SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:33 PM
eric3a eric3a is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston by the Sea
Posts: 226
Creative use for a networkless HD300?

Storm took out the NIC/ethernet port of one of my HD300's. The rest appears to still function.
I've reflashed the firmware, so fairly certain only the ethernet port is impacted. Everything else seems to continue to work fine.

I'm not confident a wireless USB dongle would allow me to watch HD. Not interested in trying to find out I think.

Any creative ideas for what I could do with the HD 300 now?

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:52 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
I have not tried this myself but I think you could attach a USB hard drive and run it in standalone mode.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:22 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,155
Not sure if this issue has shown up enough for this solution to have been tried yet, but if there are Wifi adapters that work in the HD300, perhaps something like this?

http://homestore.cisco.com/viewprodu...FexFMgodSVQAoQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:08 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 391
I wonder if routrunner could tell you if there are any generic usb network cards supported by the hd300 Linux os. Maybe you could run it that way
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2012, 09:18 PM
eric3a eric3a is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston by the Sea
Posts: 226
Thanks.

Yep. I've thought of the stand alone mode... But not sure what'd I'd want it for? I'm lacking some creative thinking here....
Make a photo frame to run photo slides?
A separate music jukebox? Not sure...

As far as I know USB to ethernet dongles don't work with the HD300 as the unit doesn't have drivers for them. i did try one I have lying around and it was not detected by the HD300.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2012, 05:33 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3a View Post
Thanks.

Yep. I've thought of the stand alone mode... But not sure what'd I'd want it for? I'm lacking some creative thinking here....
Make a photo frame to run photo slides?
A separate music jukebox? Not sure...

As far as I know USB to ethernet dongles don't work with the HD300 as the unit doesn't have drivers for them. i did try one I have lying around and it was not detected by the HD300.

Eric
As I said before in this thread, you need to have a way to telnet into the unit and a way to upload the software and without a network connection your possibilities a pretty low.

However, a possible solution is:
- A generic USB to Serial converter cable that should allow you to start a Telnet session via PuTTY, so you have comms.

- I can possibly make the "usbnet" kernel driver for you as I can use the Linux kernel source I used to make the OSS drivers for the squeezeslave player for the HD300 and that should work (no "modver" flags being used by SageTV people).

- A USB thumbdrive to copy the usbnet kernel module into the rewritable flash partition of the HD300.

- Run the usbnet kernel module and attach one of the supported USB to Network adapters and you have your network back.

If you have to hard power cycle the HD300, then the only thing to remember is to telnet into the unit, reload the kernel module from the HD300 flash file system and you're back to business, unfortunately that cannot be done automatically, sorry...

Please let me know whether you're interested in having the "usbnet" driver compiled to try that option.

Alternatively....

I can help you to make the HD300 a squeezeslave player, but you still require the USB to Serial adapter and the USB thumbdrive to load the squeezeslave player into the HD300 flash file system.

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2012, 04:28 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechling-burgh View Post
I wonder if routrunner could tell you if there are any generic usb network cards supported by the hd300 Linux os. Maybe you could run it that way
The D-Link USB to Network device I mentioned in another thread will work (as it is explicitly listed as supported) providing you have the "usbnet" kernel module compiled for Linux 2.6.33-5 and a way to upload the software and running from a command line.

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creative Zen Vision cclayton The SageTV Community 0 08-04-2005 01:33 PM
Been a while since I heard from the Creative Digital VCR Hec- SageTV Recorder Software 2 06-15-2004 12:51 AM
Anyone using the Creative DVCR with 1.4.10? spectre Hardware Support 7 10-03-2003 07:36 AM
Up/Down buttons (Creative DVCR) robsmith SageTV Recorder Software 7 07-11-2003 05:46 PM
IR Xmitter on Creative Card PeteInSF SageTV Software 3 07-02-2003 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.