SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:19 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Arrow STV Import: Sage Movie Wall V2 (SMW)

Currently in Public Beta*** (I say this mostly as phoenix sage, and sagemc are in beta as well)
Current Version = V4.01 Updated 10/06/09

Download latest version

****************************************************************
Pre-release talk can be found here
Link
*****************************************************************
Finally for release is my Import Sage Movie Wall or SMW for you acronym lovers.

I started this project because the default Sagemc Video Library screen was too lacking coming from media center. After many, many builds it has gotten allot better but is not finished yet. Sage Movie Wall is now over 500 builds into it . That being said there is a version 5 preview view in this build V5 will be a complete we-rite from the ground up

I need to thank a couple of people first

• RazrSharpe- Without his help on our API and our teamwork helping each other where we can this app would not be near where it is today.
• DBone- For his relentless testing and I mean relentless also for doing a great blog writeup on how to install and use SMW!!.
• RLSimpson & Feekill- for their Photoshop work much appreciated.
• Brent- For his continued blog writings/instructions and support testing
• BabgVant- For hosting all my crap and his also relentless testing
• PeterReader & PeterH- Also are relentless testers and give their ideas/feedback constantly.
• MeinMaui and Stuckless-Their work/efforts on phoenix api and Sagemc are relentless and none of this would be possible without it.


Lastly but not least all the other beta testers they are a huge reason you see some of the things that are there today because of their input and suggestions. They really helped the import come along.
Alright enough of that now for the good stuff.

Installation Instructions can be found here.

Instructions

ShortCuts

Guide = Actors in current movie

Search = Quick Categories

Stop = Grab focus of scrollable info if there is any.

Skip2 (ff&bb) = quick change of current filterset.




Known Issues


1. When you use the sidebar (letters) and select one. When you move off that one it may go up or down instead of sideways. (In folder/poster view)
2. Does not work with Touchscreen Import

SageMovieWAll no longer supports folder.jpegs fully and fanart is required. If you have folder jpegs please use the below conversion tool to get it in fanart structure nothing else is required but this extra tool

Advanced Fanart Tool

Black backgound in wall is correct and non adjustable if I allow themes they bleed through when transparancy is set and makes it look bad.
There are still some things I want to add or change will put that list up shortly.

Remember you cannot re-import new version on top of old always start with a blank mc.xml

If you are running a version before version 4 you must delete all properties that start with "pluckyhd" from your properties file before runing version 4.

Enjoy!!!!!
Version 4


Screen caps of V 4.0
3DWall
ActorsInMovie
CoverFlow
CoverFlowInfo
GridViewBlack
GridViewBlue
GridViewBurnt
ListView
ListViewInfo
ListViewScrollableInfo
Small List
WallView
WallViewInfoHorizontal
WallViewInfoVertical
WallViewInfoScroll

HomePage

Actors/Directors/Writers
Categories/Tags

Homepage Themes

Joker
StarWars
Reflections

TaggingMenu

CustomTags

Preview view of version 5 (not fully supported yet but does function and meant to be a preview of “What’s To Come”) . There are a couple of issues with is currently but you can use it if you want.

What’s to Come
What’s to Come Info

Version History

2.01 05/07/2009
• Version two release --v.2 changelog
V3 1.04 06/29/2009
• Version three release v3 released

V4 1.00 08/28/2009
• Version Four release almost a complete re-write from version 3.

V4 1.01 10/06/2009
• Misc Patches/fixes for V4. List of fixes

Last edited by PLUCKYHD; 10-26-2009 at 06:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:22 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
***placedholder for request/issues****

Please try and post all issues/request at the following googlesite if posted on these forums cannot guarantee they will be fixed. Also please check this forum for resolution to make sure it really is an error.

IssuePosting

Last edited by PLUCKYHD; 11-30-2009 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:23 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Looks nice. I'll try to take it for a spin today.

Appreciate the work!!

Matt
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:33 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Cool, I'll give this a whirl in a bit as I missed the last few beta versions.

Nice job
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2009, 11:02 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Looks good.

BTW: You might want to change the two screencaps you posted to .jpg or.png. As BMP they are a huge download.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2009, 11:18 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Looks good.

BTW: You might want to change the two screencaps you posted to .jpg or.png. As BMP they are a huge download.
Yeah they are big but when I lower the size (jpeg or .png) they loose to much quality hopefully all has broadband
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2009, 12:37 PM
Gog Gog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 97
I've been hoping for something like this for a long time. I guess I don't have to learn studio now

Screenshots are exactly what I'm looking for. I can't wait to get home and try this.

