SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-04-2022, 08:34 PM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 263
Same over here, still using SageTV every day. Started with version 2 in 2003. I really like the way I can forward or go back easily. Even with streaming services, I prefer to download first as I really do not like having to wait for things to get buffered whenever I want to go back or skip over something. So thanks to all the developers from me as well!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-04-2022, 09:12 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Wischgol View Post
Same over here, still using SageTV every day. Started with version 2 in 2003. I really like the way I can forward or go back easily.
SageTV does this better than anything else and it is crucially important for me as I use it to watch sports WAY more efficiently.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-05-2022, 10:20 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 435
Still a die hard user here too. I float in and out of the forums. Try to lend a hand when I can. Love this system!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-06-2022, 07:45 AM
DarkWolf77 DarkWolf77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Wischgol View Post
Same over here, still using SageTV every day. Started with version 2 in 2003. I really like the way I can forward or go back easily. Even with streaming services, I prefer to download first as I really do not like having to wait for things to get buffered whenever I want to go back or skip over something. So thanks to all the developers from me as well!
Same here. It's crazy to me that services like Plex that have active support from full development teams still don't have playback working nearly as well as Sage does. There are rumblings that Frontier (my tv provider) is ditching TV service altogether,... I have no idea what I'll do when that happens.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-07-2022, 01:41 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 372
lol

I guess I am part of the Club? I have promoted using SageTV wherever I encounter cord cutters looking for options. I too switched to OTA for bulk of my viewing since I am not willing to feed the beast so to speak to get Entertainment. They get enough through ads etc. I am grateful I live in a market that offers some OTA. Many areas in the Great White North don't & force you to pay to get tv shows.

Galaxysurfer
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:42 PM
guho guho is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 149
I'm still here with 3x R5000-HD moto cable boxes for any mpeg2 DRM channels and 2x HDHomeRun prime for all the h.264 channels. So far, I have not come across an h.264 DRM channel on my cable provider, which is a relief. SageTV 9 x64 has been running super well. Thanks for all the upgrades over the years. Is there any support planned for h.265 4k channels?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:55 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by guho View Post
Is there any support planned for h.265 4k channels?
What is the source of these channels? Are these on cable? To capture those channels we would need some sort of a tuning device or encoding device. It sounds like you have been able to use devices that allow you to directly capture the digital signal. I don't think that is available for h.265 4k channels, at least not yet. But there are devices that could encode from a 4K HDMI signal, such as Uray encoders.

Here is an example https://www.amazon.com/Decoder-Adver...dp/B07C3HQTK1/

But these require a way to change channels, like a USB-UIRT. They capture and re-encode the video signal.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-15-2022, 01:59 PM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 173
Thanks!

Iím still here too. I donít even remember when I started. I too was a Beyond TV user who saw the light. I donít post that often because things are still working really smoothly after all these years. I really appreciate everyone who works to keep all of this still running and I am amazed by all of your talents! Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-17-2022, 10:58 AM
bnflaherty's Avatar
bnflaherty bnflaherty is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winchester, CT
Posts: 13
So I've now got 1 HDHR running with both tuners configured for OTA -- Sage sees about 30 channels - getting a few I've never had so That's a plus.
Still running in "test" mode in regards to the OTA - today I'll bring my other HDHR online for some further testing - before I pull the CATV plug.

Onwards and upwards!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-17-2022, 11:51 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnflaherty View Post
So I've now got 1 HDHR running with both tuners configured for OTA -- Sage sees about 30 channels - getting a few I've never had so That's a plus.
Still running in "test" mode in regards to the OTA - today I'll bring my other HDHR online for some further testing - before I pull the CATV plug.

Onwards and upwards!
You need to retitle this thread now!
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-17-2022, 01:21 PM
bnflaherty's Avatar
bnflaherty bnflaherty is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winchester, CT
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
You need to retitle this thread now!
You are very much correct
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thanx for all the fish! chairmanmao SageTV Software 5 09-18-2019 07:01 PM
So long, and thanks for all the fish bialio General Discussion 22 07-24-2014 01:53 PM
Fire and Fish...I want em shortyjacobs The SageTV Community 5 12-03-2008 05:48 PM
Fish Tank-Reloading Media Player JeffB SageTV Customizations 1 03-14-2005 06:28 AM
teach me to fish Actisys + power managment jman SageTV Software 7 10-13-2003 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.