SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:30 PM
Electronicbuff's Avatar
Electronicbuff Electronicbuff is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
HDHomerun Slow to Tune

I'm having slow tuning issues only on my HDHomerun tuner.

When SageTV tunes to a Digital QAM channel (assigned to the HDHomerun) I often see on the screen "No Signal" for a while. If I sit back and wait, sometimes up to 20 seconds, the HDHomerun eventually displays the broadcast. The longest delays are found on the music station broadcasts (up to 20 sec), in comparison to a typical TV program delay (2-5 seconds). I've lived with the delay issue since I began using sage over a year ago but figured someone may know a trick or two to resolve this issue.

Why am I experiencing what I believe to be a long delay for tuning in a QAM broadcast on the HDHomerun?

For standard definition I use a Hauppauge PVR500 tuner which tunes in the broadcast virtually instantaneously.

Am I expecting too much from the HDhomerun?

If this is just a characteristic of the HDHomerun what tuner would you recommend I use that would tune in QAM broadcasts faster?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:55 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
I think it is normal. I have also noticed that it takes a while for the music channels to come up but I have not timed it. I seldom watch the music channels live so I have not been concerned about it. I thought it was related to the video that does not change much on the music channels.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2009, 04:07 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
The music channels are not a true video stream. It's a slideshow. So that's why the HDHR tunes the way it does on those channels. You're expecting too much if you expect the performance to be on par with a PVR500. That is tuning an analog signal. You're going to get a picture of something whether it has a good signal or not. (It may be static but it's a picture). For digital tuners it all or nothing. It takes time to lock on the signal and to actually, I guess, handshake with the signal to make sure it is clearQAM and tunable.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2009, 04:19 PM
jasonl jasonl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
It's simply because of how digital broadcasts work. Complete video frames are only transmitted every 1/4 to 3 seconds, with the rest of the frames actually stored as the difference between that complete frame and itself. This means that the decoder has to wait for a full frame before it can start decoding. Music channels can go 10 seconds or more between complete frames because they don't change much. The HDHomeRun will normally lock on a signal and begin streaming in less than a second, but the data being streamed can't be used by the decoder until it reaches that complete frame.

Jason
Silicondust Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2009, 08:10 AM
Electronicbuff's Avatar
Electronicbuff Electronicbuff is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Question

Is there a faster digital tuner than the HDhomerun for Sagetv available?

I have a catv box that decodes and it only takes a 1/2 second or so to display video. My HDHR is much much slower in comparison. Now that everything is HD this leads me to believe a faster tuner card may be available now as well.

Last edited by Electronicbuff; 08-25-2009 at 07:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdhomerun, qam


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow audio and video, slow-motion like... xlr8shun SageTV Software 3 05-26-2006 01:50 PM
channel will not tune kcusscam SageTV Software 19 05-20-2006 02:44 PM
Cannot tune above channel 14 sr59899 SageTV Software 20 05-16-2006 11:14 AM
can't get it to tune in Freerider4 SageTV United Kingdom 5 08-28-2005 01:35 AM
SageTV Slow Slow Slow... Player0 Hardware Support 35 04-03-2004 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.