SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-26-2019, 01:55 PM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 129
Wnjj,
Thanks for your help on this! I made a log of my working system and with your first try at the fix and was ready to upload when I saw you had another jar and dll to try. I tried that one and it made no difference. In the archive the broke-secondtry is with your second dll and jar file. After it wouldn't exit I tried to schedule a recording and tried to exit again as I wasn't sure if killing the task would still get all of the log file.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f2ecple7un...eLogs.zip?dl=1


Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
sagetv_0.txt.

I did find something that needed fixed. Here are updated DLL's along with the patched jar. On your 32-bit system, you just need the 32-bit DLL (renamed back to DirecTVSerialControl.dll) and the jar.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6uf61qtvkf...ol_v1.zip?dl=0

davidb, if you want to try again, use this link instead.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-26-2019, 06:10 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb View Post
Wnjj,
Thanks for your help on this! I made a log of my working system and with your first try at the fix and was ready to upload when I saw you had another jar and dll to try. I tried that one and it made no difference. In the archive the broke-secondtry is with your second dll and jar file. After it wouldn't exit I tried to schedule a recording and tried to exit again as I wasn't sure if killing the task would still get all of the log file.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f2ecple7un...eLogs.zip?dl=1
Ok. So what I had fixed for the _32bit_v1 version was a header issue that would definitely have caused the "UnsatisfiedLink" error you were seeing. The problem is the new DLL does the same thing for you. I'm sure you are very thorough but is there any chance you didn't use the latest DLL during that last test (or maybe it was somehow still loaded in memory?).

I'm at a loss otherwise.

It successfully calls into the openDTVSerial0 function which didn't have any change to its arguments from the 9.1.x version. Then it fails to find dtvSerialChannel0 which I did change one argument from a jint to a jlong. The difference between those is the name the DLL exposes for Java to call into. On 32-bit DLL's the name includes the number of bytes of arguments after an '@'. I used Dependency Walker to compare the original 9.1.x DLL to both my first broken one and latest 'v1' one. The v1 one matches except for the larger byte count that I would expect. The Java error says it's looking for a function with Long and Int (sage.DirecTVSerialControl.dtvSerialChannel0(JI)Z) which should match the one the v1 DLL exports with 4 more bytes.

I'm busy this evening and much of tomorrow but will check in on progress if there is any. I may have to make a standalone Java 'main' to call into this DLL to confirm it all works on my end. Worst case I could revert all of the code back for 32-bit just to prove the compiling process is sound but that won't help for 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-27-2019, 10:48 AM
Melancholy Man Melancholy Man is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 9
Ok the channel changing is working now. Thanks guys you are awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-27-2019, 12:00 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melancholy Man View Post
Ok the channel changing is working now. Thanks guys you are awesome.
That’s good news. Just to confirm, you’re using the _v1 version I posted? If davidb can confirm it works well for him too I’ll submit the changes for inclusion in the next release. Until then I’ll hold off in case there’s something specific about his system or use of more than one port that is still broken. Ideally someone can test 64-bit as well.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:45 PM
Melancholy Man Melancholy Man is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 9
I did use the V1 file and I am running the 64 bit version of Sage. I didn't want to install the 32 bit program over my 9.1.8 version. After I am satisfied the 64 bit version is stable I can install the 32 bit version if you like.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-27-2019, 02:01 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melancholy Man View Post
I did use the V1 file and I am running the 64 bit version of Sage. I didn't want to install the 32 bit program over my 9.1.8 version. After I am satisfied the 64 bit version is stable I can install the 32 bit version if you like.
Getting DLL functions working on 64-bit is actually easier since they standardized on the function calling syntax. It may be that the 32-bit version is still not working. If youíre feeling like helping that would be great but otherwise it looks like davidb has a 32-bit test setup. Iím surprised nobody ran into this for most of a year but itís good to get the bugs ironed out.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-27-2019, 06:44 PM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 129
wnjj,

I downloaded the file again and yes it works! Sorry I must not have confirmed the second download and ended up trying the previous file only.
The channel change on both tuners is working as well as sage exiting properly.

Thanks for the fix!
David

Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Ok. So what I had fixed for the _32bit_v1 version was a header issue that would definitely have caused the "UnsatisfiedLink" error you were seeing. The problem is the new DLL does the same thing for you. I'm sure you are very thorough but is there any chance you didn't use the latest DLL during that last test (or maybe it was somehow still loaded in memory?).

I'm at a loss otherwise.

It successfully calls into the openDTVSerial0 function which didn't have any change to its arguments from the 9.1.x version. Then it fails to find dtvSerialChannel0 which I did change one argument from a jint to a jlong. The difference between those is the name the DLL exposes for Java to call into. On 32-bit DLL's the name includes the number of bytes of arguments after an '@'. I used Dependency Walker to compare the original 9.1.x DLL to both my first broken one and latest 'v1' one. The v1 one matches except for the larger byte count that I would expect. The Java error says it's looking for a function with Long and Int (sage.DirecTVSerialControl.dtvSerialChannel0(JI)Z) which should match the one the v1 DLL exports with 4 more bytes.

I'm busy this evening and much of tomorrow but will check in on progress if there is any. I may have to make a standalone Java 'main' to call into this DLL to confirm it all works on my end. Worst case I could revert all of the code back for 32-bit just to prove the compiling process is sound but that won't help for 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-27-2019, 06:49 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb View Post
wnjj,

I downloaded the file again and yes it works! Sorry I must not have confirmed the second download and ended up trying the previous file only.
The channel change on both tuners is working as well as sage exiting properly.

Thanks for the fix!
David
Thatís great news. Iíll get it into the main codebase when I get a little time. Thanks for the confirmation.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using DirecTV serial control cable on a USB port? bstowers Hardware Support 8 07-05-2008 12:23 PM
rca directv serial cable for cheap berfsicle General Discussion 3 07-18-2005 12:14 PM
Does anyone know, where can i find the (serial control cable) schematic, for directv? underp Hardware Support 1 01-21-2005 03:01 PM
DirecTV - changing channels with serial cable jdbrown SageTV Software 24 09-23-2004 01:09 PM
serial (low speed) cable to control RCA Directv Box? padre Hardware Support 11 10-09-2003 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.