SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:25 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Another Google Fiber (Sage 8) video

I don't know if this has already been linked but here is another video showing the Google Fiber DVR interface: Here.

At about the 5 minute mark he shows the settings page and then the legal page. I thought it was interesting that Stuckless got credit for their use of the sagex-api.

I also looked up the open source link but don't really know if there is anything interesting there or not. It does list code for an Hdhomerun Prime.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:41 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
That is cool

It's also cool that the device is actually running SageTV 8.x and that it uses a STV for the UI. There maybe some potential to test how much effort it would be to get the STV working on a SageTV 7 box
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:12 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Thats pretty awesome Sean! congrats.

did u know about this already? i can only assume yes...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:42 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Only 403MB for JVM Heap size?

It would be nice to be able to backport the Netflix functionality that is in Sage 8.1.1.3 to a version that the rest of us can use.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:45 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Thats pretty awesome Sean! congrats.

did u know about this already? i can only assume yes...
Yeah... I was aware of it. Although it will be short lived. In version 2 they'll be using their own protocol, but for now, they needed something quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:51 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I wonder how many SageTV plugin coders from around here were involved in the Google Fiber TV stuff...

Nice find by the way
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 09:06 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185


makes me sad seeing development continue, and knowing that we don't have any upgrade path (at least not currently.)
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:37 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Only 403MB for JVM Heap size?
They are using JVM 1.5, maybe the footprint and memory requirement are smaller?
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:00 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
They are using JVM 1.5, maybe the footprint and memory requirement are smaller?
Core SageTV without ANY plugins running (ie, no web server, no bmt, phoenix, gemstone, fanart, comskip, etc) can easily run in 400mb jvm. I think the core SageTV used to ship with 128m or 256m but then they upped it once plugins become much easier to install.

Also that not sure but that video may be reporting the memory of the "client" which is most likely an extender, so jvm for that would be much less.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2013, 10:12 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post


makes me sad seeing development continue, and knowing that we don't have any upgrade path (at least not currently.)
Maybe I am wrong, but I am confident its coming...more confident than I was in the beginning of December that my Ravens were going to the Super Bowl...and I was right about that.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-23-2013, 10:32 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
After seeing the genius developers around this SageTV joint and what they have come up with for add-ons for SageTV, I just figured Google would keep things rolling here, not just the forum, but a SageTV8 for PC just to see what you guys can come up with for awesome add-ons.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:42 PM
jm987 jm987 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 62
Maybe it's just me but the most interesting part that I saw was at 4:44 the system info screen shows it's running linux and they have a netflix app.
__________________
Selling Sage Hardware and Software.
View the remaining items.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2013, 03:53 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by jm987 View Post
Maybe it's just me but the most interesting part that I saw was at 4:44 the system info screen shows it's running linux and they have a netflix app.
There are plenty of Linux boxes running Netflix - there is no rule saying netflix can't run on Linux - as long as it can still ensure the security of the content and get Netflix's approval.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-2013, 07:48 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
I know I'm still not going anywhere because there is still nothing else that is overall better than Sage (for my needs anyway). I just wish it worked with encrypted digital channels....

Hopefully Jeff will get us a version of FiberTV that works outside of the Google Fiber ecosystem.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:42 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Yeah... I was aware of it. Although it will be short lived. In version 2 they'll be using their own protocol, but for now, they needed something quickly.
I hope they at least sent you a nice fruit basket or a membership to the jelly-of-the-month club.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:06 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
There are plenty of Linux boxes running Netflix - there is no rule saying netflix can't run on Linux - as long as it can still ensure the security of the content and get Netflix's approval.
Though in most (all?) cases it's Linux CE and not what you see on the typical Linux desktop...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-24-2013, 02:21 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
I hope they at least sent you a nice fruit basket or a membership to the jelly-of-the-month club.
Personally, I was just thrilled enough that they found some value in it. It's open source, so they didn't really need my permission or anything, but Jeff did contact me before hand to let me know that they were intending to use it in this release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Though in most (all?) cases it's Linux CE and not what you see on the typical Linux desktop...
Linux CE would just be Linux There are no technical reason why Netflix doesn't run on a regular desktop, short of what Fuzzy alluded to... in that Netflix tends to only make it's applications available to closed systems (for security reasons). I'm doubtful we'll ever see Netflix running a Ubuntu Desktop, but they could it tomorrow, if they wanted to The fact that we see a software listed on the SageTV 8 device tells me that it won't be like the HD300 with on open telnet port and full root access
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-24-2013, 03:09 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I'm dying to try my HD300 out in a Google Fiber home to see if it will work as an extender on their system.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-24-2013, 03:22 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm dying to try my HD300 out in a Google Fiber home to see if it will work as an extender on their system.
If I recall, I think Jeff answered that question a few months back implying that it would not work.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:11 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm dying to try my HD300 out in a Google Fiber home to see if it will work as an extender on their system.
I can almost guarantee you that it will not work.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Fiber + SageTV SHS General Discussion 58 05-02-2013 07:45 AM
Google Fiber Launched Yesterday...any word about the Google Fiber TV? rwc General Discussion 4 11-14-2012 03:23 PM
Google Fiber nycjoe General Discussion 300 10-22-2012 08:26 PM
Google Fiber GFHD100 Brent General Discussion 17 06-14-2012 01:06 PM
Can you add another online video SVC besides Youtube or Google Video mgunn30341 SageTV Software 7 12-22-2007 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.