SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2008, 03:06 AM
Ender Ender is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upsate New York
Posts: 175
Suggestions for a new video card

I am getting frustrated with my current Videocard. I have an ATI HD2600 Pro AGP card. I recently (foolishly) upgraded to Vista on my Sage box, and ever since any decoder that uses DVXA makes all video stutter badly in SAGE on the TV side.

Under XP I could ran Sage with the Power DVD 7 decoders for both Video, and DVD, but under Vista HD material recorded, or live stutters badly, and SD material is jerky. This never happened with XP as long as I was in FSE mode all was well.

The sage decoder works ok, no studder, just looks like crap, if I have DVXA disabled, but with VMR 9 applied.

My motherboard is a Asrock 4Core Dual Sata2, so I can put a PCIe card in (albeit it will run at x4) but that is the same bandwidth as AGP, and I do not game on this system. I have 2GB DDR2 memory with an Intel E2180 processor.

I get an atikmag error every time I try to install a new program as well. This is frustrating. All was well under XP, when I first installed the ATI 8.1 AGP drivers it seemed to work well, then after a day I get this:

http://s87020287.onlinehome.us/image...er%20error.png


I have even done a clean install, but no joy.


Any ideas would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2008, 08:33 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
From what I have read the ATI HD2x00 Series AGP/PCIe have really buggiee drivers
2nd thing is got the crap VIA chip set.
Rule One
DON'T BUY motherboard with VIA nor SiS base chip set there junk alway have been and alway will be JUNK.

Last edited by SHS; 02-01-2008 at 08:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2008, 02:43 AM
Ender Ender is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upsate New York
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
From what I have read the ATI HD2x00 Series AGP/PCIe have really buggiee drivers
2nd thing is got the crap VIA chip set.
Rule One
DON'T BUY motherboard with VIA nor SiS base chip set there junk alway have been and alway will be JUNK.
I know it was a longshot, but the 2600pro really did not like my Nforce3 board. The Asrock board was the only board I could find on short notice that had support for both AGP and modern Dual core CPU's. I think I tracked the ati error to my memory being run at 1T command rat vs 2T, hopefully.

As for the stuttering, if I run sage in FSE mode, everything seems fine. If I encounter issues later I will do a board/vid card swap.

For now though all appears well.


You must admit though VIA has made some good chipsets over time, remeber the KT266A?

Hell even INTEL has manufactured crap chipsets, one only has to remember the i820?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2008, 09:25 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender View Post
You must admit though VIA has made some good chipsets over time, remeber the KT266A?
It all start with 686B South Bridge which didn't support all the PCI protocol and belive it still on going problem with VIA and it not the so much the North Bridge.

It was KT133A not 266

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender View Post
Hell even INTEL has manufactured crap chipsets, one only has to remember the i820?
That chip was good as long you didn't have RDRAM
INTEL most crappest chipsets is there onboard Graphics Accelerator that everthing before the GMA X3000


Let us know how that 2600 pro work out.

Last edited by SHS; 02-07-2008 at 09:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card for Component Distribution smarty Hardware Support 4 07-18-2007 08:45 PM
Best AGP video card for HD simonen Hardware Support 38 09-27-2006 08:00 AM
HDTV Card Suggestions phenixdragon Hardware Support 2 07-24-2006 11:36 AM
Lockups during playback with new video card davin Hardware Support 7 01-16-2006 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.