Thanks for the hard work.

Gog
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2009, 12:50 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Yeah they are big but when I lower the size (jpeg or .png) they loose to much quality hopefully all has broadband
Awesome work! Once stuff is out of beta, I'll be installing all of these great new toys! I changed them to JPG's and saved them at 90% quality to get down to 338k and 210k.

EDIT: PLUCKYHD has replaced the ones he was linking to with the ones I provided, so my attachments are no longer required.

Last edited by Skirge01; 04-24-2009 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:05 PM
mkstretch mkstretch is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 106
I put the Movie wall .xml in the STV folder in program files sagetv/sagetv/sagtv3/stv. Whnd I go to detailed setup advanced menu and change sageTv application package to from SageTV3.xml to the moviewall.xml I get a black screen. Any help would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:57 PM
dbone1026's Avatar
dbone1026 dbone1026 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkstretch View Post
I put the Movie wall .xml in the STV folder in program files sagetv/sagetv/sagtv3/stv. Whnd I go to detailed setup advanced menu and change sageTv application package to from SageTV3.xml to the moviewall.xml I get a black screen. Any help would be great.
Wrong spot, you load SMW from:

SageMC Setup -> Main -> Screen Specific Options -> Video Library -> Custom Video Library Screen

You will need to go back into your Sage.properties file and put SageTV3.xml back (unless someone knows another way)
__________________
Cheers
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-30-2009, 04:05 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Wrong spot, you load SMW from:

SageMC Setup -> Main -> Screen Specific Options -> Video Library -> Custom Video Library Screen

You will need to go back into your Sage.properties file and put SageTV3.xml back (unless someone knows another way)
First and foremost u must import it into sagemc using stvi import

You saying you replaced sagetv3.XML makes me think you are running the default stv?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-30-2009, 04:17 PM
mkstretch mkstretch is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
First and foremost u must import it into sagemc using stvi import

You saying you replaced sagetv3.XML makes me think you are running the default stv?

Where do i find STVI import in Sage MC 6.5? Dbone I cant find the video library screen either. I go to setup in sage MC 6.5 and I do not see menu I see detailed setup only. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-30-2009, 05:28 PM
dbone1026's Avatar
dbone1026 dbone1026 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkstretch View Post
Where do i find STVI import in Sage MC 6.5? Dbone I cant find the video library screen either. I go to setup in sage MC 6.5 and I do not see menu I see detailed setup only. Thanks guys.
As PluckyHD mentioned I think you may be confusing SageTV with SageMC (SageTV is on 6.5.18, SageMC is on 6.3.9). Are you sure you loaded SageMC?
__________________
Cheers
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-13-2009, 10:06 AM
MHAD MHAD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Hi all,

I'm new to SageTV and I'm getting to grips with the wealth of customizations available. First of all I must say that the user community and the time and effort that people put into this is amazing - thank you all very much !

I'm trying out SageMovieWall for the first time and I'm stuck - can anyone help me with where I'm going wrong please?

This is what I've done so far, copied from the instructions on page1 of this thread.

Shut down sage ui - done

1. Backup your sage folder (This is beta) - done
2. Make sure you are running the latest beta sagemc version and phoneix api or BMT latest version - done. I'm using SageMC v6.3.9a prerelease 46, and BMT version 2.3.1 from here http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...batch+metadata I think BMT is working OK because my movies now have .properties files and .jpg files that they didn't have before
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...37&postcount=6

3. Version 6.18RC is required (I believe didn't test below that.) - done. I'm using the latest Sage 6.5.9.204
4. Extract the attached into your Sagetv\sagetv folder - done
5. Import Latest Version of BMI (batched metadata importer) Version 3.0 or above is required!!! Import of the add-in is required before Sagemoviewall if you use addin. - this is where I got stuck initially. I hadn't realised that this "import" was in Sage in the Options / Settings bit. I've done this now and as above, I think this is working as my movies now have dvd covers as thumbnails and .properties files in the same directory.
6. Import Sagemoivewallv1.xml from a blank sagemc xml. (by blank I mean one that doesn't already have a SMW any version imported over it.) Make sure you 5re using latest beta of Sage and Sagemc. - not done - I can't find sagemoviewallv1.xml anywhere. Where should I be looking? I don't fully understand the instruction about importing "from a blank sagemc xml I'm afraid. What does this mean?
7. Import Sagemoivewallv3-b1.xml from a blank sagemc xml. (will not import over existing) Make sure you are using latest beta of Sage and Sagemc. - I did have sagemoviewallv3-b1.xml in the "import STV" list in Sage's settings. I imported this.
8. Go into sagemc screen specific options and point video library to Sage Movie Wall. (If not running latest see 8.a) - not done. In SageMC Screen Specific Options I don't know how to point the video library anywhere. In My Menu>Settings>SageMC>Main>Screen Specific Options> I have "Main Menu UI Animations, Dyanamic Main Menu, Main Menu Pop Up" etc but nothing that asks for a path
8a. Go to Dynamic menu options on your main screen and add pointer to internal screen Sage Movie Wall. (hopefully Maui will get it up soon where you can point to it in options and replace your video libray view)
9. Make sure core animations are enable!!- not done. No idea how to do this. Is this the "Main Menu UI Animations" option above?
10. Explore and Have fun!!!


