SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 08-05-2011, 04:23 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
I saw this barebones in NewEgg seems like It could possibly work for a client?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856119042
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-05-2011, 04:29 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I saw this barebones in NewEgg seems like It could possibly work for a client?
I don't have that model, but I recently picked up a Giada Cube which also has the Atom 330 and ION graphics and I couldn't get it to work as a Client using XP or Vista. Perhaps if you have a copy of Windows 7 it might work, otherwise I would not recommend it ...
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-06-2011, 06:26 AM
computer33 computer33 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePaladinTech View Post
Does anyone have an E350 and how is working for you??
Bought this last week. http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/hp-p...-34467063.html. Had an extra client license from the days before I bought my HD100. That thing suited us well for many years. The E350 plays back HD flawlessly. The interface is so smooth compared to my extender so that part is nice. I am by no means an expert on codecs I just select anything that says "Microsoft" in Sage. VC1 (WM video decoder DMO) doesn't play at all but i have not tried to trouble shoot that yet.
__________________
Server: AMD Barton 2500+, WinXP, 1Gig RAM, HD Homerun

Clients: HP dm1(E350), HD-100

Last edited by computer33; 08-06-2011 at 06:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-08-2011, 09:23 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
What I'm getting..

Dell Zino HD: $299.99

-Win7 64bit
-Comfortably decodes 1080p AVC/VC1 (Bluray spec)
-5.1 audio over HDMI or native optical SPDIF out (no converter needed)
-Builtin IR receiver
-500GB HDD
-3GB RAM (adequate since no other app running in background)
-BD ROM (optional)

Out of the box, I just install sageTV windows client, Java, and girder. The obvious advantages this has over the HD300 is I can have a full brown web browser, and these clients in theory can keep running indefinitely (until something else comes out that offers everything my sageTV setup has to offer and more). The only thing I dont like about Windows SageTV Client is no subtitle support for bluray (so I need to play movies with subtitles using TMT5).

Dell Zino HD:


__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-08-2011, 10:14 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post
Dell Zino HD: $299.99

-Win7 64bit
-Comfortably decodes 1080p AVC/VC1 (Bluray spec)
-5.1 audio over HDMI or native optical SPDIF out (no converter needed)
-Builtin IR receiver
-500GB HDD
-3GB RAM (adequate since no other app running in background)
-BD ROM (optional)

Out of the box, I just install sageTV windows client, Java, and girder. The obvious advantages this has over the HD300 is I can have a full brown web browser, and these clients in theory can keep running indefinitely (until something else comes out that offers everything my sageTV setup has to offer and more). The only thing I dont like about Windows SageTV Client is no subtitle support for bluray (so I need to play movies with subtitles using TMT5).
If you get the opportunity, please post your opinion about how loud it is, and if you own a Kill-A-Watt, how much the real world power drain is (while playing & in standby).
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-09-2011, 09:57 AM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by computer33 View Post
Bought this last week. http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/hp-p...-34467063.html. Had an extra client license from the days before I bought my HD100. That thing suited us well for many years. The E350 plays back HD flawlessly. The interface is so smooth compared to my extender so that part is nice. I am by no means an expert on codecs I just select anything that says "Microsoft" in Sage. VC1 (WM video decoder DMO) doesn't play at all but i have not tried to trouble shoot that yet.

You are just the person I was hoping for! someone that has an HD-100 and got an e350. How does the navigation speed compare, Hoping the e350 is faster then the HD-100. Thanks! ( i see you say it is so smooth compared to the extender... Anything else?)
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-09-2011, 10:08 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post
Dell Zino HD: $299.99

-Win7 64bit
-Comfortably decodes 1080p AVC/VC1 (Bluray spec)
-5.1 audio over HDMI or native optical SPDIF out (no converter needed)
-Builtin IR receiver
-500GB HDD
-3GB RAM (adequate since no other app running in background)
-BD ROM (optional)

Out of the box, I just install sageTV windows client, Java, and girder. The obvious advantages this has over the HD300 is I can have a full brown web browser, and these clients in theory can keep running indefinitely (until something else comes out that offers everything my sageTV setup has to offer and more). The only thing I dont like about Windows SageTV Client is no subtitle support for bluray (so I need to play movies with subtitles using TMT5).
The one with built in blu-ray comes out to 499.99. Decent price.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-09-2011, 10:45 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Very odd. Somehow, overnight, the price went up from $299.99 to $399.99. I'm not sure how that happened. I can see still blogs when doing searches on Google about the $299.99 price for the Dell Zino HD. That's definitely going to prevent me from buying one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
The one with built in blu-ray comes out to 499.99. Decent price.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:30 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post
Very odd. Somehow, overnight, the price went up from $299.99 to $399.99. I'm not sure how that happened. I can see still blogs when doing searches on Google about the $299.99 price for the Dell Zino HD. That's definitely going to prevent me from buying one.
Still shows 299.99 on the Dell site http://search.dell.com/results.aspx?...ino+HD&cat=all

or at least at 1:30pm (est) on August 9th it does

Might be a "Back to School" sale price or what not.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-09-2011, 12:46 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Still shows 299.99 on the Dell site http://search.dell.com/results.aspx?...ino+HD&cat=all

