SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

View Poll Results: What is your Dream SageTV Client
The HD300 extender client is perfect for my needs 24 17.39%
HD300 extedender for 2015+ (4K, h265, Altmos, Hi10p) 83 60.14%
Linux/Windows PC NUC 19 13.77%
Kodi x86 Windows or Linux client 9 6.52%
Android Kodi client 7 5.07%
Android SageTV client 44 31.88%
Speciality device (FireTV, Apple, Roku, game console) 45 32.61%
Plex/UPnP client on any device is fine 14 10.14%
Also support DRM streaming (eg Netflix, Hulu, Spotify) 56 40.58%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 138. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-21-2015, 10:58 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
I beat you didn't know this but we all ready have OTA H.264 it called ATSC-M/H
I know our tv wouldn't. Much too old.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-21-2015, 11:08 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
But how many tv's on the in the market support it?
It was mint for Mobile/Handheld device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I know our tv wouldn't. Much too old.
Your right as I don't own a TV that what PC Monitor is for

Last edited by SHS; 03-21-2015 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-21-2015, 11:14 AM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 387
I didn't put it in my poll, because I consider 1080i playback is a given. It is not just m2v codec either h264 is also typically 1080i or mixed mode 1080i/p for PVR users.

Unfortunately for us, the consumer market for streaming players (Apple, Roku and FireTV) and also most cell phone SoC pretty much ignore interlaced content. Devices that stream 1080p 100Mbs can hiccup on 480i at 2 Mbs.

It's not really a new problem, I figure the limited success of the MediaMVP was largely because of the PVR market to SageTV, MythTV and GBPVR users who had trouble deinterlacing on their PC's video cards. I still have a custom GBPVR client I built years before the original HD100 for the old Roku HD1000 that plays 1080i better than many devices do today.

In North America ATSC 3.0 is supposed to be h265 HEVC not h264 I doubt it will be interlaced.

Martin

Last edited by emveepee; 03-21-2015 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-21-2015, 11:34 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by emveepee View Post
In North America ATSC 3.0 is supposed to be h265 HEVC not h264 I doubt it will be interlaced.

Martin
That right Martin MPEG-H HEVC (H.265 codec) with OFDM modulation and that right no interlaced it must be progressive scan in 480p, 720p, 1080p and 4K UHD
But there no tell when we will see this it maybe 5/10 years from now
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-21-2015, 12:12 PM
RayGannon RayGannon is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 22
I personally would like to see an android client. Specifically one for the Amazon FireTV. I've seen several posts mentioing lack of mpeg support but that doesn't seem to be a poblem with SPMC which is a FireTV specific Kodi/XBMC build. I record OTA from my HDHomeRun's via MythTV and play back using the MythTV client plugin for Kodi on my FireTV. Both 720 and 1080 streams play fine. This is local TV not Blueray. You just don't need that much horsepower to do a good job.

My second choice would be a full media extender type implimentation running on a Raspberry Pi. There are several Pi based set top box packages available for purchase for the non-techie types. You probably wouldn't get HD audio to work and a paying back full bit rate Bluerays would probably be a fail. But I sispect this would outperform an HD100 and maybe even a HD200 for well under $100.

Add in a Roku channel and you cover the vast majority of installs. Kids rooms, kitchens, exercise rooms, etc.

In the mean time the community could develop an upgrade to the HD300 for those higher end home theater types.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-21-2015, 12:43 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,117
no special breakout cable needed. loved HD200 for that reason, HDMI, component, optical, composite...and no worries about a broken or lost cable.
ideally, several units with different features would be best: USB dongle type, full-connection type, etc. Three's good number
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-21-2015, 03:17 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,271
I have a Pi1 and haven't noticed any problems playing back any blu-ray rips (fully overclocked). Full 3D/MVC playback has even been enabled in recent 15.0 test builds. If it wasn't for the lack of HD audio passthrough, these would be almost perfect.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-21-2015, 07:12 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
I rather stick with Android apps and use one of those Android stick like Firestick.

