SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2003, 02:34 PM
lex_o lex_o is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Recomended Video/TV Out Card

What is the best / recomended Graphics card with TV Out to use with the PVR-250/350?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2003, 02:44 PM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
What Display are you going to use?
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2003, 06:26 PM
ku71 ku71 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kirkland (WA)
Posts: 76
Yeah, what is best?

I have an ATI radeon 7000 in my HTPC. It has no fan, no noise, and supports hardware motion compensation and iDCT. I bought it on ebay for $20. It fits all my requirements at the lowest cost.

If you are into gaming, the sweet spots currently are Geforce ti4200 ($100), ATI Radeon 9600 Pro ($200) and ATI Radeon 9700 Pro ($320)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2003, 03:56 PM
lex_o lex_o is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
G'Day,

I am using my PC as a pure HTPC.

My TV (LOEWE) has VGA but only 600x480. So I thought it may be better to go with a Graphics card that has TV out.

This would allow me to overcome the problem of PVR-350 TV Out that has problems when using Aussie PAL.

Cheers Lex
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2003, 06:57 PM
corykim corykim is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 153
My HTPC is using one of my oldest hand-me-down graphics cards, with an nVidia GeForce 2GTS chip. But I'm getting awesome results, because I'm also using the Key Digital VGA->HDTV transcoder. In conjunction w/ PowerStrip, I can easily switch between 480P (640x480) and 540p (960x540), all with marvelous clarity. The output I get when playing DVD's with this rig is far superior than the result I was getting on my $400 progressive-scanDVD player.

I bought the transcoder at:
http://www.digitalconnection.com/pro...eo/kdvtca2.asp

Last edited by corykim; 05-10-2003 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2003, 07:54 AM
sshapiro63 sshapiro63 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 192
I use a Radeon 9000, not the Pro version. It is made by Sapphire Technologies and is fanless. If also includes VIVO (video in, video out).

I recently started using the Elecard decoder and enabled Dscaler with Double Refresh Rate in SageTV. The output to my TV is now on par with the incoming signal.

I purchased the card from Newegg, www,newegg.com.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.