SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:42 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
SageTV 3rd Party Devs & Google Acquisition

If you're one of the many awesome 3rd party devs for SageTV I'm wondering if you've contacted google as mentioned on the announcement at sagetv.com:

Quote:
"we encourage interested developers to email:
sagetv-dev@google.com"
If so, let me know what you hear back via DM or email. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:45 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 601
Brent, what happened with the the Google rep you were going to talk to a couple days ago?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:49 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
Brent, what happened with the the Google rep you were going to talk to a couple days ago?
Just sent a long list of questions which I should get an answer on soon? I'm dealing with PR which means the answers might take a while and WILL be carefully vetted. I'll miss the days of dealing with a very small company...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2011, 01:01 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 601
Thanks for doing this. Most of us wouldn't know where to start to try to track down information.

Over the years you and your site have been valuable sources of info on SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2011, 01:48 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
If you're one of the many awesome 3rd party devs for SageTV I'm wondering if you've contacted google as mentioned on the announcement at sagetv.com:

If so, let me know what you hear back via DM or email. Thanks!
I'll do this when I get home tonight.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:01 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I emailed them, haven't had any response yet of course, but we'll see.....

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:51 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I emailed them, haven't had any response yet of course, but we'll see.....

btl.
Hey Brian,

What did you say in the email?
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:54 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Hello,

I'm an active developer in the SageTV User community - so I am interested in what direction Google will take SageTV and the future of Sage. I'm hopeful that SageTV + GoogleTV can really become something bigger and better than either are today.

One of the great strengths of Sage is the level of customization allowed by SageTV Studio - I hope that any future developments from Google will include something similar. Sage's decision to allow a complete replacement of the UI (made possible by the very complete API exposed by the SageTV core) really allows a level of customization for 'power' users / developers that can't be beat anywhere.

Looking forward to good things from Google.
btl.
btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:04 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
btl ?

Between the Lines?
Beyond the Limits?
Big Time Loser?
Born Too Late?
Bubba the Love Sponge?

S
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:41 PM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
Not a plug-in developer myself, just wanted to add my 5ψre (my local 5’ ). Have done a local-backup-recover of all I need of SageTV components as of now ('fake' local plug-in install repository, I hope work if reinstall).

But one of the greatest strength of SageTV, from my egoistical viewpoint, is the quality of the user-2-user (+developers) interaction of the community here. Never been at a better place. Have mentioned it before, a little quote from an earlier revision of myself:
Quote:
Originally Posted by voidpt View Post
I got to say I'm actually dreading the day if/when SageTV gets really mainstream. The influx of people that have no patience, no contribution, no manners will kill much of the forums. As it is now, I could not ask for better people to share this forum with.
Not hoping this comes true. My plea to anyone having influence on future SageTV/Google: Please please keep a forum like this, preferably moderated. Do not lose the competence assembled here.
If it all goes to <beep>, for the good times
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) • JavaRE 1.6.0_37 • 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) • Win7 x64 • Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz • 16GB PC3-10600 ECC • ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) • APC Back-UPS RS 800 • STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-20-2011, 04:19 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
+1. I love this community!
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2011, 09:05 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Quote:
('fake' local plug-in install repository)
Hi voidpt,
Might I get you to post how to locally save the plugins and get sage to use that repository? I've collected the software and firmware I would need, but have no idea how to save and install the plugins locally. I understand if it's too complicated to post.

Thanks,

Bobby
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:07 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
Hi voidpt,
Might I get you to post how to locally save the plugins and get sage to use that repository? I've collected the software and firmware I would need, but have no idea how to save and install the plugins locally. I understand if it's too complicated to post.