I own a Firestick and a Roku which perform excellent so it kinda nice to have it hidden behind the TV and operate wirelessly. Also it can be powered off TV's USB saving electricity not having to use another power adapter in the outlet.

If you do a search on "Android TV stick" you will find many different hardware stick on the market.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-21-2015, 07:14 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
I rather stick with Android apps and use one of those Android stick like Firestick.

I own a Firestick and a Roku which perform excellent so it kinda nice to have it hidden behind the TV and operate wirelessly. Also it can be powered off TV's USB saving electricity not having to use another power adapter in the outlet.

If you do a search on "Android TV stick" you will find many different hardware stick on the market.

Bill
Ya but the new intel stick will be far superior and probably a good option if you want a stick configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-21-2015, 07:21 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
I did a little reading and found some overclock settings for the Pi2, I tried playing 30mbps H.264 file and it seemed to play ok, on stock settings the same file locked up Openelec after a couple of minutes. I also read somewhere that the Pi running OMX player should handle video up to 40mbps.
I posted somewhere that I was able to play a 45Mbps, Level 4.2 file on a Pi Model B using Kodi (as well as omxplayer) ...
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 03-21-2015, 09:29 PM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
The Intel NUC works great. I still have some codec issues with the odd video, never bothered solving as I switched to Plex to my dismay, constantly missing Sage.

I'm back on board with Sage with this news.

A few items I'd love to see, mainly stuff I've seen Plex do...

Scrapping, it's almost instantaneous and simple.
Great cross platform ability
Placeshifter that is simple, guess that's part in the same as the above

I would like to be able to have a Plex like UI if I want. I tried Gemstone but I frankly found it confusing and not very intuitive to use. I'm sure it isn't though given enough time playing with it.

An HD400, the 300 is amazing, however I've had one fail, and the others seem to have issues rendering some files, I'm thinking newer codecs are giving it issues, but I'm no expert. The NUC is a great replacement but not as nice as an extender.
__________________


2xhd300
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-22-2015, 10:41 AM
Damstas Damstas is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 39
Android TV or Raspberry Pi in the living room and remote recordings on iOS and Android.
Possible integration with Kodi?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-22-2015, 03:02 PM
asd asd is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by toony View Post
The Intel NUC works great. I still have some codec issues with the odd video, never bothered solving as I switched to Plex to my dismay, constantly missing Sage.

I'm back on board with Sage with this news.

A few items I'd love to see, mainly stuff I've seen Plex do...

Scrapping, it's almost instantaneous and simple.
Great cross platform ability
Placeshifter that is simple, guess that's part in the same as the above

I would like to be able to have a Plex like UI if I want. I tried Gemstone but I frankly found it confusing and not very intuitive to use. I'm sure it isn't though given enough time playing with it.

An HD400, the 300 is amazing, however I've had one fail, and the others seem to have issues rendering some files, I'm thinking newer codecs are giving it issues, but I'm no expert. The NUC is a great replacement but not as nice as an extender.
I'm not sure "scrapping" is a good idea -- particularly if it's instantaneous. Some of those parts might be useful, some of those media files too.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 03-22-2015, 03:41 PM
polen's Avatar
polen polen is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 239
Does anyone have a Vidon Box?

http://www.vidon.me/

Looks like a promising device for $69.99 and I also saw it for $49.99. They claim playing a DVD or Blu-ray from an ISO file off your network. Kodi is already running on it. I'm thinking of getting it just to see what it's all about.