or at least at 1:30pm (est) on August 9th it does

Might be a "Back to School" sale price or what not.
Click on the link. It isn't $299.99 when you try to buy it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08-09-2011, 10:42 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
for me, i'd have no issue spending up to $600 if I could get a fanless, quiet, low power (<20W while standby) client PC with a BluRay drive in it and VGA/HDMI video out and analog/HDMI audio out. Then I could leave it on 24x7 without stressing about about the power bill.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:41 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
My Clarkdale client in my living room uses a bit more juice than the newer i3 Sandy Bridge units, and it wouldn't be hard to build it for <$500 fanless. On and idle it draws more than 20W, but it sleeps perfectly, and when in S3 sleep, it only uses 2.2W. That said, I see no need to run it fanless, as I cannot hear the stock cooler from my couch.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:50 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
this is for our MBR, and it would be 8' from where we sleep. The wife likes her quiet.

That said, I don't need it this week, she's lived without a local BR drive so far, we have a local DVD player. Hopefully in 6 months, the low end will be powerful enough to run BR without needing big heat dissipation.

I guess I really need to relook at S3, I could never get that to accurately work but that was 2 years ago.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-10-2011, 08:24 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Honestly, I would still consider the i3 (or perhaps the e350) the low end, and it should handle bluray just fine. even in the MBR, no need to go fanless, as there are plenty of practically silent fans, and it will only be running when being watched (if you use sleep).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-10-2011, 08:34 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVB View Post
for me, i'd have no issue spending up to $600 if I could get a fanless, quiet, low power (<20W while standby) client PC with a BluRay drive in it and VGA/HDMI video out and analog/HDMI audio out. Then I could leave it on 24x7 without stressing about about the power bill.
The HDPlex H3.SODD is totally fanless as it uses the case itself as a heatsink. The case costs $240 - but you should be able to build an entire i3 based system for around $600 and the only moving part would be your BluRay drive. But I don't know exactly the power consumption of one of the i3 chips when it is idle.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:04 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The HDPlex H3.SODD is totally fanless as it uses the case itself as a heatsink. The case costs $240 - but you should be able to build an entire i3 based system for around $600 and the only moving part would be your BluRay drive. But I don't know exactly the power consumption of one of the i3 chips when it is idle.
With my i3-530 at idle, it's about 46W at the wall. That's with an older laptop harddrive. An SSD at idle would use quite a bit less.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 08-10-2011, 12:04 PM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
So I've been thinking about building up a new Sage client PC (have a license not being used) for my main HT room. Have an older Silverstone LC16M case, and I'm sure I have a PSU somewhere. Trying to do it as cheap as possible, so I might steal the SSD from my laptop and put the original laptop drive back in it.

So basically I would just need a cpu, mb, and ram. But I need to be able to do HD audio over HDMI, and playback all bluray formats (and hd-dvd rips). Would a Sandybridge G620 be good enough for this? At $68, it seems like a hell of a deal, couple it with a decent motherboard and 4GB ram, I think I could probably make it work for under $200 (maybe even $150)?

I'll be feeding 1080p/60hz as my TV doesnt do 24p. This would eliminate the whole 23.976 vs 24.000 hz issue right?

Also, would it be possible to have a Ceton card installed in the client machine, and the server make use of all the tuners from it? The way things are wired in my house, this would be a lot easier solution than putting a Ceton in the server. Or I could make this machine the server, and just use the old server for all the storage drives.
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender

Last edited by Kirby; 08-10-2011 at 12:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 08-10-2011, 02:18 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
With my i3-530 at idle, it's about 46W at the wall. That's with an older laptop harddrive. An SSD at idle would use quite a bit less.
I thought laptop hard disks only used 8-10W, which would then be 35-38W for the box. IIRC, the HD200 is ~10W, so thats an incremental 25W for the box, or 18.6KWh/month. At my incremental energy cost of $0.31/KWh, thats $5.80/month. Not awful, but enough to be annoying :-)
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 08-10-2011, 02:22 PM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVB View Post
I thought laptop hard disks only used 8-10W, which would then be 35-38W for the box. IIRC, the HD200 is ~10W, so thats an incremental 25W for the box, or 18.6KWh/month. At my incremental energy cost of $0.31/KWh, thats $5.80/month. Not awful, but enough to be annoying :-)
But you could put the client into S3, whats the power draw then? Very low I assume, so your extra energy costs will likely be a lot less, unless you watch 24/7
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 08-10-2011, 02:26 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby View Post
But you could put the client into S3, whats the power draw then? Very low I assume, so your extra energy costs will likely be a lot less, unless you watch 24/7
Correct, my client in s3 sleep draws 2.2W (0.4W in S4). That's LESS than the 4W the HD300 draws when in standby.. so if it's someplace like a master BR, the power usage might be LESS with the client than the extender - just depends on actual usage time.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless G Client - Found A Solution DRM2PVR Hardware Support 3 11-23-2009 12:44 PM
Sage TV Client Menus Very slow - solution lbouthillier SageTV Software 0 01-16-2006 01:58 PM
Client hardware: hardware decoder? specs? natesneat2000 General Discussion 9 10-26-2004 06:37 PM
Client load on startup problem/solution mdmint SageTV Software 2 05-16-2004 06:47 PM
best hardware decoder solution for client? mcbain SageTV Software 0 03-28-2004 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.