What happens now is my movies have .properties and .jpg images as explained, but the menus under My Videos are just the same as before.

From an MVP extender I can select and playback a title as before, however from the client on my server I can't - if I select a title to playback I'm presented with a "Add Series By Actor" screen with A-Z 0-9 and a list of artists (from my music collection) down the right hand side

I have one of those feelings that tells me I'm close but I've done something wrong.

If I need to supply any more info on my setup I'll gladly do so - I'm just grateful for the help !

Thanks very much
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-13-2009, 10:34 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
MHAD,


First step number two you need to be running the latest phoenix api and bmt no version 2 it can be found at the bottom of this thread

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41502

Second you need to map Sage Movie Wall to your menu. Either by adding a new menu item or changing the default see this post on how to do it

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=494

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-13-2009, 10:53 AM
petereader's Avatar
petereader petereader is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 266
Hi MHAD,
Welcome to the Sage community!

Also, I think step 6 and 7 are redundant (someone please correct me if I'm wrong). You only need to add the latest plugin .xml which should look something like sagemoivewallv3-R104.xml.

What is meant by a blank sagemc.xml file: boy, that is a good question. When you import an add-in what you're actually doing is importing that add-in (called and stvi in sage world) to your current stv (in your case sagemc.xml). If you look for your stv file inside the sage folder, you will see that it has been renamed each time you added a plugin (once you import metadatatools.xml, sagemc.xml will become sagemc-1.xml, when you import smw it will become sagemc-2.xml and so on). what you want to do is to point your sage installation back to the original sagemc.xml file. That will give you a blank sagemc.xml. Keep in mind, this is necessary only if you had already installed a previous version of SMW. If this is your first time importing it, you won't have to worry about any of this until next time.

Hope that helps rather than confuses. Perhaps someone else can chime in and save you from my directions

Cheers
__________________
Throughout space there is energy. ... it is a mere question of time when men will succeed in attaching their machinery to the very wheelwork of nature. -Nikola Tesla
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:19 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Another thing you can do to eliminate problems with multiple imports/new versions of imports is to backup the folder structure of a fresh install (no additional imports) in a safe place. This way you can delete the current folder/subfolder in your program files directory, and replace it with the older clean slate.

Before deleting your current working files and folders always back them up in their entirety. Then you can drop your wiz bin and sage properties files back into this reverted setup. This will give you a nice clean slate to begin re-importing all the customizations you want to be using, without less fear of messing something up by importing a file twice or into the wrong stv etc.

This method is especially helpful if you royally mess something up. You always want to keep a working set of files/folders in their entirety. When it goes wrong, and it will, you can get back to a normal working Sage inside of a few seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-13-2009, 12:02 PM
MHAD MHAD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
Another thing you can do to eliminate problems with multiple imports/new versions of imports is to backup the folder structure of a fresh install (no additional imports) in a safe place. This way you can delete the current folder/subfolder in your program files directory, and replace it with the older clean slate.

Before deleting your current working files and folders always back them up in their entirety. Then you can drop your wiz bin and sage properties files back into this reverted setup. This will give you a nice clean slate to begin re-importing all the customizations you want to be using, without less fear of messing something up by importing a file twice or into the wrong stv etc.

This method is especially helpful if you royally mess something up. You always want to keep a working set of files/folders in their entirety. When it goes wrong, and it will, you can get back to a normal working Sage inside of a few seconds.
Thanks Wren, good advice.

I have full backups already of my SageTV folders - once from before installing SageMC, and once from before starting with SageMovieWall which is basically a backup of the folder in the post-SageMC-install state with no changes. I'll be hanging on to those then !