I would also like to add that a future box needs DRM. I moved to the greenbutton due to many channels DRMed. DRM would require $$$ and contracts with Cable Labs. Not sure if that's even possible with Open Source, is it?
__________________
WMC Server: Windows 8.1, Dell PowerEdge T110, 12G ram, 2x2TB hd, 4xHDHR, HDHR Prime, 1000Mb/s
Provider: Suddenlink Cable
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-22-2015, 06:33 PM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
U
Quote:
Originally Posted by asd View Post
I'm not sure "scrapping" is a good idea -- particularly if it's instantaneous. Some of those parts might be useful, some of those media files too.
Lol oops
__________________


2xhd300
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-23-2015, 01:17 AM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 176
As a FireTV owner I'd love to see a SageTV app although as has been stated by others, mpeg2 is problematic and yes that even includes SPMC which can only currently do Bob. Unless someone can figure out how to enable mpeg2 decoding or you plan on having your SageTV server transcode to h.264, SageTV app for FireTV and a lot of android devices is wishful thinking.

Last edited by 7up; 03-23-2015 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 03-23-2015, 05:55 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Yes all they do, no need worry and don't buy in to 4K HDMI cables nonsense
Unfortunately it's not that simple. A lot of the early 4K TVs didn't have HDMI 2.0, only HDMI 1.4 (which does support some 4K).

The other, bigger issue is most 4K sources do or will require HDCP 2.2 for content protection, so you need HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 if you want to be sure everything will work.

But wait, there's more, there's also two flavors of HDMI 2.0, 10.2Gbps, and 18Gbps. You need 18Gbps if you want everything HDMI 2.0 is capable of, but almost nothing supports that, and IIRC most things that do support 18Gbps so far, don't support HDCP 2.2.

And there's even more, Ultra HD Blu-ray is going to support 10 bit+ video, HDR, and Rec2020 gamut (probably most movies will use DCI P3 gamut), and most "4K" displays so far don't support all of these either (specifically HDR and Rec2020/P3). So when it comes to 4K displays, at this point I think it's still best to wait.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 03-23-2015, 08:07 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I'm very surprised at the number of people who want this 'new client' to support DRM streaming like Netflix. Who doesn't have at least one device that (officially) supports that already? I doubt an OS project would be able to do that. Or does everyone mean a hack like NetfliXBMC or PlayOn/PlayLater?
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 03-23-2015, 08:12 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
People want to have to use only one device/UI. If I want to watch a show or movie why should I care if it comes from a ripped DVD, a TV recording, Netflix, Hulu, Amazon or whatever and then have to choose a specific device to access that service.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 03-23-2015, 08:28 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Unfortunately it's not that simple. A lot of the early 4K TVs didn't have HDMI 2.0, only HDMI 1.4 (which does support some 4K).

The other, bigger issue is most 4K sources do or will require HDCP 2.2 for content protection, so you need HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 if you want to be sure everything will work.

But wait, there's more, there's also two flavors of HDMI 2.0, 10.2Gbps, and 18Gbps. You need 18Gbps if you want everything HDMI 2.0 is capable of, but almost nothing supports that, and IIRC most things that do support 18Gbps so far, don't support HDCP 2.2.

And there's even more, Ultra HD Blu-ray is going to support 10 bit+ video, HDR, and Rec2020 gamut (probably most movies will use DCI P3 gamut), and most "4K" displays so far don't support all of these either (specifically HDR and Rec2020/P3). So when it comes to 4K displays, at this point I think it's still best to wait.
I though they all come with (1) 2.0 and 1.4 port
I know 2.2 not backwards compatibility with older tech that all ready piss off a lot people.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dream to ability view SageTV recordings on Android bjkiller SageTV v7 Customizations 4 09-06-2012 03:16 PM
My SageTV Configuration Dream vogelap General Discussion 12 07-14-2009 04:08 PM
Help SageTV Properties and DVB Dream squeed SageTV Software 2 04-17-2009 09:04 PM
I have a dream (in HD <g>) Deacon Crusher Hardware Support 0 12-16-2005 01:23 PM
Dream DTV?!? phantomfsoc Hardware Support 1 03-07-2004 04:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.