJ and just saying FO&D to the “digital connection of the future.”

-Suntan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2010, 12:37 PM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Never really used the component outs but maybe there is something you can do to remedy your "HDMI dropouts." Have you submitted a bug report? What firmware are you running on your HD200?
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:07 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
I use a hdmi to dvi cable, but I don't see any noticeable difference between it and component cables.

You mentioned 30' component cables so I assume you're using a 30' hdmi cable now. From what I've read, depending on the strength of the source, interference, and gauge of the wire it's possible the distance is causing the dropouts. The longest I've used is about 5 feet so I'm just going by what I've read here and there. Are you using any sort of amp or repeater? Is it a heavy gauge good quality cable?

Last edited by blade; 05-17-2010 at 01:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:33 PM
Suntan Suntan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 156
The dropouts are not the extender’s fault (it happens with the PS3 too) and over the course of the last couple months they have been isolated to the piss-poor design of the HDMI connector. I’ve exorcised most of the dropouts with judicious use of port savers and properly strain relieving the connectors, but the system still refuses to get through an entire 2 hour movie without at least one or two glitches on screen.

Most of the time all it requires is to “touch” the connector at the PJ enough to make the contact come back. However that is completely unacceptable when the lights are out, your feet are up and you’re under the blanket.

-Suntan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:44 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
i use a 35ft hdmi cable from monoprice (about $35) all the time without any issues... you may want to consider trying a different hdmi cable...
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:29 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
No appreciable difference in PQ between a BD rip through my HD200 (component) and my Pioneer 51FD (HDMI).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2010, 04:20 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
I can only comment on a 32" Samsung connected via Component (all others via HDMI) and it looks great.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200 Component, HDMI, S-vid, Composit to VGA traker1001 Hardware Support 14 02-22-2010 10:37 PM
HD200 v. Windows 7 Video Quality Evil_Attorney SageTV Media Extender 37 01-25-2010 07:23 PM
Can the hd200 show HDMI and Component at the same time? alon24 SageTV Media Extender 1 09-07-2009 10:05 PM
HD200 Extender Mode-1080p with Component Video? jhreed SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 3 08-23-2009 09:55 PM
hd200 component video always widescreen? rlrl SageTV Media Extender 12 04-15-2009 07:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.