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:52 AM
MHAD MHAD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Hi, thanks PLUCKYHD for the fast responses, really appreciated !

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
MHAD,


First step number two you need to be running the latest phoenix api and bmt no version 2 it can be found at the bottom of this thread

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41502
I've done that now, followed the instructions in the thread and using metadata-updater-3.0-beta-9 from the bottom. I followed the instructions from here http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dff28jvm_13f4rf57f6.

So far so good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Second you need to map Sage Movie Wall to your menu. Either by adding a new menu item or changing the default see this post on how to do it

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=494

cheers
Right, I've followed the instructions in the post -

To do the first option of replacing your current default SageMC video library with SMW:
- My Menu
- Settings
- SageMC Setup
- Main
- Screen Specific Options
- Video Library
- Custom Video Library Screen - Mine is called "Custom Program Info Screen" not "Custom Video Library Screen"
- Scroll down to Sage Movie Wall Home Page – select it I don't have this listed. I have Show Offline Icons, Fullsize Genre Icons, Genre Icon Background, DVD Profiler Auto Meta Data, DVD Profiler Character Roles, Auto Add Offline Path, Fullsize Folder.jpg - that's all I have. Arrrgh !

To do the second option of keeping 2 separate video libraries from the main menu:
-click options or press ESC (on server)
- Main Menu Options
- New…
- New Internal Screen
- Scroll down to Sage Movie Wall Home Page – select it
- Give it a name like SMW or whatever you like
- File…
- Save Menu File

I'd much prefer to do this, but how? Is this in another program somewhere or in Sage on my TV? Nowhere can I find "Options" near the main menu


Quote:
Originally Posted by petereader View Post
Hi MHAD,
Welcome to the Sage community!

Also, I think step 6 and 7 are redundant (someone please correct me if I'm wrong). You only need to add the latest plugin .xml which should look something like sagemoivewallv3-R104.xml.
Thanks Petereader! That answer also helps, I was looking for both but I do have sagemoviewallv3-r104.xml so I've imported that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by petereader View Post

What is meant by a blank sagemc.xml file: boy, that is a good question. When you import an add-in what you're actually doing is importing that add-in (called and stvi in sage world) to your current stv (in your case sagemc.xml). If you look for your stv file inside the sage folder, you will see that it has been renamed each time you added a plugin (once you import metadatatools.xml, sagemc.xml will become sagemc-1.xml, when you import smw it will become sagemc-2.xml and so on). what you want to do is to point your sage installation back to the original sagemc.xml file. That will give you a blank sagemc.xml. Keep in mind, this is necessary only if you had already installed a previous version of SMW. If this is your first time importing it, you won't have to worry about any of this until next time.

Hope that helps rather than confuses. Perhaps someone else can chime in and save you from my directions

Cheers
Thanks again, that does explain it to me and I get it now! I was using "SageMC_169.xml" which I hope is what's being referred to as a blank SageMC xml - I'm now at SageMC_169-6.xml - I'd tried this from my server before realizing I should have been doing these steps from my MVP, so I started from scratch on the MVP and moved up from -4 to -6 by importing the latest SageMC, BMT, and sagemoviewallv3-r104.xml - hope I got that right !

I'm still stuck though as described above - on creating the new menu!

Any more help much appreciated!

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:59 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by MHAD View Post
To do the second option of keeping 2 separate video libraries from the main menu:
-click options or press ESC (on server)
- Main Menu Options
- New…
- New Internal Screen
- Scroll down to Sage Movie Wall Home Page – select it
- Give it a name like SMW or whatever you like
- File…
- Save Menu File

I'd much prefer to do this, but how? Is this in another program somewhere or in Sage on my TV? Nowhere can I find "Options" near the main menu
if using a hd200 press the options remote button... or if using a computer/mousre/keyboard press ctrl+o on the main menu. It will bring up the options menu.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Video Editing for Sage BobPhoenix SageTV Customizations 279 03-07-2013 01:35 PM
STV Import: MovieTimes Movie Listings Import v0.57 Beta aperry SageTV Customizations 670 10-02-2010 12:07 AM
STV Import: SageMC MovieTimes Movie Listings v0.64 Morgan111 SageMC Custom Interface 419 10-01-2010 11:06 PM
STV Import: Movie Info Screen V.1.0 jaminben SageMC Custom Interface 398 01-17-2010 02:40 PM
STV IMPORT: Exit Sage plugin (1.1 12/Jan/2006) nielm SageTV Customizations 8 10-06-2006 07:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.