SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2018, 01:01 PM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 291
Hauppauge Quad Tuner

I'm trying to get my Hauppauge quad turner working and so far no luck. Unraid and Sage sees the 4 tuners as LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend but when I select it as a video source (OTA ATSC) I can't tune any channels. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2018, 03:29 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
I had the same thing when I used unRAID. But in Windows it works just fine. Also works from unRAID when it is a network tuner from a Windows network encoder.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2018, 05:30 AM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 291
That's the setup I have now. Sage in an unRAID docker with 2 HD PVRs and my Hauppauge quad tuner a network encoder on my Windows pc. I was hoping to consolidate everything into the docker but I guess the the driver is just for the DVB version of the card as the card is recognized but unable to tune channels.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2018, 05:44 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
I'm using a Windows VM for my HD-PVRs (where I have my Quads too) because I am not able to get reliable 5.1 sound directly from unRAID Docker SageTV. Works well with Windows Drivers and from network encoder. So was natural to have the quads on the same unRAID Hosted Windows VM for me.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2018, 05:02 AM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 291
I'm using Firewire channel changing so when I was running Sage in my Windows box I was limited to using the 32 bit version of Windows. Now with the Firewire drivers in the DVB unRAID kernel, I am running Windows 64 bit. I'm curious if a 32 bit Windows VM would be able to use the Firewire channel changing and would I still have to use the DVB build to pass through the Firewire ports?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2018, 06:44 AM
jjstok jjstok is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 93
Any luck with the quad tuner? I'm looking at this for my new W10 build.
__________________
Dell PE 2800 - Dual Xeon - 2gb RAM - Windows 2003 sp2 - 2 Video Cards: Hauppauge WINTV HVR 1600 digital
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2018, 12:36 PM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 291
The Hauppauge Quad Tuner works well in Windows 10 in SageTV V9. I'm currently using it as a network encoder in a Windows 10 VM I'm running in unRAID. My sage TV server is in an unRAID docker. I couldn't get the Quad card to work in the Docker or in a Ubuntu vm, thus I'm using it as a network encoder in the Windows 10 vm.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2018, 05:10 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Almost the same for me. I have a network encoder running Windows 7 for the 5.1 sound driver support on Windows for my HD-PVRs and 2 Quads providing 8 tuners for my other SageTV servers one on the unRAID docker Host server for the Windows network encoder and the other quad to another unRAID docker server.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2018, 08:27 PM
Stevotdo Stevotdo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 1
I'm running the sagetv docker with 2 hauppauge quad tuners. I'm using the dvb kernel plugin and recording atsc.

On some platforms there's a kernel bug between hardware virtualization and the drivers for the tuner card.

If the dvb kernel is installed you can try disabling the virtualization in the bios and if the tuners can now tune channels then that is the issue.

For me right now I don't need to run any vm's, but hopefully it will be fixed in the future.

Not a sage problem in my instance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2018, 01:47 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 378
I'm using the dvb kernel plugin and recording atsc.

Could you please elaborate how you are doing that please? my main stumbling block is getting right driver to tune in atsc on linux. I have moved to mxlinux. I got the drivers installed & appearing in sagetv. I just can't get the tuners to scan & lock onto any stations. I'm using an OTA setup so no cable signal issues. I have a quad card & 2 2255s. I am currently running on win 10 without issues but want to switch to linux for 64bit java access as well as preferring not to run win 10 at all, if possible.

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 08-29-2018 at 12:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Behavior from Hauppauge Quad ASegredo Hardware Support 28 02-11-2020 02:04 AM
New Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD TV Tuner USB and Soon a Quad Tuner PCIe SHS Hardware Support 12 10-02-2016 11:07 AM
Anyone using this quad tuner? bclenney Hardware Support 7 01-01-2016 01:59 PM
TBS 6984 PCI-E DVB-S2 Quad Tuner TV Card jamesdisco SageTV United Kingdom 98 12-24-2012 01:03 PM
Quad HD antenna tuner? snoopy Hardware Support 5 03-17-2009 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.