Thanks,

Bobby
I haven't actually done this (yet) so there might be some details I'm overlooking, but, in a nutshell, this is what you'd need to do:
  • Make a copy of C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\SageTVPlugins.xml
  • Download every zip file referenced in that XML file and place it on a local web server
  • Replace the zip file links with the address of the local/alternate web server
  • Replace SageTVPlugins.xml with your edited copy
  • (Optional) Block Sage server app from accessing XML file from web (so it's not overwritten) via firewall settings, etc. This will allow Sage to continue to use your local repository. Of course, you then miss updates to the repository. The step is moot if/when the Sage repository is shutdown.

I've been looking at writing a script to replicate the SageTV plugin repository locally for various reasons - my plugin dev work being the major one. Never really bothered with it, but now I've been revisiting those scripts. I don't have anything anywhere near ready to use in order to automatically achieve the steps above, but it's something I'll probably chip away at now during the summer, along with my plans for some type of EPG plugin alternative, just in case all of the Sage infrastructure suddenly goes MIA.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:19 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
I think it would be good idea to setup an internet based alternate repository for all of us if we can find somewhere to host it. Just like the current one, available to all, just run by users instead of Sage.

S
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:39 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
That all seems pretty straight foward, and hopefully I/We won't need it. I think ultimately somebody will set up an off site repository. But I like to cover my A$$ just in case As to your line:

Quote:
Download every zip file referenced in that XML file and place it on a local web server
I'm having trouble finding these zips in the user created software areas. I'm sure I'm looking in the wrong place though. Are they kept in one area? Or are they scattered about listed by developer?

Thanks,

Bobby
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:52 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
I'm having trouble finding these zips in the user created software areas. I'm sure I'm looking in the wrong place though. Are they kept in one area? Or are they scattered about listed by developer?
You only really need the ones hosted on SageTV's server, you can keep the other links to dropbox and such as is...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:12 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Quote:
You only really need the ones hosted on SageTV's server, you can keep the other links to dropbox and such as is...
Are they kept in one location?
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-21-2011, 05:35 AM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
@BobbyDing

Slugger has covered exactly my thoughts. As soon as I saw the Google info I did a manual read/parse through my latest SageTVPlugins.xml file. For all the plugins I have indicated as installed I did a manual download of ZIP file(s) referenced in <Package>/<Location> entry(s). My initial goal was just to have latest version of all files and experiment later.

Still early days. Feel a little like "the sky is falling" doing this Better to be safe than sorry though, like to keep my options open. But for now I will sit back and hope for some more info from SageTV/Google. Depending on that I might use some of the weekend to verify and test "scratch" installation in a virtual environment. Just to make sure it can work. Will do a post at that point of my experience.

PS: There is a default entry in Sage.properties set to disable_plugin_repository_updates=false. Might be a trigger to disable update of the XML file if set to true, or something else

@Brent
Sorry for derailing the thread. Suggest we continue discussions in a separate SageTV-Survival-Kit thread (if not started somewhere already).
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) • JavaRE 1.6.0_37 • 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) • Win7 x64 • Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz • 16GB PC3-10600 ECC • ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) • APC Back-UPS RS 800 • STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:36 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by voidpt View Post
PS: There is a default entry in Sage.properties set to disable_plugin_repository_updates=false. Might be a trigger to disable update of the XML file if set to true, or something else
Setting that to true simply stops sage from checking for a newer version of the manifest .xml file (which gets updated any time somebody adds, removes, or updates a plugin). So if you manually edit the manifest file, and don't want Sage to overwrite it, set the value to true.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-22-2011, 07:53 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
Any devs get a response back from google and allowed to talk about it?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request: Diamond development thoughts on Google acquisition Gunserotti Diamond 15 11-13-2011 11:06 PM
Possible to extend 21-day v7 trial until Google acquisition resolved? t4uecker SageTV Software 13 06-24-2011 07:13 AM
Thanks to the devs! Skirge01 SageTV v7 Customizations 6 05-24-2010 03:10 PM
How to minimize sagetv when play third party program BigDragon SageMC Custom Interface 10 06-06-2009 10:34 PM
Question for SageMC plugin devs dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 4 09-19-2007 04:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.