SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2012, 09:15 PM
vhurst's Avatar
vhurst vhurst is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 108
Proven Java Versions

I'm looking for a list of Java versions verified not to have issue with Sage. With no forseeable updates past Sage 7.1.9.256, I'm concerned continuing to update Java on the Sage server might cause a problem. Perhaps it might just be better to stop the updates. Has anyone got a compatibility list going?
__________________
Intel Skulltrail D5400XS, Dual Quad Core Xeon L5420, Windows Server 2012 R2 on 200Gb partition, 32Gb RAM, 8x WD 2Tb RE4 RAID6 on LSI 9690SA-8I (DVD/Blu-Ray), 2x 4Tb HDDs (TV), Colossus, 2x HD-PVR, HDHR3 Prime, DirectTV STB, USB-UIRT, Sage v2 v3 v4 v5 v6 v7.1.9, Java v1.6 build 45, 3 Placeshifter licenses, and 3 HD-300's.
Plugins: Phoenix API, PlayOn For SageTV, Comskip Playback, YouTube, Nielm's Sage Utiities
Software: PlayOn, ComSkip Monitor, ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2012, 09:55 PM
Ender Ender is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upsate New York
Posts: 175
As far as I have experienced any version greater than java 6 update 2.26 causes SMM to break, as has been discussed in this thread.

I have not upgraded past this (2.26) version for this reason, and I appear not to have issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2012, 12:47 AM
vhurst's Avatar
vhurst vhurst is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender View Post
As far as I have experienced any version greater than java 6 update 2.26 causes SMM to break, as has been discussed in this thread.

I have not upgraded past this (2.26) version for this reason, and I appear not to have issues.
Thanks Ender. I looked, and I'm at v6 update 26 (build 1.6.0_26-b03), which looks to me I'm as updated as I should go, and no more. I went ahead and shut off the Java update notification. I appreciate the heads up!
__________________
Intel Skulltrail D5400XS, Dual Quad Core Xeon L5420, Windows Server 2012 R2 on 200Gb partition, 32Gb RAM, 8x WD 2Tb RE4 RAID6 on LSI 9690SA-8I (DVD/Blu-Ray), 2x 4Tb HDDs (TV), Colossus, 2x HD-PVR, HDHR3 Prime, DirectTV STB, USB-UIRT, Sage v2 v3 v4 v5 v6 v7.1.9, Java v1.6 build 45, 3 Placeshifter licenses, and 3 HD-300's.
Plugins: Phoenix API, PlayOn For SageTV, Comskip Playback, YouTube, Nielm's Sage Utiities
Software: PlayOn, ComSkip Monitor, ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2012, 06:12 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
I'm running Sage TV 7.1.9.256 on Windows Home Server 2011 with Java 7 update 2 and have no issues. I am NOT using SMM. This is along with jetty web, BMT, Sage TV Web, SageTV Mobile Web, TCP Server, Commercial skip play, Phoenix, Phoenix Fanart for Sage, Complementary Metadata and Upcoming Movies 2. In the process of adding Caller ID. Have also enabled Malore Hidden Features. I also have SageDCT 2.20 with the Prime 3tuner from SiliconDust on Comcast Motorola cablecard.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.

Last edited by gplasky; 02-03-2012 at 06:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2012, 08:00 AM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
I'm running Sage TV 7.1.9.256 on Windows Home Server 2011 with Java 7 update 2 and have no issues. I am NOT using SMM. This is along with jetty web, BMT, Sage TV Web, SageTV Mobile Web, TCP Server, Commercial skip play, Phoenix, Phoenix Fanart for Sage, Complementary Metadata and Upcoming Movies 2. In the process of adding Caller ID. Have also enabled Malore Hidden Features. I also have SageDCT 2.20 with the Prime 3tuner from SiliconDust on Comcast Motorola cablecard.

Gerry
Do you see any performance or memory management advantages with version 7 of java?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2012, 08:46 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
As far as I can tell java updating is ok as long as you don't use SMM. When I've updated past 26 everything other than SMM works just fine.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2012, 10:36 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Do you see any performance or memory management advantages with version 7 of java?
Hard to say. If there is it's nothing dramatic. And probably the core would need to be rewritten/recompiled for Sage to take advantage of it. To me it does seem slightly better.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2012, 11:15 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Why even update? I haven't updated the version that installed with the last V7 Sage release way back when I built my current server.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2012, 12:03 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
More of a test and to see if there were any improvements. Curiosity more than anything else. A proof of concept to see how current the system can be maintained without invoking disaster.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2012, 02:15 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
I turrned off Windows updates as well as Java updates on my dedicated Sage server long ago. The ONLY tihng the server is used for is Sage so unless there is a gaping security hole in Windows or Java I don't update.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-07-2012, 08:57 AM
hackzaw hackzaw is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Waterdown, Ontario
Posts: 58
While I was away, my wife installed Java 6 Update 30, but Sage was running in the background while doing this.

I had a momentary freak out moment this morning finding this out, and testing Sage to discover is was totally unresponsive. However, following Opus' instructions, with Sage turned off, I uninstalled the Java Update, reinstalled Java, and voila...... Sage is working just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tables, Java - Java Not being Called for each TableComponent Cell stuckless SageTV Studio 3 04-02-2008 03:03 PM
Old versions of Java msmith8228 SageTV Software 1 07-25-2007 03:00 PM
What Java Versions Should We Be Running? RAlfieri SageTV Beta Test Software 5 03-02-2006 06:19 PM
Good/Bad Versions of Sun JAVA Related to SageTV AWS General Discussion 6 11-10-2005 02:17 PM
Beta V1.2.2 Java java.lang Null Pointer Exception hamptonhills SageTV Beta Test Software 1 03-27-2003 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.